11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322;+4 307;+6 295 ATrak photo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
11/22/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 296, 11th cycle @s1.0u, 1.65oz 8%
+1.5 324, 0.85oz 8%
+2.5 255, 0.5oz 11%
+3 227, 0.5oz 14%
+4 224, 0.5oz 8%
+6 205, 0.8oz 8%
+11 5PP with 3mg Zobaline and 2.5mg Pepcid ac
PMPS 311, 12th cycle @s1.0u, 1.55oz 8% (edited to add a bit more he ate after his shot)
+1 342, 0.6oz 8%
+2 274, 0.8oz 14%
+3 252, 0.75oz 8%
+4 199, 0.35oz 14%
+5.5 169, 1.05oz 12%
+7 235, 1.0oz 5%

11/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak (edited - fixed the date)
AMPS 365, 13th cycle @s1.0u, 1.2oz 8%

Zener had quite the appetite last night! I was afraid that he wouldn't eat anything this morning but he had a good breffis. As promised, here is the picture of him eating at his picnic table. Usually, he will start eating inside then wants to finish outside. He is a funny guy. After I took this picture, he heard something and took off around the corner of the house. He got all puffed up and was growling. It was a neighbor cat. Luckily, Zener can't climb so there wasn't any fight but very exciting, all the same. He does such a good job protecting his domain.


Hope all are well in LL. Thinking especially of Jill and DH and very grateful for a successful surgery. Also thinking of Moonie, Charlie, Tawny and others who are ailing. Enjoy your Wednesday!
Liz
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365 A Trak photo

Love the photo! He really is a king with his own picnic table and everything!! :lol:

Good thing for the neighbor kitty Zener isn't a climber. Way to go protecting your yard buddy!! Now, how about you go on down slowly today to the yellow and blue floors?

Have a wonderful day Liz & Anne!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430 A Trak photo

11/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 365, 13th cycle @s1.0u, 1.2oz 8%
+1 430, 0.6oz 8%

Ugh! None of the good stuff with this number. He's probably just jacking it up so he can dive and get the really good stuff. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430 A Trak photo

It looks like Zener is bouncing off of the blues. Zener -- cut that out!

I love the picnic table. What we don't do for our kitties.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430 A Trak photo

Ohmygoodness. I love the photo. What a prince. Lovely outdoor seating with a rug to keep his little kitty tush warm. And such a great protector too! I hope you both have a great day! Nice numbers yesterday!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430 A Trak photo

Hi Liz, and what a cute pic of the gorgeous Zener and his own picnic table. I love the way he puffs up and growls any time there is an intruder, good security kitty! Have a nice day.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;=2 426 A Trak photo

flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat And here we go again!

11/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 365, 13th cycle @s1.0u, 1.2oz 8%
+1 430, 0.6oz 8%
+2 426, eating 8%

Sienne - We were planning to dosecrease tonight, but if he is bouncing maybe we should wait for that to break? He has a very similar picnic table for indoors now too. We sure do a lot for our kitties. ;-)

Thanks Melissa, Ellen, Jaq and Ann for stopping by and enjoying Zener's picture and his lovely outdoor eating area - very fancy! I am sure he will want his T-giving fuds out there too! We are lucky he isn't a climber, and that is because of his CH. He would if he could! :lol:
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426 dose ? A Trak photo

Looking like Zener & Moonie were talking about their eating & decided to do it!!
Hope you get good stuff for Thanksgiving & May all kitties get some turkey!!
Moonie will...
Zener is such a handsome boy!!! Love the pix--Have a great day Love & Hugs!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426 dose ? A Trak photo

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd suggest waiting until the bounce clears.
Thanks Sienne, that is what we will do! We have the rest of the week off, so we should be able to monitor an increase - putting patience pants back on. ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426 A Trak photo

Zener what the heck are you doing up there buddy? I sure hope he comes down for you today, we hate seeing any kitties in red.

Love his little picnic table, sooooo cute :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426;+3 496 A Trak photo

Hi guys .. what an adorable picture! Zener's fur looks so pretty! .. er.. I mean handsome! Now if he could only get his numbers to be that beautiful before the day is over! I won't be around this weekend so have a great holiday!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426;+3 496 A Trak photo

Hmm...I posted here, but I guess it was eaten :lol: Love the picnic table! Zener is one handsome fellow. I love black cats - they are really special.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426;+3 496 A Trak photo

Love the photo!!!! Ok...Zener...no more bouncing. Did you get Gracie's post yesterday?
ETA: read back over the last of your condo yesterday. I agree that when you first get to LL, you think it is all about getting into green and earning reductions. But you hit the nail on the head....it is about food mgmt to flatten the curve and then adjust the dose to bring the overall curve down. Good luck with controlling those drops. We made alot of headway with Gracie but it wasn't enough. She definitely bounces less on lev.

Heard it was cold and wet up there!!! Guess you all will also get all the rains tomorrow like they are expecting?

Have a wonderful weekend and holiday!! So nice you will be at home with Zener and Tillie...and hopefully better Zener numbers!!

Thanks for visiting us during our cold :lol:
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426;+3 496 A Trak photo

Ohhh such a handsome boy! I love the photo! He isn't spoiled is he???? Hoping his numbers settle down for you! Wishing you all the best!
xxx
patti
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+1 430;+2 426;+3 496 A Trak photo

Earth to Zener...bounce your sweet little kitty butt back down here!

What a cute picture!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+2 426;+3 496;+7 434 dose? PUPD ATk

Okey dokey, symptoms returned today - lots of drinking and peeing, not seen usually with a bounce in Zener. He is feeling a bit punk, no ketones, just high numbers off blues yesterday. Wondering if dose increase is warranted tonight. Very hard to be patient with these symptoms. Would love expert opinions, suggestions?
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+2 426;+3 496;+7 434 dose? PUPD ATk

Oh no Zener! I'm sorry he's not feeling well. That is the first sign Tarragon gives before hd throws ketones but it might be different for Z. Hopefully someone will come along with some sound advice. Get better Zener!!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+2 426;+3 496;+7 434 dose? PUPD ATk

Hello all and thanks Roni, Tracy, Devon, Anne, Marje, Patti, Linda and Melissa for visiting Zener's condo today. It has been a difficult day with very high numbers, lots of drinking and LB activity which we have not seen in a very long time. I always panic when we see those symptoms and fear the worst, whatever that could be! We have tested his urine twice today and no ketones, thank goodness for that. So we are in a bounce and/or had a fur shot last night. We had planned to increase his insulin a bit tonight, but not sure with the bounce. It's really hard to wait with him having symptoms. Will post his numbers here soon, and see what it tells us.

Hope everyone is enjoying the start of a nice holiday weekend. :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+2 426;+3 496;+7 434 dose? PUPD ATk

Hi Anne and Liz:

I know these numbers are tough to take but I agree with Sienne that it does look like Zener bounces off blue. I have been in the situation of raising the dose before the bounce cleared and Gracie came screaming down like crazy from the clearing bounce and the dosecrease....lots of pcpcpcpcpcpc. I think, under the circumstances, it would be best to PM Sienne and ask her to reread the condo since he has developed the PU/PD today and see if she thinks there is any way around it.

I'm not comfortable with suggesting a dosecrease even though I know you all monitor like crazy. It does look like he clears his bounces in 3-4 cycles so maybe it wouldn't be necessary to wait six. But all of that is just IMHO and I totally respect your right as his caregiver to make the decision.....you don't need our permission ;-) ;-) ....we're just giving an opinion.

One thing I have learned from Jill is that the caregiver typically knows the kitty best (hopefully). I haven't always followed her advice to the "t" because we know all Gracie's ins and outs and are here with her. Jill has always been extremely gracious about it and supportive of our decisions BECAUSE we did not make them rashly but studied and studied her SS and had a valid reason for making a decision if it was different than what she suggested.

I think you all are wise enough and careful enough that we will all be supportive of your decision.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404 dose? PUPD ATk pic

Take a look at 10/16 and then ask Marje where the patience pants are. I wouldn't increase during a bounce. It could put Zener over a good dose.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404 dose? PUPD ATk pic

On the way down at PMPS.
11/23/11 Zener Alpha Trak
AMPS 365, 13th cycle @s1.0u, 1.2oz 8%
+1 430, 0.6oz 8%
+2 426, 0.5oz 8%
~3 496, 0.75oz 8%, negative ketones
+7 435, 4PP with Zobaline and pepcid, FDCK 2 pieces
PMPS 404, 14th cycle @s1.0u, 1.0oz 8%

Edited:
THANK YOU Marje and Sienne! We were feeling so anxious about his symptoms and the high numbers and felt like there was nothing we could do - which is true - patience pants and wait. Both of us had very poor sleep last night and running on lack of sleep makes it hard to be patient.

We did the same s1.0u and will be watching for drops.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener AMPS 365;+2 426;+3 496;+7 434 dose? PUPD ATk

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Hi Anne and Liz:

I know these numbers are tough to take but I agree with Sienne that it does look like Zener bounces off blue. I have been in the situation of raising the dose before the bounce cleared and Gracie came screaming down like crazy from the clearing bounce and the dosecrease....lots of pcpcpcpcpcpc. I think, under the circumstances, it would be best to PM Sienne and ask her to reread the condo since he has developed the PU/PD today and see if she thinks there is any way around it.
Thanks so much Marje, I was in the middle of writing a PM to Sienne and she replied on Zener's condo!

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'm not comfortable with suggesting a dosecrease even though I know you all monitor like crazy. It does look like he clears his bounces in 3-4 cycles so maybe it wouldn't be necessary to wait six. But all of that is just IMHO and I totally respect your right as his caregiver to make the decision.....you don't need our permission ;-) ;-) ....we're just giving an opinion.
Reading this helped a lot, plus having Sienne tell us again and remind us of patience pants! We appreciate your opinions so much and it was exactly what we needed - a bit like a bucket of cold water! ;-) I think the high numbers and lack of sleep is fogging our brains today. Yesterday was such a good day, it makes today seem worse than ever.

Marjorie and Gracie said:
One thing I have learned from Jill is that the caregiver typically knows the kitty best (hopefully). I haven't always followed her advice to the "t" because we know all Gracie's ins and outs and are here with her. Jill has always been extremely gracious about it and supportive of our decisions BECAUSE we did not make them rashly but studied and studied her SS and had a valid reason for making a decision if it was different than what she suggested.
I'm not sure we feel as confident on Zener's ins and outs as you do with Miss Gracie, but we're working on it. It seems at this latest dose he has a good cycle then a bounce. We are working with the HC to slow the drops but he is bouncing off 50 point drops in an hour, so we maybe we need to consider testing every 30 minutes in those first 2-3 hours?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I think you all are wise enough and careful enough that we will all be supportive of your decision.
Thanks for the vote of confidence. We shot the s1.0u again and will see how things look in the next couple of cycles. He ate well at PMPS and hasn't peed in at least 2 hours. :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404 dose? PUPD ATk pic

Sienne and Gabby said:
Take a look at 10/16 and then ask Marje where the patience pants are. I wouldn't increase during a bounce. It could put Zener over a good dose.
Thanks Sienne, we immediately pulled up the SS and started looking at that day when we did increased the dose when in a bounce. I see what you mean about how that may have resulted in going over a good dose, and decreasing too soon. The most difficult part for us is a return of PU/PD and feeling like there must be something we could do, but not really knowing what to do other than more juice. :roll: We are giving him plenty of water with his food to prevent ketones and so far, paws crossed, he hasn't had that even with these high numbers. We will test early and often tonight to see if he is going to break the bounce. Thanks for being patient with us and repeating the message again. :smile:
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404 PUPD ATrak photo

Thanks for your support Linda, we have paws crossed this bounce breaks quickly. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361 ATrak photo

We are working with the HC to slow the drops but he is bouncing off 50 point drops in an hour, so we maybe we need to consider testing every 30 minutes in those first 2-3 hours?

I think there is validity to this. We did it with Gracie quite often to try and catch the dives. See....you know more than you think!!

Hugs to you both. You are doing a great job and you have learned SO MUCH about FD and about Zener. If you don't believe that, go back and read some of your first condos.... ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361 ATrak photo

Gosh thanks Marje, you are so kind. And it helps a lot! When you were testing every 30 minutes, what sort of drop in numbers would alert you that 30 minute testing might be in order? We sometime see a 20 point or so drop at+1 or +2 and then a +50 at +3 or +4. We've had some success slowing things down then, but it's already enough that he bounces in the next cycle.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361 ATrak photo

Welll...any time she was dropping from PS to +1 we would start being cautious because she should have been spiking. So we would start with a little bit higher carbs...maybe 6 or 8% and then retest and see how it worked.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322 ATrak photo

We have arrived on the yellow floor!
PMPS 404, 14th cycle @s1.0u, 1.0oz 8%
+1 361, 0.95oz 8%
+2 322, 0.45oz 11%

Marje, we are going to the every 30 minute testing since he dropped again at +2. Will try it even earlier next time. We've switched to a bit higher carb for Zener - his LC is 8%, so we gave him a little bit of 11% and will test in 30 minutes. Thanks!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361 ATrak photo

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Welll...any time she was dropping from PS to +1 we would start being cautious because she should have been spiking. So we would start with a little bit higher carbs...maybe 6 or 8% and then retest and see how it worked.
Did it matter what the numbers were or would you test often even with high numbers, if there was a +1 drop?
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322 ATrak photo

oh wow, you've had quite a day. i saw you posted a pic and had to come and see zener's picnic table! not only is the table cute, he also has awesome dishes. those are so contemporary - zener's got real style! :lol:

i don't have experience with this so won't even try, but i think you both know a ton about zener - sometimes we just need a little encouragement to follow our instinct. you do a great job of managing him. the high numbers will clear. patience!
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322;~3 326;+4 307 ATrak p

Mellow yellow, that's right... And it sure beats grr_red
PMPS 404, 14th cycle @s1.0u, 1.0oz 8%
+1 361, 0.95oz 8%
+2.3 322, 0.45oz 11%
+2.8 306, 0.3oz 11%
+3.3 326, 0.2oz 8%
+4 307, 0.3oz 8%

Once we saw the drops @+1 and +2, we tried the 30 minute testing and just a bit higher carbs at those mini meals. The decrease has been a little less dramatic, so maybe he won't bounce off these yellows! He's eating good, drinking and LB activity has decreased to more normal levels tonight and he has been outside on patrol once or twice, with nighttime picnics!

@Julie - it has been quite the day, we were so discouraged when he had a return of PU/PD and was feeling punk. Improved tonight as soon as the numbers got back in the lower 300s. How could you tell from that little picture about Zener's bowls? From Cost Plus World Market for 99 cents. The little corners help him keep the food in the bowl. And he does like to think he is a contemporary sort of guy. Not nearly as styling as Binks though. ;-)

@Celi - glad you like the very fancy picnic table. It's hand made. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Will get a bedtime check then off to dreamland. Hope everyone has sweet dreams and a lovely day tomorrow with good numbers for all! :-D
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322;~3 326;+4 307 ATrak p

It took us a long, long time to figure it out. For example, if she was higher at PS then the night before and gave us a yellow or pink PS, we didn't worry too much about getting a +1. But If her PS was lower than the night before even if it was still yellow or pink, we made sure we got a +1 and +2 and on some occasions, I got a +1.5, too.
 
Re: 11/23 Zener PMPS 404;+1 361;+2 322;~3 326;+4 307 ATrak p

Marjorie and Gracie said:
It took us a long, long time to figure it out. For example, if she was higher at PS then the night before and gave us a yellow or pink PS, we didn't worry too much about getting a +1. But If her PS was lower than the night before even if it was still yellow or pink, we made sure we got a +1 and +2 and on some occasions, I got a +1.5, too.

Thanks for this info Marje. We'll study Zener's SS and look for that sort of pattern. Looks like Zener is breaking this bounce already, but will have to see how things look tomorrow. Today was tough, so we're hoping for a better day tomorrow. :smile:

PMPS 404, 14th cycle @s1.0u, 1.0oz 8%
+1 361, 0.95oz 8%
+2.3 322, 0.45oz 11%
+2.8 306, 0.3oz 11%
+3.3 326, 0.2oz 8%
+4 307, 0.3oz 8%
+6 295, FDCK @ poke

Our guest arrives tomorrow night and will be here until Tuesday. We're hoping company doesn't stress the big guy too much. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top