11/25 Clare AMPS 334; PMPS 358

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good evening, Lantus Land neighbors!

We're sending out lots of healing wishes, hugs and skritches to our neighbor beans and kitties who need them today.

Yesterday's Reducee Condo

Today's News:

AMPS 334
+2 299

PMPS 358
+2 174
+3.5 127
+5.5. 94 :mrgreen:
+7. 108

This morning when we woke up, DH said he found the glucometer in the sink! What was I thinking, or not thinking, when I went to bed last night? I usually try to stay up to make sure that Clare eats from her automatic feeder at midnight, then I go to bed. But I must have still been in sleep-deficit from the night before, and have thought that the glucometer was an empty cat food container. ohmygod_smile

So I let myself sleep in for quite some time this morning after the 6 AM shot and the 8 AM second breakfast and test. I'll get the hang of this, really I will! :lol: I also gave us both a long rest from pokies today. A bit risky, but I've been studying her spreadsheet and I had the feeling that Clare would be bouncing for at least the AM cycle. She was in good form all day, hanging out with me, taking short walks in the snow, and helping me with my deskwork.

I think that we may be ending up toggling between a 0.25 and 0.5 dose for awhile. The 0.5 seems to be too high, after a few days and once the depot builds up (note the surprise 30 BG two nights ago) and the 0.25 seems to be too low, especially after a couple of days when the depot drains off.

Is there an alternative? If we stay with a depot insulin (which seem to have better success rates for managing BGs and remission), it sounds like the best alternative is to go to the higher dose, then manage her BGs with foods that have different carb levels, while timing the meals so the carbs take effect when the insulin does.

We're up for that: but wow, it's a bit complicated for my brain (as you can tell ohmygod_smile O ). I'm designated the captain of this particular ship here at home, so the best I can do is trial and error, I guess, with a lot of support from my friends here in LL. I just wish, for Clare's sake, that I had that magic crystal ball that could tell me exactly what to do! cat_pet_icon

Have a great night, everyone!

Georgette and Clare
 
There is a middle ground.
We call it fattening the dose or skinnying the dose.
Especially when one is too much and the other isn't enough. You go for the middle .


I 'm always putting things in the freezer that don't belong there.... or freezer items in the cabinet. :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 11/25 Clare AMPS 334; PMPS 358; +2/174

Hi Rhiannon,

Thanks for the other choice! That may be just the right solution.

Tonight I'm learning that I spoke too soon. Clare is going lower. Not what I would have predicted!

I guess we'll take it a cycle at a time ....

Have a good night,

Georgette and Clare
 
If you use calipers to measure the dose, you can get those in between doses. That helps me with Furball at times.
 
Thanks, Carla. We have the calipers. We need to order the syringes. I had tried to get the Terumo ones in the type with the longer needle that DH prefers but no one seemed to carry them. So the project stalled. He's gotten used to using the shorter needles now so I think we can order those.

Have a good night,

Georgette and Clare
 
Looks like you can hold onto this dose for a little while longer. :mrgreen: I'd hold for a few cycles yet before deciding if Clare needs an increase. And fattening would be the way to go as .5U got Clare into the 30's.

From the protocol sticky:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction.

Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding a dose in-between the dose that dropped kitty too low and the reduced dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top