11/24 Mikey PMPS 268 +2 308 +3 288 +4, 189

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marycatmom

Member Since 2014
Hello All,

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=128886

With great reluctance, I went off to work this morning. After giving Mikey his usual Friskies breakfast, I put out an entire can of FF for him to snack on during the day. He started eating it immediately, and I'm fairly sure he ate the whole thing at once. I checked the traffic reports before lunch time, and since the roads were clear, I ran home and tested. 248 at +5.5! Too much food, I suppose! FF turkey and giblets is kitty crack for Mikey. The timed feeder should be delivered on Wednesday. Stink'ear.

I'm off to the dentist now. If I don't survive, please be sure Don takes care of Mikey. (I may be a bit dentist-phobic.)
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey AMPS 340 +5.5 248, +9 273 Kitty Crack!

Sending good dental vines to you.
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268

This is Mikey's lowest preshot since we changed his dose and food. I have to go out, but I'll definitely be back to test at +2. I hope he's going to give us some nice flat blue-greens. Come on, Mikey! You can do it!
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268

Yeah for a yellow preshot! Paws crossed here for a beautiful surf tonight.

I had a dental appointment today too, and we are both still here. :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268

308 at +2. What's up with that? Wondering if the meter's messed up. Oh wait, this is Mikey. Ugh. Any thoughts?
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268 +2 308 +3 288

I'm starting to wonder if I shot a fur shot tonight. I think the area around where I shot might smell a little insulin-y, and these numbers are a bit odd. How do you know if you shot a fur shot? I'm wondering if I need to have the vet tech shave the shot-spot again. Is it sanitary to use Don's electric razor on a cat?
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268 +2 308 +3 288

As someone who has recently done a couple of fur shots, I think I can answer this one. :lol: I do sniff the injection site for the smell of insulin. Sometimes you get a drop on the needle/syringe and that rubs off on the fur, so that's not definitive unless it's a really strong smell. I've seen drops of liquid or fur smushed together like they've had liquid on them recently. With a fur shot, the numbers will generally just head up. There's also the partial fur shot variation, where you can get a bit of a drop, but generally the AMPS the next day will be quite a bit higher than the PMPS.

Have you seen Marje's post on Testing and Shooting Tips?. I have heard of people getting the fur shaved at the vet, or even just trimming the hair. Neko has long hair and I've never bothered with shaving. If you follow the roll method that Marje talks about, you can reduce the number of fur shots. I grab some of Neko's hair and do the roll over. I tend to get fur shots when she moves in the middle of the shot.
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268 +2 308 +3 288

This all looks flat to me....remember the 20% meter variance. FLAT!!! Can you imagine??????

Great job today, Mikey!!!

Don't worry...if anything happens to you, I'll make sure Judi gets Mikey ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268

Marycatmom said:
308 at +2. What's up with that? Wondering if the meter's messed up. Oh wait, this is Mikey. Ugh. Any thoughts?

Your right. Webster and Mikey must be related somehow. That or we both purchased our glucose meters form the same defective batch. :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Mikey PMPS 268 +2 308 +3 288

I'm just happy to see him getting insulin and not ending up at 40 in a couple of hours! A gradual decrease in his BGs would be awesome! are ya listening mikey? ;-)

i'm with ya on the dentist stuff. yuck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top