11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 135 +4.5, 132 +5, 118 +6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Good Morning!

Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128956

I'm am so confused! How did we end up with an AMPS of 73? I have to leave for work in a bit, so there's no way I'm shooting this morning. I don't know if I should be happy or disappointed. I fed him the 3% carb instead of the 8% in hopes that he'll stay low, but this is Mikey, so who knows? I'll be able to check in when my class goes to gym, so I'd love to hear everyone's thoughts.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 73 HUH???

I'd be happy but I'd also expect a bounce. FWIW, Gabby did the same thing yesterday. I left in the AM with her in yellow numbers and she was in the greens at PMPS. Our kitties' jobs are to keep us confused.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey AMPS 73 HUH???

OK, I'll brace myself for a bounce tonight. I wish he'd settle down. I was so shocked by that number.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 Non-urgent questions

You called it, Sienne! BOING!!!!! So, now I have more questions

1. Why did he suddenly go into green from yellow? Is this common?
2. He was 445 at +10, then came down to +360 at PMPS. Why? That's a pretty significant drop. Is that from the depot?
3. How much do you think the skipped shot will set us back?
4. Where can I buy chocolate in bulk? :lol:

He's not eating that great tonight, but we've been banging around, and he hates that. It's quiet now, so hopefully he'll eat. If not, I'll open a new can. This one might be too old for our RB.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 Non-urgent questions

I'm confused about the carbs he's eating. Looking at the spreadsheet . . . was he eating all 8% yesterday and it wasn't until after you saw the 73 this morning that you fed him 3%? Or had he had 3% last night?

I don't have answers to your questions. We know he's very insulin-sensitive. From his tests last night, I wouldn't have expected the drop to 73 this morning. From +2/308 to +3.5/254 he only dropped 54 points in that 1.5 hrs - I wouldn't have seen that and expected the 73 either. So . . . as Sienne said, they live to confound us. Rather than try to figure out why it happened, I'd just plow on.

In my mind the goal is to somehow get him into normal numbers and keep him there. I'm assuming you're off for a long weekend - maybe that will be a time that we can work more on this.

We're limited on what we can tinker with the dose since it's already small, so i think food is the tool for us to use.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 Non-urgent questions

4. Where can I buy chocolate in bulk? :lol:


best to get your own tree and start growing it.... :lol: @-)
supposedly there will be a shortage in the world sooner than later.... and the prices are supposed to equal caviar.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 Non-urgent questions

I put our boy up to an 8% food, so that we could raise the dose from 1 drop, which wasn't cutting it, to .1, which was sending him too low. He's been eating 8% for meals, but has gotten some 3% when I'm trying to convince him to surf between times. So all preshot feedings were 8%, and that was most of his intake. This morning I fed him all 3%, because I wasn't going to shoot, and I was hoping against hope to keep him down. Alas, Mikey remains a rubber ball and insisted on bouncing. His plan is definitely to confound me and get me a vacation in the psych ward! :lol: I can't help trying to figure out what happened. It's my nature to want to understand. And it's Mikey's nature to keep me from understanding!

Meanwhile, he ate once I opened up a new can of food. I'd forgotten that since he ate 3% this morning, the 8% was 24 hours old. The nerve of me!!!! Obviously I am an abusive cat mom. :lol: :lol: :lol:

A chocolate tree sounds like a good idea. Or maybe a chocolate grove...

I'll be back with a +2. Unless I'm in that psych ward!!!!
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278

278 at +2. Yes, it's all drama, all the time here on "As the Mikey Turns".
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278

Expect the unexpected. That's what Mikey is giving you. :lol:

I buy bulk chocolate at chocolate making supply places - I do use some of it to make chocolates. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278 +3 190

Oh, we have unexpected here! What kind of a cat bounces to red, then flies back to blue??????? I don't know what to think. Sure am frustrated. I can't wait to show the vet his spreadsheet. He's never going to believe his eyes!
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278 +3 190 +3.5 191

191 at +3.5, so I guess he's steadying out. I fed him some 8% at +3. I'll test again in half and hour or so. Do you think he'll bounce from this? Heck, has even cleared today's bounce.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278 +3 190 +3.5 191 +4 168

168 at +4. Is this considered stable or dropping. I'm falling asleep, but I don't to nod off if he's dropping.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278 +3 190 +3.5 191 +4 168 135

135 @ 4.5. I'm so glad I don't have to work tomorrow. I have tons to do, but all day to do it in. I fed Mikey some FF 3%. I'd really like to see him stay where he is instead of going into green tonight. I'd like to avoid another bounce, although it may be too late for that. At least I feel like he's safe. I'm going to test at +5, and if he's fairly stable, I may go to bed and set an alarm. The question is do I set it for +6 or +7?
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +2 278 +3 190 +3.5 191 +4 168 135

I'll be on for the +5. We can decide then.
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +3.5 191 +4 168 135 +4.5, 132 +5

I'd get a +6. He's slowing down If he's still about the same or up in an hour, you can call it a night. I like to to time my tests to maximize my consecutive hours of tests. :cool:
 
Re: 11/25 Mikey PMPS 360 +3.5 191 +4 168 135 +4.5, 132 +5

Thanks, Wendy. I'm setting an alarm, as I'm fading fast!
 
Brat! He's still going down faster than I'd like to call it a night. Given that he slid down to green last night, I'd either test again in an hour, or try to boost him him up with HC. But you'd still probably have to test again with the HC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top