11/26 Marley Lantus AMPS 213, +2 270, PMPS 296, +2 257, +3 199

Jdubs

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-amps-291-2-225-10-256-pmps-316-2-253.271141/

I wanted to check in about dose as was going to raise this morning from 2.25 to 2.5 but as showing signs this morning of responding a bit better, ie it's lower than standard - wondered if I should actually stay at same dose and 12 hours?

Sice he was dewormed and fleas, hes been groggy and BG up. I am sure all the dying parasites have added burden onto his body. This morning he seems brighter like hes cleared something.
 
Last edited:
He feels bright today. He's had a few groggy days I think from the meds.......but might start responding better today, Haven't injected yet.

I know 213 isnt amazing but its quite a bit lower than the last few pre meal shots........
 
OK...I think I'm going to stick with 2.25 for today and then tonight if not better I will raise dose as I feel I should get injection in
 
You added an "h" to Bandit :) It's @Bandit's Mom
Are that will be it. Sorry and thanks.

Really occasionally he acts like he's been bitten by a flea (sudden turning head and biting into his skin like itching) Ive been vacuuming daily. My rug where I test and inject him ( and he did his bum dragging) has a thin layer of diatomaceous earth on it, (said to get worms and fleas). I have a huge blanket of sheet over my whole bedding and change that every couple of days and wash. There are still some black dots this morning (it was fresh on last night) so seems to be flea faeces? I thought they all got killed for weeks? Why would they still be there?

In terms of worms........two times now I have found a brown like thing looking like a piece of rice on his tail. Once pre wormer and once last night. I read that the worms take a while to die. The first time he had been outside and I just put it down to him going through the undergrowth. But when I saw the same thing last night I thought it might be a worm. But I haven't seen him dragging bum for days and he rarely licks it now.

So I dont know.

But what I can see is that after the medicines he took a hit at some level on both occasions. Last night his face even looked really wonky I suddenly started to be terrified he had had a stroke. But today he seems brighter somehow.

If I hadn't yet given the injection - would you still have suggested the rise, or do you think it was an ok call to stay at lower dose based on test this morning and update on energy levels?
 
My civvie, Budge has had worms on 2 occasions and both times, the dewormer worked in 24 hours. I gave it to her again after 4 weeks just to be extra cautious and to kill any eggs/larvae. Similarly for fleas. I saw a flea on Bandit once and both of them got a Selamectin spot-on and it worked pretty quickly. I didn't bother with cleaning and vacuuming at all.

Looks like he needs the increase.
 
Back
Top