11/25 Methos 284@PMPS

SmallestSparrow

Very Active Member
When last seen Methos and I leapt from a moving roller coaster hoping an unearned reduction to a previously skipped dose (the elusive 2.75) would be the golden ticket:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...4-8-125-9-5-173-10-5-197.295918/#post-3223195

My resolve to give it a week dissolved on day 4. Unlike his other bounces where he goes up and comes down he just went up and stayed. The next day up a bit more and stayed. I folded at 450 and ketones 0.4. I doubt my vet was any more happy with me than many of you are. She’s going to confiscate my meters for sure now. She said leave him at 3 and hopefully he doesn’t crater —I’m sure she’d like me to leave him on a dose for a week and probably stop texting on weekends


I didn’t ask her but maybe if I try just a teeny bit under 3 (teeny bit over 2.75) it will be a smooth time? He and I can’t take the huge swings the bounces are becoming. Bouncing into pink for a day or three was already a steep price imo for one or two hours of blue but now when it’s a day of reds and occasional black with those pinks; I’m starting to develop significant anxiety when he gets near 200. Which is just crazy. Not sure if my stomach hurts from the stress or so much coffee. I know an increase isn’t good if this is a bounce breaking. Not helping me stomach pain any.


So I tried to split the difference tonight. I’m going to try to sleep for an hour before the nightmare begins. Should I go back to 2.75 for 4-7 days? Should I move up to 3? I feel like no matter which way I go it’s not helping. I’ve been a fairly long time at 2.5 and 3, slightly less time at 3.25 and 3.5. I almost feel like I should make a poll.

Thanks!
 
(the elusive 2.75) would be the golden ticket:

My resolve to give it a week dissolved on day 4
It might have felt like 4 days, but I count only five cycles at 2.75u (two AM cycles and three PM cycles, so that’s really only 2.5 days. :confused:

I don’t know what to tell you. It’s hard when you are so gun shy to see a green number, let alone shoot one, that you carb him up when he even looks that direction. But then you’re stressed when he hits higher numbers (which in some cases might very well be whiplash from the sugar and carbs used to prevent a low blue or green).

I don’t give dosing advice in general, but for Methos’ sake, and yours, and to have an answer to the lingering “would he settle into 2.75u and give you both some peace and a chance to sleep,” I was hoping you could grit your teeth and hang in there for a couple of more cycles. You were so close. Maybe it wouldn’t have given the desired result but at least we’d have an answer. However that didn’t happen, so now you go on.

And I’m no ketones expert, but I had a very ketone-prone cat and I don’t qualify a change from 0.2 to 0.4 as a “worrisome upward trend.” My girl’s ketones fluxed during the day and with far greater deltas than you’re seeing. It’s my understanding that blood ketone readings can and do drift around a bit, so I’m wondering if you’re stressing unnecessarily and perhaps putting a bit too much weight on those readings. (You and I use the same blood ketone reader, fwiw)

As for dehydration…that’s a tough one. I had a chronically (severely) dehydrated cat and a vet recommended I try Purina HydraCare. It might not help but perhaps wouldn’t hurt. A couple of my crew would knock over a Jersey barrier to get to it; others wouldn’t touch it, so it’s a crapshoot. But we’re always trying to tinker and improve their quality of life, aren’t we? So just tossing it out there.

Colleen, I’m concerned about you.
Please find a way to get some sleep—for both you and Methos. You seem to be absolutely driving yourself into the ground We don’t think clearly when we’re sleep deprived, analytical abilities are impaired, and emotions can take over. I’ve cared for some crazy medical cases over the years and really do understand. I know you’d move mountains for Methos but please, please take care of yourself too. :bighug:
 
It might have felt like 4 days, but I count only five cycles at 2.75u (two AM cycles and three PM cycles, so that’s really only 2.5 days. :confused:

I don’t know what to tell you. It’s hard when you are so gun shy to see a green number, let alone shoot one, that you carb him up when he even looks that direction. But then you’re stressed when he hits higher numbers (which in some cases might very well be whiplash from the sugar and carbs used to prevent a low blue or green).

I don’t give dosing advice in general, but for Methos’ sake, and yours, and to have an answer to the lingering “would he settle into 2.75u and give you both some peace and a chance to sleep,” I was hoping you could grit your teeth and hang in there for a couple of more cycles. You were so close. Maybe it wouldn’t have given the desired result but at least we’d have an answer. However that didn’t happen, so now you go on.

And I’m no ketones expert, but I had a very ketone-prone cat and I don’t qualify a change from 0.2 to 0.4 as a “worrisome upward trend.” My girl’s ketones fluxed during the day and with far greater deltas than you’re seeing. It’s my understanding that blood ketone readings can and do drift around a bit, so I’m wondering if you’re stressing unnecessarily and perhaps putting a bit too much weight on those readings. (You and I use the same blood ketone reader, fwiw)

As for dehydration…that’s a tough one. I had a chronically (severely) dehydrated cat and a vet recommended I try Purina HydraCare. It might not help but perhaps wouldn’t hurt. A couple of my crew would knock over a Jersey barrier to get to it; others wouldn’t touch it, so it’s a crapshoot. But we’re always trying to tinker and improve their quality of life, aren’t we? So just tossing it out there.

Colleen, I’m concerned about you.
Please find a way to get some sleep—for both you and Methos. You seem to be absolutely driving yourself into the ground We don’t think clearly when we’re sleep deprived, analytical abilities are impaired, and emotions can take over. I’ve cared for some crazy medical cases over the years and really do understand. I know you’d move mountains for Methos but please, please take care of yourself too. :bighug:

I count the 22, 23, and 24th as three days and me caving on the fourth. I didn’t count the cycles. But that brings me back to the question of —and this will be moot after today really—should I resume 2.75 and soldier on for 4-7 days (depending on how many cycles from the last three days might count). This would to me be analogous to people here I’ve seen be told after they’ve shot that they should have been higher or lower based on a review of their spreadsheet. It didn’t seem in those instances that one messed up shot was the end of the world. But after today I’m going to going with just under 3. Whether that’s considered 2.75F or 3S around here isn’t clear.
If folks don’t have an opinion that’s fine also—just collecting them to mull over before morning.

i don’t mind shooting lower numbers if there’s a point but no I’m not shooting under 100–below 90 is reduction for your system, below 80 for my vet (so I assume for AAHA)—so I’m getting him high enough above 100 that his shot doesn’t take him below a reduction point bc what’s the point there other than test the HPA axis. He’s proven that once he’s below 100 food doesn’t easily bring him up or keep him up so he needs some cushion. So you’re right about that. I’m in search of a dose that brings his nadir 90-150, Keeps him 100- 300most of the cycle. Stays the heck away from 75. That dose is out there somewhere.

I don’t think the huge swings he gets after double digit numbers is good for him. I will look into hydracare but it’s not that he’s not drinking. While he’s awake he’s either drinking, peeing or eating in that order of frequency. Between the diuretic and the sugar in his urine he has to work to keep up but he does it …I think there’s not enough hours in the day for him though so too many high days gets ahead of his best efforts. But it might help and I’m open to anything, thanks
 
I count the 22, 23, and 24th as three days and me caving on the fourth. I didn’t count the cycles. But that brings me back to the question of —and this will be moot after today really—should I resume 2.75 and soldier on for 4-7 days (depending on how many cycles from the last three days might count). This would to me be analogous to people here I’ve seen be told after they’ve shot that they should have been higher or lower based on a review of their spreadsheet. It didn’t seem in those instances that one messed up shot was the end of the world. But after today I’m going to going with just under 3. Whether that’s considered 2.75F or 3S around here isn’t clear.
If folks don’t have an opinion that’s fine also—just collecting them to mull over before morning.

i don’t mind shooting lower numbers if there’s a point but no I’m not shooting under 100–below 90 is reduction for your system, below 80 for my vet (so I assume for AAHA)—so I’m getting him high enough above 100 that his shot doesn’t take him below a reduction point bc what’s the point there other than test the HPA axis. He’s proven that once he’s below 100 food doesn’t easily bring him up or keep him up so he needs some cushion. So you’re right about that. I’m in search of a dose that brings his nadir 90-150, Keeps him 100- 300most of the cycle. Stays the heck away from 75. That dose is out there somewhere.

I don’t think the huge swings he gets after double digit numbers is good for him. I will look into hydracare but it’s not that he’s not drinking. While he’s awake he’s either drinking, peeing or eating in that order of frequency. Between the diuretic and the sugar in his urine he has to work to keep up but he does it …I think there’s not enough hours in the day for him though so too many high days gets ahead of his best efforts. But it might help and I’m open to anything, thanks
This is really interesting. I would think that “perfect” dose would be out there, no?
 
This is really interesting. I would think that “perfect” dose would be out there, no?
Sadly no I no longer think this for Methos. I’m sure it’s possible for many other cats but not my boy. I’m surePookey will be one of the great successes.

edit: pookey btw is so adorable and has the most kissable looking belly
 
Last edited:
Hi Colleen,

good luck with the new dose! I keep my fingers crossed, this dose works well for him. And I hope you get the needed sleep.

May you and the boys find a bit of peace today.
digital-art-portrait-animal-meditating-practicing-mindfulness_23-2151506788.jpg
 
Back
Top