11/25 Jenks AMPS 187 +3 194 PMPS 50 +3 81 +7 59 +10 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
11/24

Uhhhh, what?

Just pause for a moment and look at his spreadsheet. For the last two months, we've had nothing but yellow and pink PMPS numbers. He's held a frustrating, but predictable, pattern of going down overnight, continuing to go down for a few hours beyond AMPS, and then popping up hard into PMPS. Tonight, that's all out the window. OH isn't out of the house for half a day, and now has gone down all cycle and gave us not just a green PMPS, but the lowest PMPS we've had all year.

Consequently, I can't trust that Jenks will do something predictable overnight, especially with a number this low, so I chickened out and gave a reduced BCS dose of 5.0U. If he's starting up his vacation hijinx already, I don't want to be battling lows all night trying to keep him pumped up on gravy.

It's probably time to prospectively consider the size of the dose decrease that it likely upcoming. When I look back to the start of September, I see that a half dose didn't appear large enough initially, so perhaps a whole-unit drop to 9U would be better, depending on how he performs overnight on this reduced dose + depot action.
 
He up to about 80 at +3. Not sure if we're seeing a food rise, not enough insulin, or just that he was going to go up no matter how much he got.

I hope depot action keeps him in nice numbers, but if it all blows up in my face, I guess I'll deal with it in the AM.

@Chris & China - Right? It's my fault though. I planned to get a +9 test to catch any funny business, but I either forgot or convinced myself that a near-200 at +3 (combined with the past two months of afternoon data) meant that it wasn't necessary. Had I checked, I probably could've avoided the BCS with some surfing food. Oh well.

@Stacy & Asia - That's a question I ask a lot. You're new here, and therefore haven't yet been introduced to the puzzle, wrapped in a riddle, cloaked in an enigma that is Jenks. Normally, Jenks' number are a ... challenge. However, every time OH ("other human", Jenks' person who isn't me) goes on vacation, he does something spectacular and confounding. His numbers pretty quickly drop under 100 and lock in there, often prompting a flurry of dose reductions to stabilize them. They remain in the ideal range, with usually beautiful flat cycles, until OH's eventual return, after which they eventually start to drift until they're back to being nonsensical.

Everybody here has racked their brains trying to figure out. I've tried to control for every possible variable. But it remains a mystery.

That PMPS 50 is a sign that it's starting early, so you'll probably get a front row seat to my lack of sleep over the next few days until we get him settled down.
 
Last edited:
I certainly wasn't expecting a 59 at the overnight feeding. Wow. He's scarfing food, so I'm going to do a +9 and in the meantime start considering my AM options. Sleep? Who needs it? :coffee:
 
Last edited:
Sleep is highly overrated.
43.gif


As soon as I saw your subject line, I thought "OH must be out of town!" Jenks, you are the most predictable unpredictable cat I've ever seen!
icon_rolleyes.gif
 
That is crazy. It looks like the BCS was a good call. I hope you can get Jenks settled down so you can get some sleep while OH is out of town.
 
He's up with just about 2 hours to go until AMPS. Maybe the depot is running out of steam. I'm leaning toward 9.0U for the morning dose. No reason behind it, just really a wheel of doses kind of thing.
 
However, every time OH ("other human", Jenks' person who isn't me) goes on vacation, he does something spectacular and confounding. His numbers pretty quickly drop under 100 and lock in there, often prompting a flurry of dose reductions to stabilize them. They remain in the ideal range, with usually beautiful flat cycles, until OH's eventual return, after which they eventually start to drift until they're back to being nonsensical.
Sounds like Jenks beats to his own drum. That is so bizarre! Maybe it's an emotional reaction to missing OH? What happens to Jenks when you leave town? Whatever the cause, hope Jenks calms down the drama for you and you get a little bit of sleep somewhere until OH returns.
 
@Stacy & Asia - Thanks for the wishes! I have the same suspicion that you do, that he has some sort of sympathetic response to OH's presence or absence which has an actual, physiological effect on his blood sugar. No idea how I'd go about proving it though.

For now, it's just Jenks & I doing it up bachelor style for the next 8 days!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top