11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +10.75 70 PMPS 95 +1 109

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Thanksgiving and Moving Day Condos

Thursday Drive and Thanksgiving Summary
AMPS 591 <--- stinky!!!!!!
+6 495
+11 431
PMPS 412
+5 222
+11 HI <---- :-( :-( (NOT what they mean by "Black Friday")

Friday Double-drive Moving Day Summary
AMPS 449
+7 441
PMPS 428
+4.5 329
+11.7 346

Whew. It's done. We're zonked and slept like logs. As you can see, Leo was NOT happy with the experience. Two blacks and a HI. UGH!!!!! I could write forever (need to capture stuff here.) There are some funny points.

Thanksgiving with the family was wonderful, and much lower stress since we pre-made at least half of it. Loved playing with my granddaughters. DS got a fresh-kill turkey that was delicious. We stayed over and Leo actually slept on the end of the bed for a while. But wouldn't eat until I cooked the turkey livers and he went NUTS!!! (That's all he ate for a couple meals, just to get food in him.)

We hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving, with zero to little family drama.

1) No more Cerenia. Couldn't get it down him Thanksgiving morning. Put the carrier back in the front seat because DH would be in the back for the second half of that trip. On the drive to drop off his truck, Leo was awake and alert, and even STOOD ON THE TOP OF HIS CARRIER AND LOOKED OUT THE WINDOW! DH was behind me and said it looked so funny! For the second half, he was more tired and laid in this favorite bed (first time I brought it because he'd been making messes of bedding). Yay! It was PHENOMENAL to see him alert and looking around. Still kinda freaked at points, but progress. (Still terrible BGs though). Respiration rate down. The two additional drives were the same thing. Alert for maybe 30 minutes, then zoned with higher, but not frantic respiration.

2) Keeping Leo safe and "calm". I kept him in the bathroom at my old place while we moved. It stressed him because he heard all the noise and he cried a little. I tried to calm him but he didn't eat. Laid in LB a bit. Poor guy. When we got to my new place, I was going to put him in the bathroom, but it would be a strange place with lots of noise and banging. So I left him in the car. He's much more comfortable here. He was in the shaded driveway, it was 50 degrees, window slightly cracked, water available, and I kept checking on him. He looked around a good deal, then crouched on the floor near the pedals. That was the right solution, although the thought of "leaving an animal in the car" kept plaguing me, but it was fine.

3) Moving in. We rented a U-haul and filed it to the gills. But I moved to a MUCH smaller place so some stuff had to go back to NJ. I was frantically trying to unpack boxes so they could bring the bed down the stairs through the galley kitchen. Then I hear power tools. DH came in to tell me they had to cut the box spring in half to get it down the stairs to the basement :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: Then they screwed it back together with spare wood. And it put a hole in the wall. Ack! So they FINALLY get it in, and DH says it's not coming out again! LOL! DH and DS put together the table and arranged the furniture for me as I was unpacking, and by the time we went to sleep, it looks livable. Several boxes left and clothes in bags, but this weekend I'll unpack, and drive back to the old place to clean it and bring back some stuff we left.

[Edited to add] 4) OHhhhhh - I forgot to tell a surprise! I have 1 basement window in the bedroom. I am getting these steps that attach to the wall so he can get up there. It's his window. Well in the night, I feel him starting to launch off the bed towards the window. Then I listen ... there are field mice outside the window scratching away!!! He was going nuts! DH said he saw a raccoon when we got up in the night, but I wonder about that. Oh boy, field mice outside the window???? Nights are going to be active around here!!!

WCR: Leo slept at the foot of my bed last high with DH. We already have a testing spot staked out, and he milled around my legs this morning, tripping me, until he *forced* me to test him at +11 for a treat. A test he didn't need, but dammit mommy I want some LIVER! :lol: :lol: :lol: We got LB action, some plays this morning and purrs scratching in bed. No preens that I've seen, but today should be a MUCH calmer day.

Thanks to everyone who stopped by on Thanksgiving to leave advice and travel vines. I just read them this morning, and they brought a tear to my eye that you were thinking of us during the trials. I hope never to do this again for a while! (At least a year.)

Sienne - thanks for the advice ... Leo would have much less trouble getting into the boxspring since it was cut in half! :lol: :lol: :lol: I'll remind Leo how tough life was and how much we love him.

HI Michelle - thank you for the ideas too - Leo was comfortable in the car as much as possible. I'll remember the syringe trick next time, but I think Leo showed he doesn't need it! Yay!

Mannie Mannie - three flavors - we got to share and try them all out! Thanks for scratching on the door to get our attention!

Manny - whoa, I needed that. Thanks for GRABBING ME! The beans got a little worried when I DISaPPEARED! But they did all this cooking stuff and didn't care. Thanks for the party, dude, NEEDED IT!!! You guys can come sometime - there's this warrrrrmmmm box thing that has lots of WARMS coming from it. The bean gots LIVER!!! I sneaked some for us. ~Leo

HI Ella - wow on finding the kitty - thankfully it still had a collar on. I was paranoid and kept the harness on him forever. Keeping him in the car gave me peace of mind. Thanks for the hugs - we appreciate them a lot!

HI Carla - thanks for your wishes. Leo had periods of calm, and an actual YELLOW the other night.

HI Marje - yes we are all lucky - I hope you had a great Thanksgiving too!

HI Deborah - thank you - it went smoother than I thought it would. Still very stressful, but no barfs in the car, and just a poo and some pees, and Leo was alert and looking around. I'm thankful for that. It really helped. But of course Leo still had his own idea about pretty BG values :-Q

Hi Melissa - thank you. We are trying to be good beans. This move was all for him! :-D
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O)
Auntie Lisa!!!! it's me, Mannie kitteh barista! I gots some welcome to your new pad mochas and espressos and stuff. You needs the best to celebrate your new place. Opens up, OK? ~~ Mannie, kitteh barista

Congrats on surviving all of that. What a whirlwind couple of days for you, but it sounds like it all went really well. I think you did wonderfully with Leo. If the car spot worked than I'd be all for it. Wherever they are comfortable is as it should be. I think you did great, took extra good care of Leo.

Bummer on the numbers, but indicative of all that went down, and how Leo felt. it is so great to see a pink today. Sure beats the blacks. I had to chuckle over Leo's version of Black Friday... omg, been there with that one too. One wants to cry when the meter comes back at ya with "HI". Pink is good today. Life is good Leo, time to settle now. :-D

OMG on the box spring! can I laugh a little? You must be so tried after all that work to make the new place seem like home. I know that Leo will appreciate all the efforts. Nice too that other helped you get it all set.

Enjoy today. I hope for a relaxing day for you today. Leo - DUDE! Welcome to the new digs!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Hi Michelle - oh, please DO laugh about the box spring! I saw it wedged going around the bend on the stairs, just stuck, then DH with a little power saw going to town on the wood. What a story to tell! The landlord is a good guy and helped out a lot, and we heard him spackling last night, I felt so bad about that! But he was part of the destruction so not like it was a surprise.

OHhhhhh - I forgot to tell a surprise! I have 1 basement window in the bedroom. I am getting these steps that attach to the wall so he can get up there. It's his window. Well in the night, I feel him starting to launch off the bed towards the window. Then I listen ... there are field mice outside the window scratching away!!! He was going nuts! DH said he saw a raccoon when we got up in the night, but I wonder about that. Oh boy, field mice outside the window???? Nights are going to be active around here!!!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

ok then: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: on the box spring. very nice that your landlord helped. What a plus that is.

and even more :-D :-D on the window and the field mice. Leo! DUDE! SCORE! I can so see him readying for the bed launch. The stairs sound like a great idea. :cool:
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Lisa, wow - sounds like you handled everything great. LMAO about the box springs but glad it all worked out in the end. Hope you have a great day today!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Wow Lisa, so glad you survived it all. I think you handled it all well and Leo will get back on track once all is settled. The new place sounds nice, but oh my with the box springs. I don't mean to laugh either, but sounds like they were prepared for anything. I also have a small place and could not fit everything in furniture wise when I moved here. Your Thanksgiving sounded great, and good for Leo with the livers. :lol: Hope this weekend you can get some rest.

Leo, See ya later. Mannie is getting the bus ready for the dunes today. Lots of hang gliding and a cookout, see ya soon, sis, Mags
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Hi guys boy what a few days you had! Sorry about the high numbers but I guess it to be expected with all the commotion! Glad you got moved in and survived, lol! Your condo was too funny to read this morning. What great news about the window and the field mice. You thought you didn't get any sleep before? ahahhah good luck! :-D Have a great weekend
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

I'm so glad - it sounds like everything worked out perfectly!! Unless you're a box spring and even that's back together so - all is good. :lol:
Leo, dude, a window for watching kitty tv.. you scored... and steps to get there... you one lucky dude. oliver
enjoy the new digs
mary and oliver
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

Ok...after reading all that, I'm going back to bed in your honor :lol: :lol: :lol: What a weekend to have had to move!!! Sounds like everything went as well as it could possibly go...except the box springs ordeal.

Hopefully this is a sign that Leo is headed back down....slowly now Leo...no diving.

Have a great day....I'm sure you are still at work on that new apt!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354

What a crazy few days, but at least it's over now. It sounds like Leo may be getting used to the car rides. Now he just needs to get his BG down some during the trips. I hope he comes down for you today. The steps sound like a great idea. I hope Leo & the field mice don't keep you up all night.
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +11 70 Oh boy!

All - thanks for your replies, and happy you enjoyed our condo and our stories!!!!

1) Leo just popped a 70 at +11. I guess he's settling in, right? This means a LONG NIGHT! DRAMA!!!

2) I don't have my computer charger, so I have to jump on and off tonight to update his SS, so I can't visit condos. Crap. What a night to forget the charger somewhere, probably in the old apartment.

I sure hope he goes up some in the next hour. I don't want to skip a shot but I don't want to shoot low either. He's not eating enough with the nerves, and I need to know that he will eat if I shoot. Darn it Leo! Punishing mamabean?!?!?!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +11 70 Oh boy!

:shock: What a couple of days you have had and now this! Eat Leo, or mama is gonna lace your liver w/ Karo! :o Yuck! Surf now leo no need to go any further!

No rest for the wicked, Lisa! Hmm, I'm thinking that Leo is liking his new digs!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +11 70 Oh boy!

Yeah, Leo is keeping me on my toes.

+12 79. That's a surf so far. I'm stalling just to make sure. I wish he'd bop up a bit. Fart cat.
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +11 70 Oh boy!

They had to cut the box springs in half?!?!?!?!?! Oh my!!!! This sounds like an adventure that should have been caught on video! :lol: I'm so happy to hear that Leo is adjusting well to his new digs. I can't wait to hear of his nighttime antics with the field mice! :-D Many blessings to you guys!!!
 
Re: 11/24 Leo AMPS 354 +5.5 294 +10.75 70 11.25 79 PMPS 95

Lisa, I can say this, because it wasn't me doing all that work, but your condo today was a wonderful read. :lol:
Yes it was awful, but funny, and very clever of the guys to cut the box spring in half.
MOUSIES MOUSIES....did someone say mousies? Ooh, Leo's going to love living there. :-D

I hope you do too, Lisa. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top