11/25 Gabby PMPS~330, +2~287 Dental day

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Condo

How do they know? I hid the carrier. It was in the guest bathroom -- a spot that Gabby rarely goes. I suspect she knew something was up since the alarm went off 1/2 hour earlier than usual an I dared to wake her majesty up! At one point, just before I was getting ready to leave, Gabby walked past me, took one look and was making a bee line to go under a piece of furniture. She knew! (And from her numbers, it looks like she knew!) Do much for not telling her about the dental.

Per the vet, if her numbers were high, Gabby got a reduced dose of insulin this AM.

The trip to the vet went almost without event. Gabby, however, did decide to urp up breakfast about 3 blocks from the vet's office as is her usual behavior in the car. Gizmo is wandering around looking for Gabby. It's a bit sad. He really does adore her.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Good Morning, guys,
We are sending good dental vines to Gabby today for a problem-free trip to the vetty dentist. Please tell Gizmo that the KTSS will be along later to help him get the vetty smell off his adored companion.

Hope you are completely recovered from your dental, Sienne!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

I'll be thinking about y'all today. Last I heard Guardian Angel Al is reading The Cat in The Hat stories to calm Gabby's nerves. ;-)

Keep us posted.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Maggie and I are sending good dental vines to Gabby. Aww, that does sound sad with Gizmo missing her.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Gabby and you are in our thoughts and prayers!!!

Yes, cats always know ....always.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Hi Sienne, hope all goes well today. That Gabby is one smart cookie. :lol: :lol: Gizmo will have his buddy back very soon.
Liz
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Isn't it funny how they just know we Beans must give off some kind of hints we are not aware of Do Lou always somehow can tell if bathwater is for him a bath vs a human taking a bath how he knows is beyond me :?: sending Miss Gabby good dental vibes for today
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

They read minds, don't ya know.

Sending good dental vines to Gabby.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Poor Gabby and Giz...their furry little worlds probably feel upside down right now. I swear, the stress and nerves they feel is the hardest part about going to the vet...

Many positive thoughts for a smooth and easy dental!
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Dyana has it right, they read our minds! You can't hide intentions from a kitty. I hope all goes well for Gabby and the dental work helps her.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Sending some vines for you and Gabby and of course, Gizmo. I hope her dental goes very well!

Cats KNOW. They are mind readers. All I have to do is think about vacuuming and one of my civvies, Daphne, is in hiding!
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Sending Gabby good dental vines....hoping she does not need anything but a cleaning. Cats are so perceptive.

Please let us know how she is doing...and hoping you are doing better, too.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

We'll be waiting to hear all went well and get a look at those lovely pearly whites!
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304 Dental day

Hope all is well in Gabby and Gizmo land. Have been sending super good dental vines all day for Gabby and you.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335 Dental day

Gabby's back home. Obviously, she's still stressed -- that was my walk-in-the-door test. She refused to eat at the vet's office so we'll see if she's going to get a full dose tonight or not. She had 5 teeth extracted. She is now without any canines - she lost the other 2 canines during her previous dental. One good piece of news is that bupe is now formulated in an SR (sustained release) form. It lasts for 48 - 72 hours although my vet indicated that it lasts closer to 48 than 72. So, if you know your cat can tolerate bupe without becoming agitated, it may be a good choice.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335 Dental day

Welcome Home, Gabby.
I hope you feel yourself again, real soon.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Welcome home Gabby! Sorry that you lost some toothies... You be a good girl and eat for your mam bean, OK? Mannie says if all else fails he will bring you some chicken soup...

Feel better soon Sienne.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Thank you for the update, Sienne. We are glad to hear everything went fine. Hope Gabby decides food is a good thing tonight.
Liz
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Gabby's not quite ready to eat. She ate a little but not enough for me to be convinced that I could give her a full dose of insulin. She got a reduced dose tonight.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Sorry to hear Gabby had a few extractions, but I'm glad she came through ok otherwise. I hope her appy picks up soon. Have a nice nght SIenne.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Bless her heart. Feel better sweet Gabby.

Sienne, sounds like your hands are a bit full tonight.

Hope Gizmo behaves and gives Gabby some space while she heals.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Welcome home Gabby and glad everything went well. I hope she will eat something later, quite a day for her.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

I'm glad she is home and doing okay. I'm sure Gizmo is also happy she is back. I hope she eats for you soon. Does the tooth fairy bring her treats for the missing teeth? Hope you have a peaceful night. Thanks for the update.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Oh poor Gabby....five extractions!!!! I hope she will be ok and feel better soon.

Hmmm....on the bupe SR....they used it on Teddi and even though she tolerated the regular just fine, for some reason, the SR made her agitated. Just FYI. ECID.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Poor Gabby...what a rough day. I'm sure she's relieved to be home...I hope she's feeling better ASAP.
 
Re: 11/25 Gabby AMPS~304, +11~335, PMPS~330 Dental day

Feel better, Gabby. The KTSS will be along later with a soothing tuna smoothie. Did you put your teeth under your pillow so the Tooth Kitty can bring you some treats?
Rusty
p.s. I have 6 teeth. How many do you have now?
 
Oh my. I don't know how many teeth Gabby has left, Ella! I forgot to get an updated dental diagram.

I think Gabby's hungry. When she's not lounging under my futon, she will stand in front of her bowl and take a lick or two of food and get that, "I don't think so." expression. I suspect she's a bit nauseous from either the AB (a shot of clindamycin), the bupe, or that she's still got a bit of a heavy drool going. I know the combo of AB and in my case, Vicodan, has got me a bit nauseous!

So, my stories from the vet. The front desk staff were very happy to get their FDMB calendar.

One of my friends drove me over to the vet to pick Gabby up. (Driving and Vicodan and not a good combo.) My friend, who is a cat person, was in the exam room with me while one of the vet techs was going over Gabby's discharge paper work. When she asked about Gabby's dose (1.25u), the tech looked at me and commented, "That's a very precise dose." "Why?" I asked. She mumbled something and all I could think is that I'm glad I didn't say I was shooting a fat 1.0u. She then went over food. She asked if I was feeding dry food and if so, that it wasn't a particularly good idea after a dental. After my friend and I stopped laughing, I looked at the tech and pointed out that Gabby is diabetic and I don't feed dry. Rather than climb up on the "no dry food" soapbox, I suggested she visit FDMB so she could preview it as a resource for their clients with diabetic cats. This is a really good vet practice. I have to wonder what happens with the average person who won't home test, can't micro dose, and leaves dry food out for grazing.
 
I'm glad she is home! I hope she gets back on track very soon.

Near the end of his life, Jake had an extensive dental to remove 14 of his teeth due to severe peridontal disease (even though he had had several dentals in his lifetime). It was very stressful on both of us but after a couple of days and some syringe feedings from me to make sure he ate enough to get his shot, things got back to normal, So I sympathize with what you are going through based on personal experience. But Gabby will feel so much better without those bad teeth!

Lucky for me, I adopted Sid AFTER he had already had extensive dental work. He only has about 4 teeth left - one of which is his "fang." :smile:
 
main.php
 
poor little toof-less gabby! you sure you don't want to pry open her little mouth and count whatever is left? :-D

i had wondered how you were doing after your own periodontal affair on wednesday. got enough drugs to help you cope?

too funny on the dry food - doesn't seem that hard of a concept to wrap one's head around. seems like people around here pick it up in less than 24 hours! oh well. one vet's office at a time.
 
Sending some post-dental snowflakes your way! Oh, right, Chicago, you don't ever need snowflakes, let's make it vines. I hope the bupe keeps Gabby comfortable straight through til morning.

I wish I could say that I can't believe the vet tech asked about dry food -- but back when I was an ignorant fool (before FDMB), Kitty had a front tooth out, and they told me just to soften his dry food with water. :cry: Still feed bad.

I hope Gizmo lays some lovin' on Gabby. In her drugged state, she might even let him!

Happy Thanksgiving Weekend.
 
Today I was AOL so this is the first I am reading of this!
Glad Gabby went through it with relative ease...Moonie & Copper lost their canines, and Moonie had 5 extractions last year..Bupe got them through, & they needed it at least 2 days, maybe a couple more, But they were fine.
Hope Gabby feels So much better tomorrow, and she will be eating again, with gusto, very very soon.
Now her bad teeth are out & she is on the road to recovery..Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top