11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
11/17 Hershey



HAPPY MONDAY!!

I hope all is well in LL; we've been running around like chickens with our heads cut off! I don't feel like I've been taking very good care of Hershey lately...

Since last we posted - we've had a KIBBLE incident (thanks to Oreo). We've had it air-tight for months and the cats were none the wiser. What I think happened is that it got knocked off the island and opened enough to smell what was inside. After that, Oreo was drawn to the container. So, I put it on top of the refrigerator. (11/20) He managed to get up there and not knock anything else off but that container...We awoke to kibble EVERYWHERE!!! Oreo didn't eat all day (no wonder!) and Hershey saw his first 500+ in a while. I don't know how long that takes to clear, but in the meantime - we were working at the OCC Processing Center in Charlotte (11/21) and delayed getting home, which delayed his shot.

(11/22) Saw Hershey's 1 year anniversary since his diagnosis and celebrating Thanksgiving. And, (11/23) saw another delayed shot due to Black Friday shopping.

We needed to have Hershey back to 11/11 shot time by Friday (11/30) when we go back to Charlotte. I rushed home from church yesterday to shoot at 12:30pm and all was looking good to have him at 11 by Thursday, until...Jessica's best friend's family is shooting a movie and Jessica is one of the extras. Her call time was 9 last night and we didn't get home until 1:40am. So much for getting back on track. Okay - if we move each shot by :20 we'll be almost there by Friday. Not my first choice, but not too many options at this point.

Which brings us to tonight - 1 year + 4 days since diagnosis - You see, below, how Hershey is doing today. I know a new diabetic earns an automatic reduction when he falls below (40), but Hershey is technically not a new diabetic anymore, so...

Thank you for visiting us and for helping us try to make sense out of this mess!

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

OT - Here's a picture of Aunt Jessica with her new fun earrings and little Sammy smiling at her :-D


AMPS (217) +13.25 - Shot .25u at 1:40am - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4 (253) - fed
+7 (275)

PMPS (312) +11.66 - Shot .25u at 1:20pm - 1/16th tsp Miralax
+4 34/29) - fed + tsp +19% - Wouldn't have done both, but I put down the food before testing and Hershey beat me back to it!
+5 (52)
+5.66 (50)
+7 (93)
 

Attachments

  • 11-17 to 11-21 Hershey.JPG
    11-17 to 11-21 Hershey.JPG
    99.6 KB · Views: 207
  • 11-22 to 11-26.JPG
    11-22 to 11-26.JPG
    90.5 KB · Views: 211
  • IMG_0660forum.JPG
    IMG_0660forum.JPG
    269.7 KB · Views: 203
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312) +4(34/29)

Nice to see you Libby! I am sure you guys are really busy!!! And congrats again on the beautiful grand baby!
We have been a bit absent here but hope to catch up on everyone soon.
Sorry to hear about the “kibble incident” but we know the kitties can smell the naughty stuff and just can’t help themselves :oops:
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29) +5.66(50)

Hey, Donna - Good to see you! I've missed catching up with everybody, but you know sometimes life is like that. Thanks for the congrats - we're all pretty taken with Sammy! :-D

+5 (52)
+5.66 (50)

He came up nicely, so I'm thinking we'll hold to the .25u unless I hear otherwise...
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29) +5.66(50)

Hi Libby.....nice to see you :-D
Bet you're happy at those gorgeous greens :mrgreen:

Sammy is adorable, smilng up at his mommy. :-D
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Hey, Barb - Nice to see you, too :-D You're right, I'm liking the greens, but wish I knew what going's on inside of Hershey...kind of like "how many licks does it take to get to the center of a Tootsie Pop...the world may never know..." Thanks, we think Sammy is all that and a bag of chips! (That's my younger daughter in the picture with him.)

+7 (93)
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Hi Libby:-)
Reducing the dose: If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.

29 < 40. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Like Carl was noting, a newly diagnosed kitty gets a reduction when numbers drop below 50. For a longer term diabetic, the reduction occurs if numbers drop below 40. Regardless of when diagnosis occurs, a week of normal numbers also gets a reduction. Or, if you are using the three drops between 40 - 50, that qualifies for a reduction, as well.

I would strongly suggest that you reduce Hershey's dose. By all means, shoot through the bounce if Hershey is bouncing in the AM. Otherwise, I would drop Hershey's dose to 0.1u.
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Hey, Carl - Good to see you, Mr. Smarty Pants. I know 29 < 40 :-P We've been waiting for him to drop below (50) more than once and him being so close to the one-year mark...I just wanted another pair (or two) of eyes. Thanks :-D

Thanks, Sienne - This green came from wayyy out of the blue...well, actually out of the pink! :lol: I retested because I thought SURELY it was a bad test the first time. Seemed like a pretty rapid drop, especially since his schedule has been so messed up. I hear what you're saying about reducing...kind of nervous about decreasing as his numbers often rocket up with the decreases. But, we'll give it a go through the end of the week and see if he likes it...hope so! Thanks for coming over to visit and help!!
 
Re: ?? 11/26 Hershey AMPS(217)PMPS(312)+4(34/29)+7(93)

Hi Libby, Good to see you around...but wowzers on those numbers!!! :shock: Best wishes on the reduction! I'm telling you, these kitties are going to send me into a panic attack with their low, low, low numbers!!!! UGH! Love the picture of Sammy and Jessica!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top