11/24 Paws AMPS 92 +2 72 +6 72 | PMPS 85 NS +3 73

Status
Not open for further replies.
Stalled 20, 94.
Neither really, yet. TR was the plan but I've gone BCS a bit too much for that to be accurate.
Gonna keep stalling for now, I think.
 
Yeah I'll be around but I have to go buy more retail strips. Burned through the last 50 so fast and the cheap ones don't arrive til tomorrow.
 
Technically he earned a reduction of .25 by falling below 50 last night, which of course takes you to 0. You could try giving a drop. To get a drop, push the plunger in as hard as you can, insert into vial, and release the plunger, keeping a little "pull" pressure on the plunger so the insulin won't get sucked back into the vial.
 
It's been a slow drop this AM, so I think he'll be fine on a drop, but take a +1, and +2 to keep an eye on where he might be going.

ETA: When asking for dosing advice, chose the "?" icon in your title so you get more eyes on your question and get a quicker response.
 
Last edited:
Paws, you overachiever you! I'm curious to see how he does on one drop! What are great dose that would be, right?
 
I'm late to the party. The next dose was 0.1u as recommended by @Wendy&Neko last night.

However, if you already shot, then monitor like @Alicia & Maggie said.
and i am even later,
Technically he earned a reduction of .25 by falling below 50 last night, which of course takes you to 0. You could try giving a drop. To get a drop, push the plunger in as hard as you can, insert into vial, and release the plunger, keeping a little "pull" pressure on the plunger so the insulin won't get sucked back into the vial.
Usually we go from 0.25 to 0.1;), as Wendy mentioned last night

Pictorial guide using a U-100 syringe marked with half units:

someinsulin-1.jpg
01unit-1.jpg

025unit-1.jpg



As you have shot a drop, just see how he does. It might be good to try and hold on to the dose, he was in highish blues just a few cycles ago, continuing insulin support can give the beta cells a chance to recover better and help ensure a strong remission.

With the +2 being lower it looks like an active cycle, if you haven't already, I would have tried to encourage him to surf in safe greens by giving a little of his regular LC/ a couple of teaspoons and checking again at +3.
 
He seems to be doing well so far, tracking yesterday's mid-cycle almost exactly. Missed the +3 and late on the +4 b/c I fell asleep... yesterday was a LONG day!

As for dose, I'm continuing to be a BCS b/c every time I shoot something above what my wife thinks I should, I end up having a PJ party. Maybe Paws just loves his gravy. Or the attention. :rolleyes:

Based on what we're seeing, I'm hoping that all Paws really needed was the switch from half of his calories coming from 35%+ carb dry food, to all of his calories being 3% carb or less wet food, and needed a little insulin help to push him along the way, to help get his own system back in order. But only time, love, attention, and a LOT of test strips :arghh::arghh::arghh: will tell.
 
Looking good today Paws! :D

Our experience here is that the longer we can safely keep kitty on insulin, and give those healing beta cells some support, the stronger the remission. Typical spreadsheets would be a sea of green. A week more like today would be just right.
 
If you look at George's ss, march/april 2016 you see as he approached remission he was the sea of green that Wendy was talking about.

He took his last reductions rather slowly, earning them by spending a weeks in healthy numbers (between 50-80 human meter), It doesn't look like Paws is going for that method, but if you could manage to keep him a week on some insulin, it could be really helpful long term.

As for dose, I'm continuing to be a BCS b/c every time I shoot something above what my wife thinks I should, I end up having a PJ party. Maybe Paws just loves his gravy. Or the attention. :rolleyes:
LOL there's no remission that isn't earned with a PJ party or two. :p
Hang in there.
 
Yeah he had a great AM cycle. I decided to skip tonight bc his PMPS was 85 and his evening cycles have always been far below his am. His +2 105 was after devouring dinner, and +3 was just 73, so not too upset in my continued BCS. We'll see what he is in the am, for now I need some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top