11/25 Michelangelo AMPS 283, +4/69, +5/100

Status
Not open for further replies.

KPassa

Member Since 2012
Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! I've been busy with the holiday hoopla so I haven't updated very well these last few days. :oops:

I was about to bump him up to 1.25u, but wanted to wait till I was home enough during his nadir hours in case it was too much. In the last couple of days, however, we've been hitting green yet again! He's dipping a bit low, but not too low that I'm having a panic attack and breaking out the corn syrup yet. Since I generally feed him his lunch or bedtime snack at his nadirs, this helps alleviate those fears a bit and I think we might have found a stable dose at 1u for him! At least until he grows again.... :roll:
 
Yeah, he's been stuck holding fairly steady in the 200s/300s since I bumped him up to 1u. I had actually wanted to increase it on Thursday after he'd finished 6 cycles at 1u and his numbers still didn't look too much better, but since it was Thanksgiving and I was gone for most of the day, I held off. This is the first time that it looks like the 1u is having any noticeable beneficial effect on him, so I'm glad I didn't increase his dose again just yet.

I'm still wondering if I might have damaged the Lantus in some way with all that rolling I was initially doing to it. Can it lose its potency? Can it sometimes seem to work and other times not? I'm fairly certain I haven't been getting any fur shots, and even then, the few that might have missed don't account for the continuous stagnation.

Also, the current bounce from 69 to 100 is because he had his lunch at noon/+4. Food really affects his numbers and I'm expecting it to be just as high (if not higher) at his +6.
 
Love seeing the green on Mikey, great color on him! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Some cats do need a little longer to settle into a dose, you just need lots of data to make those decisions. But it is always smart to be cautious when you can't monitor closely.

As for the Lantus, how old is it? It does need to be handle gently, but I've been told it may not be as fragile as we think. Again, better safe than sorry on handling it. It doesn't all suddenly go bad, it slowly loses it's potency.
 
Hello! Glad to see you back, I was getting worried about the little guy.. and you too of course!

I think the lantus is working ok -just looks like he gets a blue or green then he bounces for a day or two. This last bounce hardly lasted at all. Which is why Sienne is saying wait a day or so.
 
Trix seems to be one of those kitties that needs a good 8-10 cycles to settle into a new dose...it's hard to fight the urge to increase sometimes, but it generally does pay off.

Given today's cycle, I'd say your Lantus is fine!

Have a great evening!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top