11/26 Dashers AM BG # 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kitty mom

Member Since 2014
Looking good.

I do have a question. We go to the vet today with Blitzen and I printed up Dashers SS to give him, the thing is I'm nervouse to do so. I'm thinking he's not going to agree about taking him off insulin without talking to him and without him running that fructosamine blood test.
 
Not sure why he would have a problem with taking a cat with normal blood glucose readings off insulin, and a fructosamine test is only going to give the average over the last couple of weeks, Dasher's meter can do that as well. And whether your vet agrees or not, Dasher is your cat not his, and as Dasher's care giver and his voice it is up to you what you wish to do with him and how you want him treated or not in this case.

I would seriously question a vet that wanted to continue insulin in a cat that is well within normal range without it. That to me would be playing with fire and my cat's very life could be at stake with the continuing the use of a very powerful hormone like insulin when it is clearly not needed to control blood sugar.

Just my 2 cents worth

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
I'm not sure what he's going say he my just be pleased with the control I've taken. I went and read what the fructosamine test is and right I've got it already covered.....$$$$ saver !

Thanks Mel !
 
Always happy to help and trust me, I've been round and round with vets before so learned all the tricks of the trade...lol Even to the point with my first vet that I asked him if he was willing to come over to my house twice a day and stay up all night testing my cat to keep it from dying from a hypo if he was forbidding me to test at home and really was demanding that I MUST shoot 2u twice a day. For some reason he was unwilling to do that...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
My vet knows I've been home testing and was happy that I was. He seems open to learn and told me if I have any info he would be happy to read up on it. Off to the vet very soon....poor Blitzen has no idea.
 
Well at least this time around if Blitzen is following Dasher at least you will know all the steps to the dance, but as my 4 have taught me. Every Cat is Different, just because they are litter mates doesn't mean they will dance to the same music...lol

Now of course I have to ask.....is there a Dancer, Prancer, Comet, Cupid, Donner & Vixen etc? I'm only partly joking because when my mom use to breed persians and himmies she would name the entire litter by the same letter or same cast of characters from a book or movie so she would always remember who came from which litter. Just wondering if that is how Dasher and Blitzen got their names.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Well the vet went well. We seen the 3rd vet in the practice who was Dashers and Blitzen orginal vet. She was amazed at Dashers SS and his results. She did recommend I do another curve on him on day ten just to see how the day goes with feedings and what effect it has . She was delighted to see that I was home testing and feels hopeful that Dasher might just be well on his way to remission. She said she wished all people home tested because it give you so much more info.

The funny thing is as of now I've talked with all three vets and all three have different opinions on treatment doses .
She ran a diabetic panel on Blitzen which includes the fructosamine test and was surprised that Dasher did not have the same panel on his first visit, dasher had a blood and urine panel only.

We should have Blitzens results back Friday maybe Saturday due to the holiday, although we already know he's a sugar kitty as well.

Dasher and Blitzen were already named when we adopted them from the shelter but their brother was comet. Comet was attached to another kitten named Moo and they wanted the two to be placed together and they were.
When we adopted them I only wanted one cat but couldn't leave Dasher behind so home they came. We had just recently lost our 17 year old Presley a few months earlier .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top