11/27 Marley Lantus AMPS 66, AMPS 241, +2 249, +4 237, + 2 230

Jdubs

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...s-amps-213-2-270-pmps-296-2-257-3-199.271167/

I dont know what to do.

I am afraid to do full dose.

He seems super well and active and happy, so great to see BG down again, but I feel 2.5 will push him into a hypo.

What do you think?

What are my options?

He slept on my bed all night then about +11 he jumped off to go outside. He hasn't done that since the meds, so it felt a good sign that he was back to his old self again

@Bandit's Mom
 
Last edited:
He's super feisty this morning so took me a bit of time to retest. I took the feistiness as confirmation of low BG as that os what usually happens.

I'm going to carry on as usual now
 
I think it was a bad strip. Retested and 241. Sorry false alarm. Thanks so much for responding
Pleasure!
I would still get a +2 and a +4 just to check everything is OK.
Next time you get a result that seems a bit out of the ordinary, I would do another test. I see on 11/20 the same thing happened.
 
I would still get a +2 and a +4 just to check everything is OK.
Next time you get a result that seems a bit out of the ordinary, I would do another test. I see on 11/20 the same thing happened.
Yes for sure will check at +2 and +4

I did think immediately to retest, but he was so feisty, and I didnt want to get into a cycle of me trapping him and him gong back into his old trauma and thinking every human is trying to imprison him. If I do that it can take hours to get anything done. Whereas If I let him go and sometime he needs to go outside for a few mins, when he comes back in, we start the cycle of testing and he is happy as Larry. If I force him, the whole day can be a nightmare and massive testing of (my) patience.

Yes this will be the third dodgy test strip ive had in this packet. Ive never had one before. Must be a dud batch!. its nearly finished thankfully. Hopefully its a one off dodgy packet.

Thanks so much again!!
 
Yes for sure will check at +2 and +4

I did think immediately to retest, but he was so feisty, and I didnt want to get into a cycle of me trapping him and him gong back into his old trauma and thinking every human is trying to imprison him. If I do that it can take hours to get anything done. Whereas If I let him go and sometime he needs to go outside for a few mins, when he comes back in, we start the cycle of testing and he is happy as Larry. If I force him, the whole day can be a nightmare and massive testing of (my) patience.

Yes this will be the third dodgy test strip ive had in this packet. Ive never had one before. Must be a dud batch!. its nearly finished thankfully. Hopefully its a one off dodgy packet.

Thanks so much again!!
He sounds like Herman, when he’s feisty you just gotta give him some space and let him go outside, he usual calms down in a few minutes. I’ve also had some similar experiences with bad strips. Earlier in our diabetes journey it could mean I’d fear hypo and I’d be shaking and stressing out herm to get subsequent tests to double check. Now it’s just a (costly) nuisance…It actually happens to me a lot, especially when his numbers are in a lowish range and I don’t get enough blood at first and it asks for more. 80% of those fail for me. I often blow through 3 strips on one BG. :confused: Anyway, just commiserating…glad you and Marley found this forum.
 
He sounds like Herman, when he’s feisty you just gotta give him some space and let him go outside, he usual calms down in a few minutes. I’ve also had some similar experiences with bad strips. Earlier in our diabetes journey it could mean I’d fear hypo and I’d be shaking and stressing out herm to get subsequent tests to double check. Now it’s just a (costly) nuisance…It actually happens to me a lot, especially when his numbers are in a lowish range and I don’t get enough blood at first and it asks for more. 80% of those fail for me. I often blow through 3 strips on one BG. :confused: Anyway, just commiserating…glad you and Marley found this forum.
Oh really, this is the first time ive had a bad experience with testing strips. Fingers crossed it was a bad packet. Ive just started a new one...so we shall see!! You have a feisty one too huh!!! It got pointed out to me by @Bandit's Mom that feist is also a sign of him feeling better so I see it as a blessing - (as long s I handle it well!) Thanks for sharing your experiences!
 
@Bandit's Mom ...what do you think is going on? He was doing so well and now he's gone back up to full dose and is neither bouncing nor going really low.

I hope I haven't bought a load of dodgy strips.

Does this happen to other cats?

He was doing so well before.

So gutted
 
You might be seeing a bit of glucose toxicity - that's where a cat's body gets used to higher numbers and a temporary form of insulin resistance develops. Some cats are more susceptible to this after a failed reduction. The thing to do it is to just keep increasing the dose as per the TR protocol till you break through into better numbers. Often cats will speed down the dosing ladder once they hit the breakthrough dose. So hang in there :-)

Is it possible that anything else is affecting his numbers? Is the fleas/worms situation under control?
 
You might be seeing a bit of glucose toxicity - that's where a cat's body gets used to higher numbers and a temporary form of insulin resistance develops. Some cats are more susceptible to this after a failed reduction. The thing to do it is to just keep increasing the dose as per the TR protocol till you break through into better numbers. Often cats will speed down the dosing ladder once they hit the breakthrough dose. So hang in there :)

Is it possible that anything else is affecting his numbers? Is the fleas/worms situation under control?
So interesting. You are so clever!! Did you know anything about diabetes before your cat got diagnosed?

When I read your message this morning, I thought...that's it, makes total sense. I was also feeling grateful that at least if he is stuck in an insulin resistant loop, at least its in the yellows and not pinks! I was wondering if, because the last year has been so dramatic, (though we did go into a lovely phase of low numbers for a bit, that was soon interrupted with fleas and worms), that now things are feeling a little calmer I was catastrophising as I am expecting more drama....those were going to be my sentiments......

But then about 10 minutes ago after feeding him, Marley was really sick, like really sick. Normally his sick is quite solid what hes just eaten but today it was full of liquid too and he hasn't recently drunk water, and then I remembered I did start worrying last night precisely because after his first portion, he went straight to my bed and went to sleep. Normally he's out and about in the evening nd only comes to bed just before or after his +4 feed. So I knew something was up.

Does insulin resistance cause any other things like that?

Could it still be worms dying?

In terms of worms, he's not dragging his bum and seems all quiet on that front from my perspective. But If he did have a tape worm and it was killed by that medicine - they dont just just disappear magically, takes a bit for the body to break them up and get them out even when dead.

In terms of fleas just yesterday he did some licking / sort of biting action as if there are still fleas on him. Its nothing like what he was doing before, but I feel they are still about.

I heard that they can crack out of their eggs at anytime and jump back on to the animal. Its great you caught yours in time maybe before they got into your house. I have been hoovering and washing everything over and over as I didnt catch it so early. I got a flea bite yesterday weirdly under my tights on my calf. All my clothes and blankets, my and his bedding, and rugs have been washed so many times, and diatomaceous earth on the carpets etc etc - not sure what else I can do. It was really warm yesterday here for this time of year. Oh my goodness ive just been bitten on my wrist as I write this....ughhhhhh
 
Back
Top