11/24 Owen AMPS 126, +2 164, +6 62, PMPS 76, +3 86

Owen is at 76. Kris says she can test again at 9 and 10 but has a pet sitting job so she can’t stay with Owen much later than that. What should we do? Reduced dose? Or? She already fed him so we can’t stall :banghead:
 
Sorry no one got back sooner. Even if you shoot a reduced dose, the depot will continue to affect the first part of the cycle.
He is higher than he was earlier in the cycle so it's possible he might head up from here. Remember what I said the last time about Lantus giving flat cycles when you shoot low? If you can get a couple of tests you can shoot the full dose. If needed, you can always feed higher carbs to keep him safe. 9 and 10 would be what part of the cycle?
 
Thank you @Bandit's Mom. I know everyone is busy so we just made our best guess about what to do. A full dose might have been okay if Kris was around to test tonight, but given her limitations we decided a reduced dose would be more prudent. Kris is feeding MC and will test again at 10 (+3). My main concern is that Kris won’t be able to test after that- although she can leave food out for Owen. If he is lower at +3 I will see if I can figure out a way to test him later. I hope he will have a nice flat curve as you suggest! Kris is struggling a bit with testing and I am having a hard time pushing her to do more tests. Being in the middle of this has been hard for me. Thanks again for your help :bighug:
 
How old is Owen?
I think he is around 10 years old? He is such a sweet big orange cat! I think it is hard to post for someone else- Kris isn’t necessarily getting all of the information and advice that I see so sometimes the urgency of testing is lost. Following TR definitely isn’t for everyone and I may just be pushing her too hard? I feel like Owen could go OTJ but maybe it’s not fair for me to impose the protocol I would use on someone else? Owen is not my cat so ultimately it is up to Kris to decide how to manage him. Thanks again for your support :bighug:
 
Back
Top