11/25 Paws AMBG 51 NS | PMBG 74 NS

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrPawsKitten

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Skipped last night because of a low preshot. Random test in the middle of the night showed 48 so fed HC food.

AMPS is 51 so I'm just going to feed, skip, monitor. Overachiever... I guess the depot is still acting and his system seems to be able to handle the LC food so the depot is overdoing things?
 
I don't think that is depot action, I think it's a working pancreas :D:D:D:D

I don't think you need to worry about feeding HC food, but you're not off the hook yet, either, there are steps to ensure a strong remission and you still need to check his BGs with a certain frequency, but I don't know much about that stuff so wait for some OGs to give you the info.

Yay, Paws! You're a rockstar!
 
Random test in the middle of the night showed 48 so fed HC food.

If you don't give insulin, there's no risk of a hypo....that 48 was most likely the sign of a working pancreas that can handle the low carb food he's getting now!!

I think Paws is going to be one of the lucky ones that was caught early and just needed to get off the high carb food, but he'll still always be a diabetic cat!!

You can take a break from testing today since you didn't shoot this morning.....Let's see where he's at at PMPS time, but I'd plan on a 1 drop dose if at all possible to give his pancreas as much support as we can for as long as we can.
 
I'm hoping that all Paws needed was a diet change! We definitely think we caught it early. He's all over the place today, but he scrounged around and found a couple Greenies on the floor so that might have contributed to the 108 we just saw.

We also just realized that the canned food we had been feeding him since this episode started is actually what I guess would be termed medium-carb... turns out it's 6-8% carbs instead of the 1-3% we thought it was. We bought a couple cans of FF classic and they absolutely devoured it, a full 3oz can each was gone in just a couple minutes, so that might be the way to go.

As far as the FF classic goes - the higher phosphorus (400-600 vs. 200-300) is not really a problem so long as they don't have any kidney issues, right? And both Paws and Smokey just had BUN, Creatinine, and SDMA tests all come back normal.

For ongoing dosage, I'm curious about two things:
1) If I'm going with giving him a drop every 12 hours just to help him along and allow his pancreas to recover as much as possible, how closely do I need to monitor him? If 48 for a well-regulated cat is not a problem, how much could that drop of insulin throw things off? I can't imagine too much?
2) What's the best protocol for ensuring that he can stay off of insulin for as long as possible? Just continuing to give him a drop to help him along, and keeping him entirely off the high-carb dry food?
 
Low carb is anything below 10%, so the previous food is OK.

If he's going below 50, the dose is too high. A 48 is OK for a cat not on insulin but we add a buffer for those on insulin. To ensure he stays off insulin, remove all high carb food from the house. Let's see where he is at PMPS before deciding next steps. Paws may have a say in this.:D
 
Paws just gave me a PMPS of 72
Suggestions on how to proceed? It's lower than last night, where after no shot, he was in good shape / low all night long.

The only high-carb food we have left in the house is in our hypo kit. So we're good there.
 
That's what I was thinking too... thanks! He is doing so well! I'm just so glad I decided to go overboard on monitoring him b/c otherwise we'd be in really bad shape.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top