? 11/27/24 Loki AMPS 165 +1 57 +5 48 +11 57 no shot

If someone could review Loki's spreadsheet I would be super grateful. He is supposed to be on 2 units BID per our vet but I gave him nothing last night and only 1 unit this morning and he is still in the 40s-50s. Not quite sure what to do. Also was seeing if there is a certain schedule I should feed him? He is super food motivated so I don't feel comfortable free-feeding at this time. We currently feed him around 6 am, 4 pm, and 9 or 10 pm (which is the schedule he has been on for the past 4 years) and he receives Lantus at 6:30 am/pm. Our vet rec'd feeding at 6 and 6 and giving insulin at 6:30 am/pm but I am not so sure that will make a huge difference.
 
Last edited:
If someone could review Loki's spreadsheet I would be super grateful. He is supposed to be on 2 units BID per our vet but I gave him nothing last night and only 1 unit this morning and he is still in the 40s-50s. Not quite sure what to do. Also was seeing if there is a certain schedule I should feed him? He is super food motivated so I don't feel comfortable free-feeding at this time. We currently feed him around 6 am, 4 pm, and 9 or 10 pm and he receives Lantus at 6:30 am/pm. Our vet rec'd feeding at 6 and 6 and giving insulin at 6:30 am/pm but I am not so sure that will make a huge difference.
Your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-megan-and-loki-need-advice.296037/#post-3223614
@Megan and Loki
In your title can you please put the Date for today
Then Loki in front of the PMPS #
Always link your previous post to your new one

To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post new thread





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it









austin-logo-240.jpg





So when you post tomorrow you will link your post from today to tomorrows post
 
If someone could review Loki's spreadsheet I would be super grateful. He is supposed to be on 2 units BID per our vet but I gave him nothing last night and only 1 unit this morning and he is still in the 40s-50s. Not quite sure what to do. Also was seeing if there is a certain schedule I should feed him? He is super food motivated so I don't feel comfortable free-feeding at this time. We currently feed him around 6 am, 4 pm, and 9 or 10 pm and he receives Lantus at 6:30 am/pm. Our vet rec'd feeding at 6 and 6 and giving insulin at 6:30 am/pm but I am not so sure that will make a huge difference.
@Wendy&Neko
 
@Megan and Loki
As @Wendy&Neko said in your previous post

In general, if your kitty is going below 90 on a human BG meter (and on a dry food diet), then you need to reduce the dose by 0.25 units.

Let's see what Wendy has to say when she looks at your spreadsheet

Megan do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
 
Please do not give any insulin if preshot is less than 90. Given that Loki dropped again under 50 today with just 1u after a skip last night would mean dropping the dose down again to 0.75u but with SLGS you don’t shoot under 90.

Can you take a pic of the insulin syringe, please? I’d like to make sure you are using the correct one.
 
Great, thank you, all good, those are the right ones. He had some bouncing previously but that seems to be working itself out. Bouncing will happen from dropping too quickly or hitting numbers the cat isn’t used to. He may go a little higher with skipping, but we also want to try and find a dose that you can safely give both am and pm cycles.

Boy, he’s sure giving you some interesting BG numbers the last few days.
 
Great, thank you, all good, those are the right ones. He had some bouncing previously but that seems to be working itself out. Bouncing will happen from dropping too quickly or hitting numbers the cat isn’t used to. He may go a little higher with skipping, but we also want to try and find a dose that you can safely give both am and pm cycles.

Boy, he’s sure giving you some interesting BG numbers the last few days.

Yeah tell me about it. When we first started about a month ago his BG were all pretty consistently >400 but would occasionally plummet down to like 50 all of a sudden. We attributed it to giving him just wet food so we thought maybe the carb content was too low which is why we switched to dry food. It seems like that has helped keep him more consistent but still struggling to figure out a consistent trend. Also side note, good thing I didn't shoot, his BG dropped below 40 which is a new for us.
 
Last edited:
Yeah, while the Libre can tend to read a little lower at the low range than a human meter, I do wonder if we’ve got some changes as a result of the stopping of steroid (I tried to read back a little) plus the large dose increases. I’m glad you are skipping too :bighug: How’s he been acting lately in these new found lower numbers?
 
Yeah and I know the Libre isn't as accurate at lower numbers too but he is a very skittish cat so we haven't had much luck getting blood samples for a regular glucometer. I was kind of thinking the same thing for the steroids; he was only on them for 2 or 3 days but he was on some pretty whopping doses (2 mg/kg/day). That or his baseline was just so high he initially needed higher doses but now does not. He was pretty lethargic when his BG was super high and he did have glucosuria/polyuria/some ketones in his urine which has since resolved. He is more his normal orange self now and thankfully doesn't seem to be symptomatic with these lows.
 
That’s ok we can work the numbers you get on the Libre :). I’m curious to see how he fares tonight even with a skip and tomorrow. Depending on the preshot tomorrow, we may want to consider skipping again, I was trying to gauge how much of the larger dose might still be influencing numbers, but we had a few skips and a lot of dose changes (rightly so). Keep me posted I’ll be around tonight. Keep feeding as you have been, that seems to be working when you get the 40s.
 
Thank you! I do kind of think those higher doses are probably affecting him. Unfortunately we were kind of flying blind when he was on the 4 units because we couldn't keep a sensor on him so we've had to go down fairly quickly now we have more data. Gotta admit I am fairly surprised how much it came down because we went up from 3 to 4 on the 9th and he was still mostly >400.

But anyways I think he should fare ok tonight. I work at 6 tomorrow so I'll be going to bed early but DH will be up with him and knows when to treat. Depending on his pre shot number, I am thinking to either skip or just do 0.5 units.
 
Depending on how things go tonight, and what his preshot is tomorrow, if you aren’t sure what to shoot (or if to give insulin) just post. As I said above, don’t shoot if he is under 90.
 
A question on food, could you tell me when you started introducing the Dr. Elseys? And what percent of food is Dr. Elsey's vs. the high carb Glycobalance? Changing to a lower carb food can make a huge difference in the amount of insulin needed. Since food can make such a difference, it's good to note that in the Remarks column of the spreadsheet. So list the day Dr. Elsey's started and when you increased the percent of it.

Skipping tonight should do a good number on the depot from that higher dose, give us a clearer picture of where he needs to be.
 
I started introducing the Dr. Elsey's around 11/01 and he has been on half and half since around 11/09. I updated my spreadsheet to indicate that info. I believe the Dr. Elsey's is around 10% carb content and the Glycobalance is like 33% which is why we are trying to change. It's a shame I don't have info from between the 10th and the 20th as I'd be curious how much of a difference it made.
 
Last edited:
How is today's cycle going on the reduced dose, Megan? I took a quick peek and only saw Loki's AMPS. Hope he's not up to any shenanigans today.
 
Oh gotcha, thanks so much for clarifying! I think I'd feel better about 0.25 units as well. Apologies, I really haven't gotten a chance to read the SLGS more than just glancing over it so I must have misread; I had thought to keep same dose if AMPS/PMPS was >90. I am planning on reading more in depth tonight now that baby is in bed.
 
Back
Top