11/23 Nico amps- 416, +4- 205, +8- 214, pmps- 205, +4- 130

He will come back down, heโ€™s bouncing from those nice numbers today.
Have a gent slide down, safe surfing ๐Ÿ˜ป๐ŸŒŠ๐Ÿ„โ€โ™‚๏ธ
Thank you. I know they say you can increase every 5 days. But it seems if he was able to get to green, perhaps that's all he was experiencing and hopefully will come back down. I think I read somewhere bounced can last 3 days. So will hope and pray.๐Ÿ˜
Have a fabulous day!
 
Thank you. I know they say you can increase every 5 days. But it seems if he was able to get to green, perhaps that's all he was experiencing and hopefully will come back down. I think I read somewhere bounced can last 3 days. So will hope and pray.๐Ÿ˜
Have a fabulous day!
Correct, bounces can last up to 3 days (or less).
Have a safe day ๐Ÿฅฐ
 
Uhm, just for kicks, I really started trying to get the Relion meter every time today and wrote down the last few days I had too. Wendy's been great in telling me to do what feels right for me. But I know many here are used to dealing with the human numbers. And I plan on switching once he's related probably anyhow. So if you look in my sig, I did start one. I'm still going with his pet meter for judging how we're doing since, as I have been using that data and it'll be easier for me to know where we are. He's about the same place as he was when his numbers dropped great the next morning. Fingers crossed!
Thanks again to everyone helping.๐Ÿ’•
 
92 on the Relion seems out of place with 205 on the pet meter. Especially since mid day you saw same 205 (pet) at +4 and 132 (human) also at +4.

By the way, multiple spreadsheets is a bit confusing. Typically we just use one so it's all in one place. When people switch insulins, they just put a blank line on the spreadsheet, and label it "start Lantus" or similar, then the next day is the Lantus data. Same if meters change, though you'd need a bit more help because the colour ranges in green differ between pet and human. We have people who can help with that.

Paws crossed for a nice flat cycle tonight.
 
Ai my
92 on the Relion seems out of place with 205 on the pet meter. Especially since mid day you saw same 205 (pet) at +4 and 132 (human) also at +4.

By the way, multiple spreadsheets is a bit confusing. Typically we just use one so it's all in one place. When people switch insulins, they just put a blank line on the spreadsheet, and label it "start Lantus" or similar, then the next day is the Lantus data. Same if meters change, though you'd need a bit more help because the colour ranges in green differ between pet and human. We have people who can help with that.

Paws crossed for a nice flat cycle tonight.
So my Relion is broken? I bought it new.:(it It's the Platinum one. I swear I can't win with this. Ok, I'm cool erase the Relion one then. Thanks for letting me know.
So I guess I'm sticking with the pet test one?๐Ÿ˜…
My vet prefers AT3. According to her my machine was higher than hers. But at the same time the Relion was almost the same number there when I brought them. Should I get one of the alpha Track ones? But I couldn't afford to do at least 5 tests a day when they cost $1 a piece.:( I don't know.
He sure has been feeling better today. He was out almost the whole day and played a lot more, even chasing his little brother around a little. I'm hoping for blues tonight and perhaps greens tomorrow?๐Ÿ˜
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20251123_200837230_HDR~2.jpg
    IMG_20251123_200837230_HDR~2.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 15
Sometimes if you get too little blood for the meter, it can show a number, but lower than expected. Hard to say if that is what has happened. If I ever doubted a number, I did a second test. I don't think the Relion is bad, the other other numbers looked fine.

Don't buy yet another pet meter, unless the vet will pay for the strips. ๐Ÿคฃ

You don't need to erase the other spreadsheet, but rather combine all the data into one place. Some people using two meters will do something like put the second meter test values in bold on the spreadsheet. However, we usually recommend picking one meter and sticking with it. Comparing two meters drives you crazy.
 
Sometimes if you get too little blood for the meter, it can show a number, but lower than expected. Hard to say if that is what has happened. If I ever doubted a number, I did a second test. I don't think the Relion is bad, the other other numbers looked fine.

Don't buy yet another pet meter, unless the vet will pay for the strips. ๐Ÿคฃ

You don't need to erase the other spreadsheet, but rather combine all the data into one place. Some people using two meters will do something like put the second meter test values in bold on the spreadsheet. However, we usually recommend picking one meter and sticking with it. Comparing two meters drives you crazy.
I was just trying to understand it befits completely switching it. To be able to compare it for myself to my pet one. I will just keep putting the Relion ones in the remarks section for now then. Just so it's there. I definitely had enough blood to work with. Since Relion requires almost twice as much, I've been doing it first and the pet in left over. But with what you said, maybe just quit for now then. To make sure I'm getting accurate numbers on my Pet one I trust more.
When I complained to the Advocate company and gave them the differences between her AT3 and my pet test one, I was told this...
"Those readings are 15.3% apart, well within the +/-40% of two home meters.
It's a mistake to compare two home meters that are both allowed +/-20% accuracy.
It's a mistake to compare two home meters that are both allowed +/-20% accuracy."
 
YES!! 130!
Blues were achieved. I'm going to be going to bed soon, as he seems to peak at 4. But if his numbers are low 100's or under, I'll be checking him periodically tomorrow. Could be another scary day of shooting in green if we're lucky. But I feel better prepared than yesterday. My only concern is for my pet meter, it says 74 is low. So if I get too close to that, I will be seriously nervous.
But I'm hoping he's on his way to healing.
 
My main nerves will come from the differences not noted by the spreadsheet.
I've looked at the instructions that come with my meter's test strips many times. While this site says greens for pet meters are 68-99, this isn't correct. Alpha Track is 70-150 I believe I read, and my Advocate one is 75-120. Might not seem like a big difference, but it kind of is when you're trying for specific numbers. If I wait till 67, I could be missing out on valuable time to get some mc or hc into him when needed. And while it's not considered to be in the normal range till he gets into 99? He's actually hot his greens quite a few times when he was in the low 100's.
I could be wrong, but since that's what my specific meter claims, I have to go with that as they're all a little different.
So if he hits say 80, it's only 6pts away from what's considered hypo for him. But it won't look that way on the charts.
It's why I started to try using the human one I have, but Wendy said that didn't look right. When his pet one read 205, but the Relion said 90.๐Ÿ˜ฌ
 
It does sound confusing. But you know him. You know when something is just not quite right. If he gets low by your meter then take action by that number. You can always use the human meter as a back up to verify too
 
There is a difference between "greens" and normal non diabetic numbers. Human BG meter normal numbers can range a little higher than 100, though more commonly under 100.. The AT 70-150 is not greens, but rather normal non diabetic numbers. 68-99 is green on the AT.

As I said before, we haven't had many Advocate pet test users, so not familiar with how they compare to the AT or the human meters. Looks like they aren't that close to AT meters. Which can be another layer of confusion.
 
There is a difference between "greens" and normal non diabetic numbers. Human BG meter normal numbers can range a little higher than 100, though more commonly under 100.. The AT 70-150 is not greens, but rather normal non diabetic numbers. 68-99 is green on the AT.

As I said before, we haven't had many Advocate pet test users, so not familiar with how they compare to the AT or the human meters. Looks like they aren't that close to AT meters. Which can be another layer of confusion.
Ok, I both now have a new understanding of how that is, and worry more if I need to get that Alpha Track. And as much as I pay at the vets, I don't see her paying for it. Guess I'll go get one. Then maybe I can compare it to what I'm using now? I also need to look up how long that fru-something or other averages for. I think I read 30 days? If so, is that something I only want some after he's been in the greens for that month?
Thanks!
Holy crow! Just looked it up and they're even more than $1 power test strip and lots of people complain there are bad strips per box
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't get the AT. The test strips cost are outrageous. Keep an eye on our Supply Closet forum, maybe you can pick one up cheap.

In the mean time, reduction point with TR is below 68 on the AT. There is no conversion rate from the human meter to the AT, that's just a number that the authors of TR said could be used. You can either use that or the bottom end of what they call normal on the Advocate meter for now. Just put a note in your signature that reductions is below 75 on your Advocate if that's what you want to do.
 
I wouldn't get the AT. The test strips cost are outrageous. Keep an eye on our Supply Closet forum, maybe you can pick one up cheap.

In the mean time, reduction point with TR is below 68 on the AT. There is no conversion rate from the human meter to the AT, that's just a number that the authors of TR said could be used. You can either use that or the bottom end of what they call normal on the Advocate meter for now. Just put a note in your signature that reductions is below 75 on your Advocate if that's what you want to do.
Sweet! That's what I'm going with then. Some of these companies are such crooks.๐Ÿ˜ก
So I don't go down in shots unless his preshot is below the 75? And that's only by. 25 or 50 points? Anything above that is safe?
 
Back
Top