11/24KHAN Amps 199, +5.5/255

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/24KHAN Amps 199

Nice AMPS for Khan, good call on reducing the dose since you shot early, Jenee! Wonderful to see the green on his SS last night, so glad to see he's seeing greens and you are getting more comfortable with them. :-D

I read back over yesterday's condo...one way that some of us spread out the food is to mix it with water, and freeze it in an ice cube tray or a muffin pan. Then you can leave frozen food out to thaw so he has fresh food later while you're at work. I use a timed feeder now, but I used the frozen cubes for quite a while and it works well.

I saw that you said he lost weight before dx...how much does he weigh, and what is his ideal weight? He's eating quite a bit of food per day, but Tinkles ate that much too when he was first dx...he had lost a lot of weight. Once he started getting closer to his normal weight and his numbers were better, he wasn't as hungry. Is Khan gaining weight now?

I would try to cut back on the fishy flavors, most people here try to feed fish 2-3 times a week at most. Fancy Feast is fine, a lot of people here use it! Just try to use more of the meat flavors to reduce the amount of fish.

You're doing good, Jenee! How is Khan feeling today?
 
Re: 11/24KHAN Amps 199

Thank you very much for the encouragement. I do need it. I'll try to switch FF flavors and offer less seafood. He had lost 6# and last check which was 2 wks ago his weight had not changed. His Lean Body Muscle Mass seems to be losing since I'm having a hard time tenting to poke him-that is how I notice it. Makes me real nervous. any other ideas on ways to get him to gain weight? I was going to add a probiotic which could help however Fancy Feast isn't a "top" nutritional brand.. it is good but really EVO is much much better.. he will eat EVO but not like the FF.. what other brands should I try? any ideas? He had been eating that pork I cooked..maybe I'll just keep offering that and chicken?
 
Re: 11/24KHAN Amps 199

I use EVO, my cats like it, and some Merrick...Cowboy Cookout is very good, and some of the higher carb varieties are great for boosting numbers without sending them through the roof, as well as being good quality food...Thanksgiving Day Dinner and Grammy's Pot Pie, for example. Wellness is another very good quality food, I don't use it much with Tinkles because it seems to affect his numbers a lot, but many people do use it and I give it to my civvies sometimes. But I use lower quality foods too, Special Kitty and Sophisticat. I also use boiled chicken breast as a treat when testing, that also helps improve the diet. I test a lot, so he gets probably an ounce or so a day. You don't want to overdo the plain meat though...I wouldn't use it as more than 10-15% of his diet.

If he doesn't care for the EVO much, maybe you could mix the EVO and FF together? I do think the FF is fine, I just can't use it for Tinkles because it boosts his numbers...he's sensitive to some foods for some reason. I don't use probiotics, so I can't comment on that.

The biggest thing that will help him put on weight is giving enough insulin to get his BG down into better ranges....if he gets enough insulin, he can utilize the food you are feeding him better, and he will start to gain. Better quality food is good, but the insulin and controlling the BG is most important at this stage, IMO. His numbers are getting better, so I suspect he will start to put on weight soon. I try to weigh my cats weekly, or every other week at least, so I can keep an eye on whether or not they are gaining or losing..I just get on the scale with them, it's accurate enough for you to see significant changes.
 
Re: 11/24KHAN Amps 199

Thankyou. I will try those foods.. I know I have ventured out into different FF and he LOVES the beef feast.. I do have cowboy cookout. Seems he is really happy about 100 or a bit lower.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top