11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice Pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Well, it looks like Tinkerbell's 1 year OTJ annifursary ain't gonna happen. :sad: :sad: :sad: :YMSIGH: :sad: :sad: :sad:

I hadn't tested her for several weeks what with all the other chaos going on, I know that's no excuse but she had been doing so well.

So this afternoon I came home from THS and tested Tawny and Tink both, Tink was 352, Tawny was 260, and civvie brother Bob was 51, so I think the meter is working.

I. Am. So. Sad.

Tinkerbell acts fine. She eats like a horse, she does not live in the water bowl, she sleeps next to me every nite (9 cats on the bed this a.m.), but a BG of 352? That's bad. Very, very bad.

It is remotely possible that she got into some of the kibble Tawny and the others have been eating. I don't think so, but I am not 100% sure that she did not. Maybe 80-90%.

So I guess I'll start her back on Lantus, at least I don't have to go back to THS until Monday afternoon, so I can watch over her closely. I have a couple of questions:

What dose should I start her on? 1u?

Should I start her tonight? If I start her tonight, how often do I need to set my alarm for and test her?

Or should I start her in the morning when I'll not be sleepwalking thru her tests?

:sad: :sad: :sad: :YMSIGH: :sad: :sad: :sad:

Desi
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

No answers here, just sympathy, lots and lots of sympathy. You guys have been through so much!
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

aw, Desi....bummer!!!

at least it wasn't something you did, like it was for Binksy... :oops:

Tinks...NO LEAVE THE FALLS!!!!!!!!!!

catpraylg.jpg
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

I am no expert - but I would do a curve before starting back the Lantus just to try and get a better picture of if she is high and staying there or if she dips back down. That might influence your starting dose.
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

Ditto...no expert. But maybe a few more tests....like Amanda suggests....would give you a better idea of what's going on. Remember Binks went haywire on the dry food while Celi was gone and she got him back OTJ.

Here's hoping it was an isolated incident or her return here will be very, very short and she'll go back to the falls.
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell will curve 11/27 & Report

Thanks, guys.

Binks, your photo ain't working & I need to see one of your cute photos to feels better. I knew Binks had gone "haywire" but I don't know the full story of why? He got into some kibble?

OK, here's the plan, the above suggestions make good sense to me:

Since I will be home all day tomorrow & was planning to do a Tawny curve anyway I will curve them both, and I will not start Tink on anything until I have that data, I will post b4 I give her any insulin.

The Maxima meter I use for Tawny went missing during her double hospital hiatus's, it is not clear whether I misplaced it or they did. The clinic, and Dr. Hebert personally, offered to actually go out and buy me another meter and a box of strips but it is unclear as to whether or not I misplaced it or they did. They tore that clinic apart from top to bottom several times looking for it and since my house is in a constant state of utter chaos...well, we just don't know...and they were so good to Tawny on the care and DCIN on the discounts...anyway I called the manufacturer and said "I lost my meter and I have a whole bunch of strips & I went here & there & everywhere trying to buy a new Maxima meter and could not find one anywhere" (this is true, actually), and they said "No problem, we'll send you a new meter that will work w/those strips, no charge."

In the meantime I have a Reli-on meter and a bunch of strips that actually expire 11/2011 so curving both girls tomorrow will make good use of them. Not that I am happy about this w/Tinkerbell, but at least I have the right tools. Meter, strips and FDMB.

Gotta go med Tawny up...

bbl

Thanks for the input.

Desi
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

I definitely agree on doing a curve first. Tink could have got into some kitty crack or with all the Tawny troubles lately, she could've been feeling some stress or sensing yours. Maybe she just needs a few days of support. Either way, as you said, you have the necessary tools to handle it. :)
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

Also, and I hate to ask this in light of recent vet bills, but when was the last time Tink had a check-up? I would make sure she has a squeeky clean bill of health including any dental issues. A dental problem has been known to throw more than one kitty around these parts out of remission.
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

Sending you good curve vines! Does Tinkerbell need a dental, by any chance? This could be something minor that will pass quickly. Many cats get a quick tweak and go back to the Falls. Fingers crossed.
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

You have a good plan in place, Desi. I hope that the curve goes well tomorrow. Fingers and paws crossed that Tinkerbell is having just a temporary glitch.

Hugs to you. Hang in there and get some good sleep tonight.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell ~ Maybe needs a Dental...

She was 314 at feeding time, about 3 hrs after the 352 earlier today.

I hadn't thought of the dental...she is about 9 yrs old & has never had one.

Her last check up was actually when she went to the vet for her "rodent ulcers" problem early this year, February maybe. She has had a few recurrences but the last time she got a 30-day course of clav instead of the 14-day and that seemed to clear it up. She started a minor outbreak about a month ago but it is clearing up on its own. She still has one little spot on her head just below her ear. I guess that means her immune system is working well since it started clearing up w/out clav this time!

I hadn't thought of the stress factor either, but she has been a lot more loving lately and even more bonded w/Tawny since Tawny came home from the hospital this 2nd time. To me and Tawny both. Funny how they know, isn't it?

Tonight they actually ate side-by-side, and even traded off bowls. They have NEVER done that, ever! In fact they have occasionally had "fist fights" over who got what first when it came to chow down time (Mommie always referee'd right away).

I got some pix of this evening's feeding fest: Is it time to eat yet? A couple of her civvie bros & sisters are in a couple of them, too. They were being totally hilarious, trading off bowls, and I ran and got my camera.

Cats are so cool.
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

no advice, but just some good vibes to send your way for a quick trip back to normal blood sugar land! hopefully this is temporary!
 
Re: 11/26 Tinkerbell OTJ Celebration Postponed ~ Need Advice

Hi Desi, sorry about Tinkerbell. I hope it is just a momentary blip. The curve today will really help you get a bigger picture.

For what it's worth, I wouldn't start her at 1 unit if/when you do decide to give her some insulin. The most I'd try would be .5u and go up or down from there.
I had a little concern with BigMac last month when he seemed to hang at a higher set of numbers after his dental. The morning of his dental he was 74 and afterwards he stayed above 160. I waited him out... he finished his antibiotics... I waited... his BG stayed up in the 160's for two weeks. I didn't understand why so I decided to give him a touch of Levemir. It dropped him like a rock and I had to feed HC food all day. :shock: He's been normal ever since. I don't know what was going on but that one shot seemed to kick him in the butt and he's been fine ever since.

I know Tink's BG are higher and she may even need teeth cleaning, but in my opinion 1 unit might be a big jump since she'd been OTJ for almost a year. It would be easier to increase the dose as needed from 0.5 unit, should you decide she needs insulin. It looks like she does need a little help.

P.S. I couldn't see the photos...page not found. :sad:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top