11/27 Mary Grace AMPS 405 +2 328 PMPS 434

Status
Not open for further replies.

marygracemom

Member Since 2013
Hello LL!

Yesterday http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108915

Thanks for all the visits yesterday. I had some questions about her feeding. I always feed her I can of fancy feast classic at her shot times which is at 5:45 am and 5:45 pm. I have been giving her an additional 1 to 1.5 oz of fancy feast at her +2 (always morning and most evenings) just because she is always in an active cycle at that time and I am leaving for work. She would eat all day long if she could. I have to put my civvies up high when they are eating because she will swoop in and push them out of the way!! I give her freeze dried chicken (Halo brand) for test treats or boiled chicken that I cook.

I don't know how I can feed her with an automatic feeder while I am gone because I would be unsure of who is getting it.

I hope everyone has a great day and thanks again for the visits and advice!
Updated to show her PMPS. She is still peeing a lot (makes getting keytones tests easier--btw negative tonight) and was grouchy when I got home from work, only concerned about being fed! Well with 434 I can understand why! :sad:
 
Re: 11/27 Mary Grace AMPS 405 +2 328

Hi there:) I only have one kitty so I don't have actual experience with multiple cat feeding; I know I've seen some people suggest putting the kitty in a closed door bedroom or bathroom alone with the autofeeder/food dishes (and litter box/water dish etc of course!) to be sure who is eating what while they are away. I think I remember reading one or more people using a high gate to cordon off an area too...

I had to get an autofeeder (lifesaver) since most of the time my Chyna cat will eat it all if it's left out and look for more :lol: Maybe some others can give you more suggestions:) Hope you're having a good day! :-D
 
Re: 11/27 Mary Grace AMPS 405 +2 328

Hi Rachel! Thanks for the visit. :smile: I would really hate to close her off from her civvies and her favorite room is the living room and dining room (which is an open space) because of all the windows so she can bird watch. Somehow I feel like this would make her sad or upset and I want her to be happy. But of course I want her to be healthy. I think if the more experienced here feel that I need to feed her more throughout the day, then I will just come home from work everyday at lunch (not so easy because its a 30 min drive one way--and I only get an hour) and the extra gas money I would be spending has kept me from doing this except here and there when I feel like a need a mid cycle number. Maybe I can get a neighbor to feed her at lunch but I know they won't test her.
Hope you and Chyna have a great night and wonderful Thanksgiving!!
 
Hey Elizabeth! I do have a multicat/dog household and I at first tried just the time feeding, giving all of them 2-3 feedings each day. Too often it seemed like a couple of them were getting pushed out and not eating enough. I ended up having to put out a bit more food than normal and added water to the stuff I was going to be left for them for the day (I made a stew or chili consistency because noone likes it soupy). I left enough that there was always some still in the dishes when I got home.
Then Twice started seeing lower nadirs than I was familiar with, and I got nervous about him not getting enough food while I was gone. Sooo, long story still long :lol: , I put him in the spare bedroom and bought a big cat tree so he can lie in the window and watch the birdies. I let his bff stay with him often, because they are both just picker cats with their fuds. If I am really concerned, Twice stays alone. He actually seems pretty happy with the arrangement.
And here we are. He still prefers the room over the house :lol:
 
Hi Kim!
I am going to have to try it out, these three love being together, they always nap during the day together on my bed and lounge in the lr/dr in the mornings! Ohhh silly kitties!
Mary is in the mid 200's right now but started the day again at 405. I am getting ready to put up her condo as I am trying not to burn a pecan pie!!
Hope you and Twice are good, will visit Twice's condo.
 
hi elizabeth!

i saw you said you're going to put up a 11/28 condo, but i have to get offline and go take care of family and wanted to post first.

couple things. i think you can increase by .25u again. you've had 8 cycles at this dose and the lowest have been 200's. the protocol suggests an increase after 6 cycles with nadirs in the 200's. i can link that post if you'd like.

re the food - i'd love to slow down those drops between preshot and +2 that she likes to do. can you take the total amount you're giving her between the can at preshot and the partial can at +2 and divvy it up evenly with preshot, +1 and +2. that might slow her down a bit. that would also let you do the food before you have to leave for work. repeat that feeding schedule at the pm cycle.

one solution is to have a feeder for each cat, including the ones who don't need it! i've heard some people do that, although at $50 or so a pop that's not a cheap solution. another is to isolate the cat in a bedroom, but you've said you don't want to do that. i had a 30 min lunch break and drove home to check punkin - had to eat while i was driving. it does add a level of chaos to your day to do that.

are your other cats hoovers that would be sure to eat all the food before she got any? or are they all about the same level of food aggressive? if they're around the same, you could also freeze "catsickles" by mixing canned can food with water and freezing them in muffin tins for pucks or ice cube trays. an assortment of those can be left out to be nibbled on as they thaw. that's something you might want to try ahead of time in case someone wants to eat them frozen too early.

anyway, a few ideas for you.
 
Thanks Julie----HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!
I was wondering about the increase, knew that according to protocol that she is due. But these bounces? Are they ever going to level out?
My other 2 cats are just as hungry as she is (feeding the proper amount according to weight) Mary is much more aggressive and would bully them out of the way once she figured out the feeder. Still unsure, three feeders (but will mary eat all three feedings--or the majority, I think so...drive home from work, stressful and gas money....
I am going to do as you suggested with the splitting up the food with shots, and +1 and +2.
Burnt the pecan pie I was going to take to my parents, been a hectic morning as my sugar has gone from 280 this morning to 48. I can't seem to get back on track!
Have a wonderful day
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top