11/25 Pumbaa AMPS/159 +4/282 PMPS/206 +3/301

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
NOTE: Pumbaa's spreadsheet is in reverse, with the most current data at the top.

Pumbaa got a dose increase this morning to 2.50U because his high numbers were still over 250.

From what I am seeing today (and I've been trying to figure this out), he's not sensitive to the current dose when it's an increase. That may be true, historically, as well, for increases in general, but maybe not on dose decreases. I'm not sure yet.

I am very happy that he has remained relatively flat lately, and has been not been swinging wildly as he has in the past. I am praying with all of my might that he responds to this dose increase like he did to the increase to 2.25U on 11/20, by slowly decreasing in numbers.
antijinx-emoticon.png


I seldom report on Pumbaa's overall demeanor unless he is acting out of the ordinary, and I post that in "remarks" on his SS. He has pretty much been his normal loving-yet-juvenile-delinquent self for quite some time now. Anyone who would see him would not have any clue that he's now 9 years old and has FD. :)

How did it get to be Sunday night already? I still have hours of work (as in, the income-generating type) to get done tonight.

Suze
 
Re: 11/25 Pumbaa AMPS/159 +4/282 PMPS/206

Pumbaa said:
From what I am seeing today (and I've been trying to figure this out), he's not sensitive to the current dose when it's an increase. That may be true, historically, as well, for increases in general, but maybe not on dose decreases. I'm not sure yet.
Isn't it too soon to tell on this dose yet?
Pumbaa said:
Anyone who would see him would not have any clue that he's now 9 years old and has FD. :)
I remember feeling that way about Beau when I finally had him in halfway decent numbers (on vetsulin, no less) after about 7 months, which was one month after I started home testing and lowing his dose.
 
Re: 11/25 Pumbaa AMPS/159 +4/282 PMPS/206

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Pumbaa said:
From what I am seeing today (and I've been trying to figure this out), he's not sensitive to the current dose when it's an increase. That may be true, historically, as well, for increases in general, but maybe not on dose decreases. I'm not sure yet.
Isn't it too soon to tell on this dose yet?
Nope, because I was judging if he was immediately (as in within the current dose timeframe) sensitive to dose increases. Other than a lower PMPS, his morning cycle really didn't reflect that he was reacting to the current raised dose. What made this easy to figure out was that his AMPS yesterday and today were exactly the same. Had he been immediately sensitive to the current raised dose, I would have expected to see lower numbers than yesterday, and at least many more blues. No? Yes?

Cami is doing great! I'm in awe that you lowered her dose dramatically and she's still showing greens! You are definitely in sync with her needs! Has she stopped peeing outside the litter box?

Suze
 
So tonight at +3 he went up to 301. I know he normally goes up through +4, due to waning insulin and having just eaten his full meal, but still, I'm not happy seeing a pink number again. :( I was so happy seeing just yellows and blues.

This again confirms with me that Pumbaa is not influenced immediately by a dose increase, since last night he dropped down to 182 four hours after his evening meal.

I'm over analyzing, like normal. :) But I'm really looking for trends, as in if Pumbaa is sensitive to dose changes immediately, or if his body waits for the shed to catch up.

Suze
 
I would agree that most cats on an L insulin don't react to an adjustment immediately. Heck, most don't react immediately to a BCS dose or even a skipped shot. Isn't that what the whole depot thing is about? It either has to adjust up or down to any changed doses, and that doesn't happen instantly.

I don't really think they react to tiny adjustments like fats and skinnies either, unless they are on micro dose amounts like .25 or less. I think that most of the fluctuations we like to think are due to teeny dose adjustments are more due to "other factors" taking place or going on inside their bodies that have little to nothing to do with a couple drops more or less of insulin. A spoonful more, or less, of food in the bowl can affect the numbers as much as a drop or two of insulin can.

Like I mentioned earlier today... we overthink it. Because we need to feel that we are more "in control" than we really are.
Because they're just our poor little loved ones, they can't fix this themselves, and all we CAN do is try to fix it for them.

Carl
 
Well, first 301 is barely pink. That could have been 250-350 with meter variance, so don't make too much out of it. Second, this, in fact, could be an "immediate" response to the dose increase. Or it could be nothing related to the dose at all.

I don't have time to look at his SS right now - getting very sleepy and should not even have made a stop over here.... but is this response a pattern? could it have been predicted from his previous data?

Cami is doing great again ever since she threw up the stalk, or whatever it was. She got under immediate control (1 week, seems pretty immediate to me) and is back in those nice numbers again. Unfortunately, she is still peeing on my rugs. I am upping her prozac dose to see if that helps. Sigh...
 
Second cycle on the 2.50U dose and Pumbaa went down to 128 at PM +8. This morning he had an AMPS of 111. Whether this is still the shed from the 2.25U dose, or he's reacting this soon to the 2.50U dose, I don't know. I'm just happy that his numbers are dropping. :)

Sheila, sorry to hear that Cami is still peeing on the rugs. :( Hope the increase in Prozac helps!
 
You may be looking at low PS's soon (under 100) so think about how you will approach them. Looking at past data, do you think he can get the full 2.5u? Can you get spot checks? If you can, you might want to find out what will happen and get that data. If not, then here is where you would make that drop to 2.15-ish - but you would still want to get spot checks as that is not a huge dose difference. You are just looking for the dose that takes him down to where you are comfortable for him to be AND won't cause swings to get going.
 
Go Pumbaa!

Yes, we can analyze the dickens out of things but that sometimes won't tell us what is really going on in those little bodies of theirs :? :roll:
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
You may be looking at low PS's soon (under 100) so think about how you will approach them. Looking at past data, do you think he can get the full 2.5u?
That's one of the drawbacks about raising his dose. I want him to have lower numbers but I have to be able to deal with those lower numbers, as well. Yes, I see no reason for him to not get the full 2.50U dose with a green PS. If I lower the dose for that cycle, it's not going to affect that cycle, and it's just going to mess with his numbers later. No more BCS's here. nailbite_smile


Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Can you get spot checks?
Yes, I'm usually here working all day, and try to test more regularly when I've increased the dose. And I still haven't totally gotten out of the mode of testing him late at night, just to be safe. :)

Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
If you can, you might want to find out what will happen and get that data. If not, then here is where you would make that drop to 2.15-ish - but you would still want to get spot checks as that is not a huge dose difference. You are just looking for the dose that takes him down to where you are comfortable for him to be AND won't cause swings to get going.
In total agreement, except for dropping from 2.50U to 2.15U...I think that's too drastic. I think I would go to a skinny 2.50U first. No? I'm not adverse to his going low enough to let his pancreas heal and need dose decreases, but in his case, from past history, I think that even if he drops below 50, I should maintain that dose instead of decreasing, because the decreases have failed time and time again. But, the prime objective with Pumbaa right now is to get his numbers down and try and prevent these swings. The swings are the scary thing, not the surfing in blues or safe greens.

Thank you, Sheila!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
In total agreement, except for dropping from 2.50U to 2.15U...I think that's too drastic. I think I would go to a skinny 2.50U first. No?
Yes! Sorry! I forgot you upped him to 2.5u! Wasn't paying attention (Cami's 50 messed with my head :roll: )

So that would be a drop to about 2.35u, if you thought 2.5u was too much on a low PS.
 
Sheila: I'd be messed up, too, if I had a cat like Cami who might be OTJ soon! Especially when she was untreated for FD for so long!

And I so thank you for even checking in and giving me input on Pumbaa when I know your hands are full! (((HUGS)))

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top