Good luck with the curve. It looks like Gus is going to need an increase.
Good morning, Kim. As usual, I have to agree with Carla that unless Gus sees some blue he will probably need an increase. I hope you had a nice Thanksgiving and are able to relax today!![]()
We are having a bad day.. so many pinks.. so weird, not sure what’s going on. No fur shots to my knowledge… I check with my hand and usually give his injection spot a little kiss after (no insulin smell).
Hang in, Kim. It seems that not too many people are on the site today. Gus is high but safe. I think he needs an increase but strongly suggest you wait to get advice tomorrow. Hopefully, more folks will be on site to advise tomorrow and, if not, don't make any changes in his dose until after the weekend. Holiday weekends are sparse for advice.
Hi Kim. Looks like you are following SLGS [as I am]. This is from the sticky on dose adjustments:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Have you determined when Gus typically nadirs?
Bama's are a lot like that. Loves to nadir at PS. Looks like I'll be up tonight. Pop on over if you want and check out the action.Ya. With following the protocol, he’s definitely due for an increase.
Gus’ nadirs are honestly all over the place! I have not been able to pin point it. His lows are generally at PS or between +4 to +8
I wish it was more consistent.
I’m home tonight and will be home most of the day tomorrow. I think I’m going to follow the protocol and increase .25 tonight…

Hey Kim! How old is Gus's insulin?
I don't have a good reason for the sudden pinks but yes, you should have increased.
You test enough to do TR....Is there a reason you don't want to do it? As long as he's eating canned food (no dry), TR would allow you to increase as often as every 3 days instead of holding a dose that's not working for a full 7 days.
I guess I could potentially hold a dose we are comfortable with on the days id be out but that time… would that be an option?
We opened the 10ml vial of insulin on July 25 I believe.
Absolutely....you can also switch back to SLGS if you really find that TR isn't for you. Just because you can increase as often as every 3 days doesn't necessarily mean you have to (or even should...there are times you'll want to hold it more than 3 days but we'll get into that later)
yeah it could be starting to lose efficacy but we don't usually see it happen that quickly. It's more of a gradual increase in numbers but I'd get some new soon. The pens are definitely the better choice!
But I guess I’m also thinking about the depot and how that builds over time
Read over the TR protocol again....when you start to see blue nadirs, you hold the dose a little longer than 3 days (8-10 cycles) and then when they hit green, you hold for at least 10 cycles ...as you gain more data and experience, you can increase sooner but for now, you're over-thinking it.