?? 11/26 Oliver Earlier BG's see SS PMPS 97 1+356 WHAT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kellykramer

Member Since 2013
He is doing well, less urine, eating well, and happy
but I think its a bit high for AM compared to the last few days.
I think Oliver is also an acrobat :)
He has been sneezing a lot the last few days. Like 20 plus times in a row several times a day ???? Any thoughts?
Will Keep posted as the day goes on.
 
Re: 11/26 Oliver AMPS 441

Whenever my guys start getting sneezy, I give them l-Lysine. It's an immune system booster. If Oliver doesn't seem like he's feeling well, he may have an upper respiratory infection.

Here's the link to your thread (we call them "condos") from yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=108870&p=1150832#p1150832. We link the condos together each day so it's easy to backtrack if you need information.
 
Re: 11/26 Oliver AMPS 441

Kelly, it really is important for you to get some tests during the PM cycle. It's totally possible that Oliver went low last night and this morning's higher number is a "bounce".

Bounces happen when Oliver gets a low number that his liver isn't used to. It's grown used to the higher numbers and thinks that's normal. When the number does go lower, it "panics" and sends out hormones and sugars to bring it back up fast. Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear, but as Oliver gets better regulated, the bounces won't go as high and will clear faster.

To really know how the Lantus is working, we have to also know if we're looking at high numbers, or bouncing numbers and without any data during the PM cycle, that's impossible.

I don't know what your shooting schedule is, but if you can get a "before bed" test every night, that will help a lot to show us what he might be doing...it's also a very important test to get because a lot of cats go lower at night...and if he's going low, you need to know it so you can set an alarm later and get up to test.

Just one little thing on your spreadsheet...You put the 185 you got yesterday morning in the +11 for last night...that makes it look like you got a 185 early this morning. Just move it to the +11 on the PM cycle for 11/24 :-D

It's not necessary for you to do the +10 and +11 tests every cycle (although it's good to do every once in awhile). Your "pre-shot" test only needs to be done immediately before you shoot to make sure it's safe to give anything. IF you get a pre-shot under 150 (150 is our "no shot" number for this group until you have more data on how Oliver does), you just "stall" and ask for help

There's no such thing as "too much data" but it's more important for you to get a varied sample of readings at different times during the cycle. You don't want to poke Oliver at the exact same times all the time.

Sorry to hear Oliver has the sneezes! A lot of us use L-Lysine to help boost their immune systems

Hope you and Oliver have a good day! It's nice to hear he's acting like he's feeling better!
 
Re: 11/26 Oliver AMPS 441 4+ 201

Doing well just adding BG
Am i to post daily a new oliver topic?
With new #'s and the date?
How he is doing in the post? Right?

Shooting schedule is 6:30- 7:00 Yesterdays stall but trying to get back to 6 to 6:30
 
Re: 11/26 Oliver AMPS 441

We only do one condo per day, and as you get test results, you go to the very first post for that day and "edit" it to add the new numbers.

You need to go back to your FIRST post today and "Edit" the subject line and add the +4 401. When we're scanning the board, the only thing we can see is the Subject Line from the first post of the day, so that's the one you "update" with the latest numbers. Then, if we see something we're concerned with, we'll open the whole condo and read all the replies so far.
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

Reminder this is the first week he is on lantus. The depot hasnt built up yet. I think a decrease may be needed... Looking for experienced advice here.
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

I replied on her other thread too Wendy

I think since she went from 2 units of Pro Zinc to 2 units of Lantus (per her vet's instruction) she might was to go back and start at 1 unit and hold it..see how he does...She also really needs to get more of those PM tests in so we can see if he's dropping lower at night which is causing the highs in the AM
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

I went down to 1 unit for this evening...and PMPS was 97 fed and shot.
I will do more readings this evening... see where we are at.
I truly hope I got the shot almost seemed like it was a furshot OMG It was so small an amount that ??? UGH
I am so frustrated right now. GEE :(
Kelly
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

You are doing great don't worry. It's amazing how much a little dose can do.

Definately get a +2 because you have a partial depot and it may take a few days for it to drain to the 1 unit dose.
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

You did fine Kelly! This is still all very new to you!

Don't worry too much about a furshot...Lantus has a VERY distinct smell, and if you give a furshot, you're probably going to know it! The best way to describe it is that it smells like a Band Aid factory. If you put just a tiny drop on a finger, you'll smell it

I think it might be good (especially considering today's numbers) is for you to start over at 1 unit and hold it for 3-5 days, but others might have another idea. Since your vet told you to start at 2, that's what you did, but I know we've talked some about that being too high to start with. Going back to 1 would be safer for Oliver, as well as reducing the chance of a hypo...let's see what more experienced eyes have to say

You can take the 911 down now, and you should try to get a +1 and/or a +2.... we'll be watching!
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

i just posted on your other thread. you'll want to pick one and stay with it so all of the advice is in one spot. perhaps you could post on the other one to see this one, since it has your whole day's info on it.

not sure what is making you think oliver is an acro cat. are there symptoms you're seeing that make you worry? punkin had acromegaly and we don't usually even consider suggesting a cat get tested until they've passed about 6 units per dose. without any information other than his dose, my off-the-cuff reaction is that you don't need to worry about it. cats with acromegaly suck up large amounts of insulin. cats can need more than typical doses (and 1-2-3, even 4 units are very typical) might need more for a variety of reasons. some examples are pancreatitis, infections, concurrent illnesses, dental disease, or even just having developed glucose toxicity from being too long in high blood sugar numbers.

are you only looking at dose or some other symptoms?
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

I was thinking that was a joke some one made about being an acrobat cat??? Sorry I was just thinking bouncing and up and down levels. I did not realize it was actually something . Oh my.
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

:lol: I was confused about that at first too Kelly!!

There's lots of terminology to learn here...."Beans" instead of human beings, we send "get well vines" instead of "get well vibes", etc....Takes some getting used to!

Here's some of the Terminology used on the FDMB that might help some!
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

oh! :lol: :lol: :lol:

i read your "acrobat" as "acrocat." :shock: my mistake. better get out some reading glasses!!!

acrocat is a nickname for a cat with acromegaly - a tumor on the pituitary gland that puts out a hormone that causes their own insulin to not be able to get into the cells.

oh gosh - sorry. you're doing great, kelly. :YMHUG:
 
11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 97 1+

I have filled the subject line UP.... Imagine that!
I just checked and his BG was 356 Its at 1.5+ ???? Crazy or normal?

I am so exhausted TMI :P
Oh well going to bed soon for a bit and will get up at least once to check levels.
Thanks all.
 
Re: 11/26 OliverAMPS441 4+ 201 9+ 73 10+ 75 11+ 70/73 PMPS 9

Normal Kelly...Oliver is "bouncing" now.

He went lower than his liver has seen in a long time, so the liver thought it better release hormones and sugar to bring him back to numbers it's "Used to"....Bounces are normal and just part of this dance.

They can take up to 72 hours to clear, so we just hold on for the ride!

When you fill the subject line up, you can delete the AMPS numbers so you can fit the PMPS numbers in
 
Thanks so much Chris you are a life saver.As well as everyone else that has been there and advising Oliver and I.
We are going to bed and praying for good #'s here on out. Which I know is a long shot.
I kept smelling Band aids when I filled the needle. LOL
I feel he got the shot but not use if you say bouncing is going on. OH GEE.
I melt if i get TMI so that is what is happening, Bed and regroup.
Good night all and thanks SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Much!
Kelly and Oliver
 
Hi Kelly
Just wanted to welcome you and Oliver to Lantus land. We are here to help as much as we can. I'd suggest you read the Stickys at the top of this forum as you get a few minutes. They will make you think of lots of questions to ask us but they are very helpful.

It will be interesting to see how he does on this dose. Enjoy your sleep!
 
Kelly --

I'm not sure why you dramatically reduced Oliver's dose. When switching from PZI, it was most likely not necessary to reduce Oliver's dose. The most we recommend that you reduce the dose when switching insulin is by 30% and that typically pertains to switching between Lantus and Levemir. Oliver's numbers didn't drop into dose reduction territory today. Those were great numbers but Oliver didn't drop below 50. Frankly, I would keep the dose at 2.0u. In part, Oliver bounced off of the big drop from the 400s into double digits. Oliver's numbers are also high due to your dropping his dose from 2.0u to 1.0u.
 
i think i would lean towards holding the 2.0 dose as well.

while this is hairy while you are learning, having a low preshot number is a little gift. it's an opportunity for you to reduce the entire range that the cat's BGs are in. following the Tight Reg Protocol means that you want Oliver's bgs to be under 120. when you got a 97, that was a great preshot number.

many of us reduce a dose if we can't monitor, or if we're just plain freaked out. it happens. but when you are ready to do it and will be able to monitor, shooting low can be a great opportunity to help reduce some of the high numbers.

i don't see a profile on Oliver yet, so am not sure how much he weighs. on the New to the Group sticky there is a weight calculator for helping to set a starting dose on Lantus. We do take into consideration the previous dose the cat was on, but it's hard to know what happened on that previous dose because we don't know how low any dose got him to. you've had him on the 2u dose for 15 cycles - i don't think we could say that it's too much just because he got to 70's today.

it gets infinitely easier, kelly. i hope you got a good night's sleep and this isn't overwhelming you too much. hang in there, because we'll help you. it really does get routine before long.
 
Oliver weighs 11.5 lbs
he has lost a few Lbs due to diabetes
I started with 2 units as that is what my vet suggested, I then went down to 1 unit last night as he also advised me to do that this once.
I am going to go back to 2 units this AM.
Will post the daily info in his Condo :) I am fine and am not to over whelmed. This is not my first lows and highs with him. PZI was all over the place.
This is why we made a switch. Hope that was a good choice.
Thanks all
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top