11/24 Jade amps 294 PMPS 460+2=435

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jade-67-at-3-5.255851/#post-2881152
Last night was rough. Thank you to @Bron and Sheba (GA) for helping Jade and myself.
We ended up going to bed at about 5am . I am so tired that I can't see straight and I have to go to work as soon as the vet leaves( jades urinalysis). I am skipping her am shot as I think that's what I've seen to do after a hypo incident. Yes, she tested high this morning but I left MC food out when I went to bed (overly cautious, I know) and I believe her high bg is reflecting that. I will not be here to monitor her today and this evening. I plan on the reduction to .50 for this evenings cycle.
I tested Jade and +2 last night and she was 168. I honestly don't know what made me test at +3.5, I will call it intuition. She was acting a little out of character and I just felt compelled. THANK GOD I did. Her nadir isn't usually until about +5-+6 and had I not tested and went to bed instead, i don't know what I would have woken up to. Truly makes me almost gag just thinking about it. Not to mention ,my vets instructions were to NOT test anymore and just give 1U every 12 hours. Period. Had I done that, Jade would not be here
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/jade-is-at-67-giving-hc.255850/#post-2881256
 
Last edited:
I wasn’t around last night for all the excitement. While she earned a reduction she was never too low. Yes, when vets say not to test it makes me so nervous. It’s why no matter high high at amps/pmps I always would test at +2-3 and if dropping test again before leaving the house or going to bed. Just yesterday I saw a condo where a 50 was recorded and no more tests were taken and that was someone that should know better! I hope you can get a nap in after work.
 
I wasn’t around last night for all the excitement. While she earned a reduction she was never too low. Yes, when vets say not to test it makes me so nervous. It’s why no matter high high at amps/pmps I always would test at +2-3 and if dropping test again before leaving the house or going to bed. Just yesterday I saw a condo where a 50 was recorded and no more tests were taken and that was someone that should know better! I hope you can get a nap in after work.
50 on an AlphaTrak???? And no nap before work, unfortunately. Vet, then work for me.
 
I wasn’t around last night for all the excitement. While she earned a reduction she was never too low. Yes, when vets say not to test it makes me so nervous. It’s why no matter high high at amps/pmps I always would test at +2-3 and if dropping test again before leaving the house or going to bed. Just yesterday I saw a condo where a 50 was recorded and no more tests were taken and that was someone that should know better! I hope you can get a nap in after work.
And isn't it likely that she would have kept dropping into a true danger zone had I not caught the 67 at +3.5 if he typical nadir isn't until +5-+6?
 
Good catch. Just a little story here. Ollie was great at diving low at +3 that I wouldn't leave the house until +5 when I knew she would stay safe. If I really had to leave, she came with me. And always always before bed.
I wish I could do that… but bringing her to the restaurant probably wouldn’t go over well.
Lol
 
Good catch. Just a little story here. Ollie was great at diving low at +3 that I wouldn't leave the house until +5 when I knew she would stay safe. If I really had to leave, she came with me. And always always before bed.
Funny you say that, Paula. I used to take Darcy with me sometimes when I was nervous about him dropping low. I put him in a carrier and he rode along. I was able to test him. He was a champ.
 
Long night. Long Day. Vet appt was upsetting. Jade ended up peeing on my table when we were trying to get a urine sample straight from the bladder but at least the vet got urine and Jade didn't get a needle in her bladder. Her PMPS is pretty high (expected) and I started her on .5U this evening. I will check her before I go to bed at +3. Unless she's under 150, I think (I hope) it's safe for me to go to bed and get some very much needed sleep?
 
Funny you say that, Paula. I used to take Darcy with me sometimes when I was nervous about him dropping low. I put him in a carrier and he rode along. I was able to test him. He was a champ.

I have pet stroller so people thought it was a baby. I even had diaper bag with all her supplies/equipment in it. Imagine the surprise when they ask if they can look at the baby and see a cat looking back.
 
Back
Top