Re: 11/26 Oliver AMPS 441
Kelly, it really is important for you to get some tests during the PM cycle. It's totally possible that Oliver went low last night and this morning's higher number is a "bounce".
Bounces happen when Oliver gets a low number that his liver isn't used to. It's grown used to the higher numbers and thinks that's normal. When the number does go lower, it "panics" and sends out hormones and sugars to bring it back up fast. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, but as Oliver gets better regulated, the bounces won't go as high and will clear faster.
To really know how the Lantus is working, we have to also know if we're looking at high numbers, or bouncing numbers and without any data during the PM cycle, that's impossible.
I don't know what your shooting schedule is, but if you can get a "before bed" test every night, that will help a lot to show us what he might be doing...it's also a very important test to get because a lot of cats go lower at night...and if he's going low, you need to know it so you can set an alarm later and get up to test.
Just one little thing on your spreadsheet...You put the 185 you got yesterday morning in the +11 for last night...that makes it look like you got a 185 early this morning. Just move it to the +11 on the PM cycle for 11/24
It's not necessary for you to do the +10 and +11 tests every cycle (although it's good to do every once in awhile). Your "pre-shot" test only needs to be done immediately before you shoot to make sure it's safe to give anything. IF you get a pre-shot under 150 (150 is our "no shot" number for this group until you have more data on how Oliver does), you just "stall" and ask for help
There's no such thing as "too much data" but it's more important for you to get a varied sample of readings at different times during the cycle. You don't want to poke Oliver at the exact same times all the time.
Sorry to hear Oliver has the sneezes! A lot of us use L-Lysine to help boost their immune systems
Hope you and Oliver have a good day! It's nice to hear he's acting like he's feeling better!