LeoTheLion
Member Since 2022
Hi everyone. I have a wonderful 12 year old purebred Maine Coon kitty named Leo who was diagnosed with diabetes in September. He had all of the classic symptoms of peeing, drinking, and eating excessively, as well as neuropathy in his hind legs. His BG was high 500s on diagnosis.
His vet started him off on 2u of prozinc 2x a day, and he slowly made his way up to 6u 2x a day after multiple in office curves with not much improvement (BG 350-high 500's during curves). All of the sudden around Nov 18th, his BG started coming down, and he had a reading of 70 while at the vet. At this point we started taking home readings with an alphatrak meter. She decided to bump him back down to 2u 2x a day, and told us not to shoot if his preshot number was under 150.
He had his last dose of insulin this past Wednesday morning 11/23. He was very sleepy all Wednesday and didnt eat much. He became sick Thursday morning 11/24 with vomiting, diarrhea, and was not super responsive/wouldnt really open his eyes. His BG wasn't hypo at 158, but yet he was having hypo symptoms. We gave him a little Karo syrup and he perked up a bit but was still sick so we brought him to the emergency vet. His BG was 85 at the vet so they admitted him. He spent 2 days there where they gave him antibiotics, iv dextrose, and did some blood work and ultrasounds. They said his pancreas looks normal, but they did find abnormal levels of growth hormone in his blood which suggests a pituitary tumor/acromegaly. We have him home with us now and will be following up with his normal vet tomorrow. He's still really on the low side but not having hypo symptoms anymore.
I'm pretty confused on what is going on with him being on the low side with no insulin for 4 days now, after 2 months of high BG on a higher dose of insulin. Would love some insight if anyone had a similar experience.
I will work on a spreadsheet when I can, but his readings from the past week are as follows:
11/20 - 9:30a 185 (2u) 7:00p 182 (no insulin)
11/21 - 5:00a 372 (2u) 5:00p 142 (2u)
11/22 - 6:30a 221 (2u) 6:00p 125 (no insulin)
11/23 - 7:30a 205 (2u) 6:30 171 (no insulin)
11/24 - 6:30a 158 (no insulin). At ER around 11:00a 85
11/25 - At ER all day
11/26 - Discharged from ER at 12:00p 135
11/27 - 6:30a 89 9:30a 57 5:00p 127 9:00p 246
His vet started him off on 2u of prozinc 2x a day, and he slowly made his way up to 6u 2x a day after multiple in office curves with not much improvement (BG 350-high 500's during curves). All of the sudden around Nov 18th, his BG started coming down, and he had a reading of 70 while at the vet. At this point we started taking home readings with an alphatrak meter. She decided to bump him back down to 2u 2x a day, and told us not to shoot if his preshot number was under 150.
He had his last dose of insulin this past Wednesday morning 11/23. He was very sleepy all Wednesday and didnt eat much. He became sick Thursday morning 11/24 with vomiting, diarrhea, and was not super responsive/wouldnt really open his eyes. His BG wasn't hypo at 158, but yet he was having hypo symptoms. We gave him a little Karo syrup and he perked up a bit but was still sick so we brought him to the emergency vet. His BG was 85 at the vet so they admitted him. He spent 2 days there where they gave him antibiotics, iv dextrose, and did some blood work and ultrasounds. They said his pancreas looks normal, but they did find abnormal levels of growth hormone in his blood which suggests a pituitary tumor/acromegaly. We have him home with us now and will be following up with his normal vet tomorrow. He's still really on the low side but not having hypo symptoms anymore.
I'm pretty confused on what is going on with him being on the low side with no insulin for 4 days now, after 2 months of high BG on a higher dose of insulin. Would love some insight if anyone had a similar experience.
I will work on a spreadsheet when I can, but his readings from the past week are as follows:
11/20 - 9:30a 185 (2u) 7:00p 182 (no insulin)
11/21 - 5:00a 372 (2u) 5:00p 142 (2u)
11/22 - 6:30a 221 (2u) 6:00p 125 (no insulin)
11/23 - 7:30a 205 (2u) 6:30 171 (no insulin)
11/24 - 6:30a 158 (no insulin). At ER around 11:00a 85
11/25 - At ER all day
11/26 - Discharged from ER at 12:00p 135
11/27 - 6:30a 89 9:30a 57 5:00p 127 9:00p 246
Last edited: