11-27 Little Man AMPS 297/+2 340/PMPS 335/+2 275/+4 268

It's ok I went ahead and did that anyway...and planned on getting a +2 to see if we are bouncing. I expect him to be high and flatter today that is what he did last time we saw blues. I just expected to see a higher bounce this morning since we saw a green
 
Had the appt with new vet. I do like her.

She really only had two issues with what I'm doing.

First she feels he should be on a diabetic diet...she said she is ok with splitting it 50/50 with what we are already doing. When I pushed back and asked her what it would do that he doesnt already get by LC food I'm giving. Her response was she couldnt speak to otc diet, but has read studies where the rx diet helped put cat into remission. So at least she was honest and told me she would send the ones she liked and I can compare and decide what to do no pressure.

Second...she thinks I need a pet meter. She doesnt like the fact that numbers are not as accurate as supposedly the pet meters are..I dont completely disagree but at least the human reads lower than it is rather than higher so you wouldn't realize they were much lower (hope that makes sense haha)...also cost wise it seems ridiculous

I might be willing to get pet meter strictly to do curves for her benefit once a month or so. That way she can feel better about numbers and I'm not wasting money on a daily basis.

She did suggest that based on his numbers he definitely isnt regulated and I agreed. However she agreed with me that it takes time to find proper dose. I explained my end goal was remission and why I chose tr protocol versus slgs which she prefers.

She isnt going to push back with me dosing him as long as I dont hold her responsible for anything that may happen. (Not that I think it would) she said if it looks like we arent regulating she would want to suggest a different insulin. I told her if we go down this road awhile and we are still not getting anywhere I'm not opposed to possibly trying different insulin as ECID. AND HE may respond better to a different insulin. Also dont think that will be necessary as I think we are getting somewhere.

All in all not bad...and just did pmps and he is still high but flat...so def a bounce from last night.
 
Well, five weeks is not a long time to get regulated or judge whether an insulin is getting results Plus you are seeing blue and green now so I think you may have hit the right dose. There is nothing magical about RX food and the ingredients aren’t very good but you pay more for poor quality.

The pet meter test strips are expensive and people have used human meters before they were even invented. If you want to use it for curves that’s up to you but you can’t compare pet and human meters.
They are closer at the low end, the pet meter reads higher but not consistently. That’s why the reduction number on the human meter is under 50 and under 68 on the pet meter.

I am curious as to what insulin she prefers as Lantus first and Levemir second are the insulins most often recommended for cats.

You should have a better idea as to whether the bounce will end tonight by +4 I think.
 
Last edited:
Just to add to what Elise said above, almost all RX diets - dry and canned - are higher in carbs. The only low carb RX diet is Purina Pro Plan DM canned which is 6% carbs - and a lot of cats have refused to eat it. I don't know if you or your vet has seen this excellent website on Feline Nutrition by a vet, Dr. Lisa Pierson. A real eye-opener!
https://catinfo.org/#Prescription/Therapeutic_Diets

We also recommend that a CG try an insulin (like Lantus) for 6 months before attempting a change (to other like Levemir). Insulin is a hormone and not a drug. A cat's body needs time to "learn" the insulin and it can take a few months for the cat to get regulated.
 
I agree with what you both have said Elise and Bhooma!

I pushed back about food and she wanted to send me the top three so I can compare. I will do my due diligence but frankly have very little faith in rx diets anymore.

As far as pet meter I also explained to her everything you mentioned about reduction numbers...discrepancies etc...its just her thought process like most vets...I say most cause I imagine there are a rare few. I may be willing to give for curves for her benefit not mine I'm happy with the system I have in place.

I went in loaded down with all the info I learned from here and all the reading I've done. I was very firm and pushed back on her with what I wanted to do. I think there will be some push from her but overall I think we can work together for what's best.

At end of appt I told her I would take full responsibility for his dosing but I still needed vet support for overall health and monitoring. I explained that I want whats best for him and for me and she agreed she wanted same...so this is a win in my book.

Bhooma yes I've read the link on food and the dm younmentioned at 6% is actually higher than what I am feeding him currently so meh dont need it.

Yay sleep is allowed! +4 268:)


Thanks for all the info ladies learning everything I have gave me the confidence to not only find a new vet but stand up for little mans care! <3
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
 
At end of appt I told her I would take full responsibility for his dosing but I still needed vet support for overall health and monitoring. I explained that I want whats best for him and for me and she agreed she wanted same...so this is a win in my book.
ladies learning everything I have gave me the confidence to not only find a new vet but stand up for little mans care!
Excellent!

Yay sleep is allowed! +4 268:)
Yay! Good night! :-)
 
Back
Top