11/26 Luna AMPS 297, +4 435 - Dosing?

Elle & Luna

Member Since 2023
Hi! I am new to the Lantus group but was recommended to start posting here.

Here's my original post for a lot more context and history: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-is-too-low-to-give-dose.283834/#post-3125642

I've decided to self-manage with the help of the amazing people on this forum after getting some bad advice from my vet. Most recently, she went from 2 units AM 1 PM (with frequent skipping in evening as her numbers would drop too much) to 1.25 units twice daily per advice in my previous thread.

It may be too soon to comment on dosing as today is day 3 of 1.25 U. However I am a bit concerned that her numbers are not dropping enough now and I don't want her symptoms to get worse. I would love to have a safe dose for her while I am away on vacation Dec 3 - 10.
Should I stick with 1.25 U and just continue to collect more data? I plan to get a Freestyle Libre placed on Luna while I am on vacation as my sitter unfortunately does not feel comfortable pricking.

Thanks for your help!
 
With different sides and skipping due to low numbers it is too soon to see if 1.25 is a good dose. You couu you of be seeing wonky doses due to that or because the BG dropped into lower numbers. With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days before deciding whether the dose is working. The one exception is if the BG falls under 90. When that happens you decrease by .25 at the next shot and the 7 day count starts over using the new dose. On the spreadsheet for the pmps add the higher number which is actually your pmps number. You want both readings to show it went up before you gave insulin.
 
With different sides and skipping due to low numbers it is too soon to see if 1.25 is a good dose. You couu you of be seeing wonky doses due to that or because the BG dropped into lower numbers. With SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days before deciding whether the dose is working. The one exception is if the BG falls under 90. When that happens you decrease by .25 at the next shot and the 7 day count starts over using the new dose. On the spreadsheet for the pmps add the higher number which is actually your pmps number. You want both readings to show it went up before you gave insulin.

Sounds good, thanks. I will continue with 1.25 units for a few more days and create a new thread here when it's been 7 days (unless anything notable happens before then). Noted your feedback re the PMPS number, thank you!
 
Feel free to post as often as you want and ask all questions that you have. Someone is almost always around to answer or tag someone else for help. There’s a huge learning curve with feline diabetes as you can see by the fact that your vet could learn more too. No judgement there as they don’t get.a lot of training in fd.
 
Back
Top