11/24 Herman amps 88 +4 94 +6 77 +8 74 pmps 97

I have been using calipers for a few months now and I love them, they are life changing. Took a bit of math to get there which I struggle with but it was worth it. We just grabbed them at Canadian Tire, any digital ones with a locking wheel will do, the ones with the shorter ruler part are easier to handle. If you do decide to pick them up and need a hand I can help, or if you are using the BD syringes I can give you the numbers :)
Hi @Carole & Indigo ....im reposting this from a week or so ago....I am hoping Herman will continue on his current trend (antijinx!) ...I have perused other SS's - I'm guessing he will probably need a 0.1 dose before the drop and would like to be prepared either way....
I was thinking of ordering this: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00S5EFIU0/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
...and I do use BD syringes - can you "give me the numbers"? Hoping that all makes sense once I get in to it!
 
With blue cat +3 and 4 I would not say he’s ready for 0.10 and would stick with .25. The next dose when ready is 0.10 and then 100% green you have a drop dose. You want a strong remission so don’t rush it.
Absolutely! I have no plans for a reduction at this point, sorry if that was unclear, but do want to be ready with calipers for when he dose hopefully earn his next reduction to 0.1…and to be honest I’ll probably use the calipers to get to my current 0.25 doses as well, I am finding them quite stressful to pull.
 
Absolutely! I have no plans for a reduction at this point, sorry if that was unclear, but do want to be ready with calipers for when he dose hopefully earn his next reduction to 0.1…and to be honest I’ll probably use the calipers to get to my current 0.25 doses as well, I am finding them quite stressful to pull.
I found LM evened out better with the consistency of doses using calipers. So yes I'd start using as soon as you get them. Love them over here:bighug:
 
I found LM evened out better with the consistency of doses using calipers. So yes I'd start using as soon as you get them. Love them over here:bighug:
Sounds like just what I need, my current “quality control” set up is pretty low tech! Side by side photos of all doses etc on my phone like a police lineup. I think it’s been fairly effective, but silly and time consuming!
 
Hi @Carole & Indigo ....im reposting this from a week or so ago....I am hoping Herman will continue on his current trend (antijinx!) ...I have perused other SS's - I'm guessing he will probably need a 0.1 dose before the drop and would like to be prepared either way....
I was thinking of ordering this: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00S5EFIU0/ref=redir_mobile_desktop?_encoding=UTF8&aaxitk=5dfac6115aeadb35f77db883e19c371b&content-id=amzn1.sym.5af4f212-3e24-47e1-a58e-3f3fa7403b43:amzn1.sym.5af4f212-3e24-47e1-a58e-3f3fa7403b43&hsa_cr_id=7611605410201&pd_rd_plhdr=t&pd_rd_r=82175e4e-3901-4284-af1e-957e3e4cc65d&pd_rd_w=Ek1ao&pd_rd_wg=LwIQz&qid=1669306866&ref_=sbx_be_s_sparkle_mcd_asin_0_title&sr=1-1-9e67e56a-6f64-441f-a281-df67fc737124&th=1
...and I do use BD syringes - can you "give me the numbers"? Hoping that all makes sense once I get in to it!

Absolutely!!
I’m gonna try and post pics…fingers crossed
upload_2022-11-24_15-21-26.jpeg

These are the calipers that we use, Hubby just grabbed them from Crappy Tire but any digital caliper with a locking wheel will do the job

upload_2022-11-24_15-22-37.jpeg

These are the syringes we use so the numbers below are only good for this exact brand and syringe, if you switch brands/syringes you will have to do the math again
upload_2022-11-24_15-24-38.jpeg

upload_2022-11-24_15-25-30.jpeg

I did the math for both .25 increases as well as the in between doses. Don’t forget these numbers are only for the BD syringes shown above
upload_2022-11-24_15-27-25.jpeg

Once you have your calipers set to the dose you need just draw up a bit extra and get rid of any bubbles then put the small arms between the plunger and base of the needle and squeeze until it’s in there snug and pull away your calipers. Done, dose is ready to go.
I find them so helpful, his dose is always the same regardless of who is giving his shots. Before the calipers I think Hubby and I were almost always giving different doses no matter how hard we tried to be the same. Also I don’t have to use my brain in the morning :cool:
I’m going to add the instructions I followed to get the numbers below in case you ever need them.
Basically take 1 Unit and divide by the number you need, 4 for .25s etc
Hope this helps!!!
upload_2022-11-24_15-32-3.png

upload_2022-11-24_15-32-20.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-11-24_15-21-26.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-24_15-21-26.jpeg
    24.7 KB · Views: 146
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-22-37.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-24_15-22-37.jpeg
    96.5 KB · Views: 135
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-24-38.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-24_15-24-38.jpeg
    66 KB · Views: 133
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-25-30.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-24_15-25-30.jpeg
    61.1 KB · Views: 134
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-27-25.jpeg
    upload_2022-11-24_15-27-25.jpeg
    40.1 KB · Views: 134
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-32-3.png
    upload_2022-11-24_15-32-3.png
    354 KB · Views: 138
  • upload_2022-11-24_15-32-20.png
    upload_2022-11-24_15-32-20.png
    303.4 KB · Views: 152
Ok…WOW
….so first….I thought the measure was taken at the top where the dose lines are to show you where to fill to, not the bottom….which is brilliant! Using the plunger bottom and base of barrel to push against instead of manually adjusting the plunger in to the right spot (where I always push just past the dose and have to start all over!)….is just so perfect! I’m SO excited! I’m going to go to crappy tire and get the same as you and yes I use the exact same syringes. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU @Carole & Indigo ! :bighug:
 
Ok…WOW
….so first….I thought the measure was taken at the top where the dose lines are to show you where to fill to, not the bottom….which is brilliant! Using the plunger bottom and base of barrel to push against instead of manually adjusting the plunger in to the right spot (where I always push just past the dose and have to start all over!)….is just so perfect! I’m SO excited! I’m going to go to crappy tire and get the same as you and yes I use the exact same syringes. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU @Carole & Indigo ! :bighug:

Glad I could help, it was life changing for me. I struggle in the mornings and this makes it almost brainless. :bighug:
 
Ok…WOW
….so first….I thought the measure was taken at the top where the dose lines are to show you where to fill to, not the bottom….which is brilliant! Using the plunger bottom and base of barrel to push against instead of manually adjusting the plunger in to the right spot (where I always push just past the dose and have to start all over!)….is just so perfect! I’m SO excited! I’m going to go to crappy tire and get the same as you and yes I use the exact same syringes. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU @Carole & Indigo ! :bighug:
I use same method as Elise and bhooma... measure actual insulin in barrel. But I've tried both methods and they both work fine just different numbers on caliper ;)
 
I use same method as Elise and bhooma... measure actual insulin in barrel. But I've tried both methods and they both work fine just different numbers on caliper ;)
Ok so I have options! :joyful: …I kinda like the idea of pushing against something vs stopping it by eye. I really struggle squishing out a drop at a time….
Now I need to perfect my bubble eradicating techniques and improve my actual shot giving…I’ve started noticing that I always seem to leave a drop behind …maybe I just didn’t notice before. :rolleyes:
 
Ok so I have options! :joyful: …I kinda like the idea of pushing against something vs stopping it by eye. I really struggle squishing out a drop at a time….
Now I need to perfect my bubble eradicating techniques and improve my actual shot giving…I’ve started noticing that I always seem to leave a drop behind …maybe I just didn’t notice before. :rolleyes:

When my Hubby was in the hospital I took advantage and asked the nurse how to get rid of bubbles cause I was struggling. She taught me to pull the insulin plus a touch extra, hold the syringe needle up and then flick until all the bubbles are at the top, then pull down on the plunger until there is just one space of air at the top of the syringe and push all that air out. No more bubbles :smuggrin:
For the shot I just make sure I push firmly on the plunger and count to 5 before I pull the needle out and it seems to help
 
When my Hubby was in the hospital I took advantage and asked the nurse how to get rid of bubbles cause I was struggling. She taught me to pull the insulin plus a touch extra, hold the syringe needle up and then flick until all the bubbles are at the top, then pull down on the plunger until there is just one space of air at the top of the syringe and push all that air out. No more bubbles :smuggrin:
For the shot I just make sure I push firmly on the plunger and count to 5 before I pull the needle out and it seems to help
I can see how that makes sense with the air bubbles. I’ll try that. Herman has never been the easiest to shoot, it’s a bit of a dance :blackeye: but I will do my best to leave it in longer and push a little firmer on plunger….without bending a needle! :nailbiting:
Thanks again, you’ve been so helpful :bighug:
 
Wow I just learned a lot about a whole new caliper method! I like that it’s totally automated using the other end of the syringe.
I always have bubbles no matter how many times I flick and draw back the insulin and push it back up. I just try to get them to the top part of the syringe just under the needle because it seems like if the bubbles are in the barrel they drag insulin back and make it harder to push it all out. I half the time see a tiny drop left even when I hold it under his skin for a bit after injecting. Sometimes if I can push it back up I’ll inject the rest which probably isn’t the most sterile thing to do.
 
Back
Top