11/25-Cini Mini-PMPS 131, +3/124

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cini Mini's Mom

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's condo here: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57200

Hope everyone's Thanksgiving was a good one! We'll all be waddling around today from the leftovers. :-D

Cini's Day went this way:

Pepcid @ 7:45 am
+12 - 158 @ 8:00am (would have been the AMPS time)
Stalled 30 mins to see if it would come up
AMBG - 137 @ 8:30am
No shot
Fed 1 TBS Friskies Mixed Grill (8%) @ 8:30am
+6 - 129 @ 2pm
Fed 1/4 can Friskies Beef and Liver Entre (4%)@ 2pm
+9 - 200 @ 5pm
Fed 1/4 can Friskies Beef and Liver Entre (4%)@ 5pm
Pepcid @ 7:45 pm
+12 - 157 @ 8pm (would have been the PMPS time)
Same as this morning, stalled 30 mins to see if it would come up
PMPS - 182 @ 8:30pm
1 drop Lantus insulin @ 8:30pm
Fed 1 TBS Friskies Beef and Liver Entre (4%)@ 8:30pm
+2 - 158 @ 10:30pm
Fed 1 TBS Friskies Beef and Liver Entre (4%)@ 10:30pm
+3 - 133 @ 11:30pm
Fed 1 TBS Friskies Beef and Liver Entre (4%)@ 11:30pm
+6 - Loaded auto-feeder with 1/4 can Friskies Turkey and Giblets dinner (7%)
+8 - 128 @ 4:30am
+9 - Loaded auto-feeder with 1/4 can Friskies Turkey and Giblets dinner (7%)

The readings above are from the AlphaTrak but I was also using the ReliOn as well to compare for accuracy.

Today I will start to exclusively use the ReliOn from here on out.
 
Re: 11/25 - Cini Mini - AMBG 117 - New Monitor start today

I'm glad you're going to use the ReliOn exclusively, as the readings are more what we're all used to seeing.
How's it going, so far?
 
Re: 11/25 - Cini Mini - AMBG 117 - New Monitor start today

Hi Dyana,

The ReliOn is working great! It sucks that blood in to the strip so quickly and has a reading before I can put it down so I can get a tissue on Cini's ear to stop the bleeding :-D

I'm still a little confused and iffy about how to manage this 1 drop routine. I've been reading the stickies, especially on shooting and managing low numbers, and I don't know if I should have stuck to giving him 1 drop of Lantus the past 3 days no matter what even when his BG went to 50 the other night (which technically, would have been a reduction. But, a reduction to what? What's less than 1 drop?), or if I am doing the right thing with not shooting if his BG is lower than 150?

This fine line between 1 drop and OTJ is confusing.
 
Re: 11/25 - Cini Mini - AMBG 117 - New Monitor start today

Hi, I just wanted to wish you luck in getting Cini Mini's dose figured out.
I also LOVE the ReliON. The meter stays on long enough for me to get the blood to flow and it takes such a small amount! I love it. I had a meter previously that would sometimes shut off before I even got the blood to the strip even when I had everything all set a head of time. That was very frustrating.
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117 ! - New Monitor start t

Cini is looking great! The Relion is my meter of choice now also.
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117 ! - New Monitor start t

I used the Relion for months!! Love it!!! Good luck with the dosing. I can't give advice for you, on that. Although I personally shoot Garland her full dose unless her BG is less than around 70 for the most part. But every cat reacts to insulin differently. You , Cini and the experts here will figure out what's best for him! Good luck!
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114 !

Thanks ladies, good to know I picked a popular meter that works well.

Boy, Cini is being consistently consistent today with the 114 to 117 range. Maybe I should go play a trifecta lotto with those numbers. lol :lol:
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114 !

I think Cini Mini still needs the support of some insulin. That being said, I think it is important to maintain bid shooting. His numbers are running the high end of normal (50-120). Providing the pancrease with support will help with his recovery. I used the AT for 4 months and switched to the ReliOn and never experienced a 30 point difference.
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114 !

boy, do I hear you on the micro-dosing :roll:
binks was kind enough to spare me that on the first go round...
the 2nd time round i just said "see...it's a drop...agreed??" :lol:

nice numbers!!!
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114 !

So agreed on Micro-dosing! it's tough. I also agree with a couple of the others that cini mini still needs insulin support. I believe that BID dosing is important, and would still shoot the less than 150. Mannie is however, a long term diabetic and i am very used to dealing with low PS numbers. I hope one of the dose experts will be along to advise.

I am glad too that you have found a meter that you like! :-D
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114,+11/150

Thanks everyone for your support.

I agree with you all the Cini still needs insulin for a little while longer. Just wondering what the protocol is if the scenario of a PS number lower than 100 happens, or if in the course of giving him insulin his nadir drops to less than 50 but his PS goes back up to greater than 100?
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114,+11/150

It's fine to shoot numbers that are lower than 100. I've shot numbers in the 50s (using a human meter). I had commented a couple of days ago that you will need to get more comfortable with shooting low. If you look at Binks' SS, you'll see that Celi was shooting numbers in the 50s and above. Basically, you want to work your way down to shooting green numbers. The only time we do not advise shooting is if numbers are in the 40s. Binks' SS is a good example of what a cat's SS should look like in order to give Cini the best chance at staying OTJ.

One option is to wait for Cini's numbers to drop below 50 three times before even considering a reduction. This may be a good alternative.
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-AMBG 117, +2/117, +9/114,+11/150

Thanks Sienne, will do. And thanks for the "3 times" guideline, that was just the info I was looking for.
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-PMPS 131 - Gave 1 drop Lantus

And yeah, I guess I'm going to have to grit my teeth and "grow a pair" and get this done!
 
Re: 11/25-Cini Mini-PMPS 131 - Gave 1 drop Lantus

i think you'll find that 1 drop at 70 won't drop him as much as 1 drop at 131. it's just a different game shooting low - the logic of seeing numbers drop considerably from a higher number just doesn't apply to shooting a lower number. i haven't reached that stage yet but i've seen a ton of cats move through this phase on the way to otj.

you'll do fine, and if he goes under 50 you know how to handle it. :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top