11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

tibbs5

Member Since 2014
Hello my friends
Although Tibbsey looks and acts great and his ketones were negative again today, we had a bad numbers day. I am off monday so i will get more tests in but i have a few questions.

My vial of insulin is now 4 months old and i am going to get a new one. Is it possible that the insulin is losing potency? I store it in the fridge and am very careful with it.
Before i spend $200 on a new vial of lantus i am not sure what to do. Although just recently he has gotten some better numbers.. overall the numbers aren't great. He has
just started to do a little squirmy thing when i shoot the lantus , like the shot is bothering him a little. AND he has his diarrhea back again in full force. I haven't tried the raw chicken that Mel suggested to fix the diarrhea but i am doing that on monday.

My question is this.. looking at his spreadsheet, should i buy a new vial of lantus and keep trying with it or should i try levimir at this point? what do you all think?

Thanks so much.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

My phone balks at the spreadsheets, so I can't see it right now.

That said, we say the best insulin is the one that works best for your cat. If you're having problems with duration and/or bouncing with Lantus, and the acidic pH is bothering your cat, switching to Levemir makes sense.

Also, if you have the vet write the Rx for pens, rather than the vial, it may help you use more of the insulin before it wanes in effectiveness. There are 3 mL - 300 units - in a pen vs 1,000 in a 10 mL vial, so you use almost all of it.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

Thanks BJM
so after the bad numbers day, he decided to give me a 44 this morning !!!! yikes. so maybe the high numbers are from bouncing so i am reducing his does by .25 we'll see what happens. Thanks so much.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

Check for signs of vomiting around the house, in case the drop was due to food lack.

And, if the insulin dose was too high, eventually, it will exhaust the reserves of glycogen, the emergency storage of glucose that is released when the levels go too low. This may be why you had such a sudden drop.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

thanks BJM. He stays in my room and a small outdoor screen porch away from the rest of the gang so i didn't see any vomiting.
I reduced his dose today at amps by .25. his amps was 201. I have to do a better job at controlling his food at the 2 hours before testing.
For example, today i had to leave it down since i had to work so his 201 is food influenced. I let him free feed and try to pick up the food 2 hours before testing IF I am home so if i can control that better, his amps and pmps will probably be lower. I am hoping he has finally broken through his insulin resistance and he will be in better numbers going forward. It is possible that his high numbers were also due to going too low when i didn't catch it as is shown from this mornings heart failure for me. I work alot of hours so it is tough to test alot but i am going to try to at least get a partial curve tomorrow. Thanks for your help.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

If you can get a timed feeder such as the PetSafe 5, that can help with the food as it closes 1 compartment when it opens another. You could set it open to an empty compartment at +10.
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

Thanks BJM. Great idea !!!
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

I know most peeps are able to control the food the cats eat, but not me. My Lucian eats every 2-3 hrs, small meals and there is no stopping him. He will make you crazy if you don't feed him when he wants it. Unless I leave the house, I have to feed him. He could raise the dead with his screeching and he will rapidly scratch the door like he's trying to dig to China! :lol: I just have to work around it. I realize that most of his numbers are food induced, OK, work around it. If I wasn't home, I'd have a timed feeder and hear they work really well. But being here? Not happening.

Have you pricked your finger with his needle yet? Yes! Lantus stings like h*ll! I can see why they would flinch. Lev doesn't sting. Can't remember if I've done it with PZI. Being a clutz I probably have. :lol:

Hang in there, it does get better! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

hah. yes with the needle, with the lancet. you name it.... i have stuck myself with it. lol
 
Re: 11/23 Tibbs amps 404 +4 393 pmps 427 bad #s day - questi

I had a bad numbers day yesterday....it sucks and I was frustrated. But there's always tomorrow..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top