11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220 / 7:30 510

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Go for a nice gentle slide into the blue zone, Mugsy, with minimal drama.
We have enough bouncy kitties here.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

totally agreed, MJ...slide down nice, mugsy!!

don't plunge, buddy!

celi & binks
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

If only he does. Ususally two days good then wham!
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Sally and Mugsy said:
If only he does. Ususally two days good then wham!
what you're seeing is typical. i think of these ups and downs as waves. eventually these waves become smaller and smaller until kitty flattens out. this process could take weeks or months... sometimes a lot longer for an individual cat.
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Oh Gosh! We've got to postings running! Let's ALL get on one, please.
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Let's clear something up. I know you're all mad at me because I didn't do what you advised in the past. I was worried about the many high numbers while you all seemed to focus on one low number. I didn't feel you were listening and not one of you explained what you were talking about so I could understand. I am still learning. The mistakes have been made and it's over. Let us ALL try not to make them again. Okay?

Mugsy is back at 1u and I'm nailbite_smile as hell! I'm doing the best that I can - learning, coping, and trying to have patience. What I can do I'll do. What I can't you will just have to accept. I'll be trying to find a way to cope with what I can't before I say quits. Keep in mind that my health is suffering with all I have to cope with, too.

I do appreciate all the help and information I have gotten here and I may not post religiously but, the chart will be kept up. This is time consuming and I am doing 20 things at one time.

I'm signing off for the day - have a good night and I hope all your cats are doing well.
Sally
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Sally --

People aren't being critcal -- or I don't think they are. Our first and foremost concern is always the cat's safety. While I know it must feel like we've not been supportive, the complicating factor is we didn't have much insight into your situation. You provided that information in your previous condo.

Just to elaborate on the concern you raised. When a cat goes into lower than usual numbers and you see a bounce into higher numbers, the bounce is due to a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones being released by the liver. Numbers can stay elevated for up to 72 hours. That's why you're seeing those relatively long periods of high numbers. As Mugsy gets used to being in lower ranges, the duration of the bounce will, hopefully be shorter.
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Hi Sally
I am not sure exactly which post you are using but this one has today's date so I will post here.

I am not going to lecture you. I have read your profile and your other thread and know that your life sounds very difficult and you do not have much support as you are caregiver for Mugsy and your husband. That is a lot on your plate.

As I said no lectures but I hope you are open to learning. If you look at Puttys ss and only look at the first 12 hours (daytime) you will see some numbers that look very much like Mugsy's ss minus some of lower numbers. If I just went by those numbers it would show a very different picture than was actually happening. I would have probably raised Putty's dose quite a bit based on the higher numbers. Now look at the numbers after PMPS on his ss. There are few 30's and 40's that without testing I would have never known about. He only went up from the 30's and 40's because I intervened with high carb food and I continued to test.

It scares me to think what might have happened if I did not test Putty at night. I am not telling any of this to scare you but I want you to see how different the night cycle can be. If I never tested at night I would have never had an idea what was going on and I would be increasing his insulin rather than decreasing which would result in him being overdosed.

Is there something we can help you with to make testing Mugsy easier?

Putty like Mugsy was very, very difficult to test at first and it would take my husband and myself to do it. We would wrap him in a blanket so we could keep him still. I had to learn to do it myself because my husband had to go to work and could not be home to help me all the time. I continued to wrap him in a blanket and sit over him with all of my supplies in front of me. I always gave him a treat whether or not I got blood so he could associate the treat with testing. Now all I have to do is point to the blanket and he will lay right down and let me test. I never, ever would have believed he would do that.......I don't even give him a treat anymore.

I don't think anyone here is trying to be critical or mean because believe it or not most if not all of us have been where you are today. We may not have all of the other stresses you have but we do understand what you are going through with Mugsy.

I hope you continue to post and let us sort this out with you. We really do care.
 
Re: 11/23 Mugsy AMPS 399 / 1:48 220

Miriam, I looked over Putty's SS and his numbers look positively healthy compared to Mugsy's. Mugsy's is loaded with 400s, 500s and >600s with almost no low numbers. For you and others I have copied out a section of my reply to Sienne which might help understand my plight better:


I am very aware that there may be no symptoms for hypo (I have that & hyper posted everywhere) but, you get used to your cat (or hubby or...) and Mugs is also very talkative. In the middle of the night I check his heartbeat and respiration and so forth and he talks to me. If you can't see, you learn what your other senses can tell you. I know it's not infallible but, by 7:30 at night (the PMPS) I can barely make out what I'm doing - everything is black and grey and sometimes I can't even see the blood at all even without my glasses and my nose pressed to it - and this is with two or three lights on in the area.
Everybody, I fear, thinks I'm whining and making excuses but, it really has been hard for Mugsy and me to deal with this. First lack of information (vet simply said "it's terminal"), then he was injured. Between the two of us - it's awful. I am so grateful I was able to get this netbook cheap or I would have buried him by now. It's hard with my limitations, hubby's problems (he's a real 24/7 handful), and Mugsy's problems plus limited funds. I don't think his bg has ever been controlled on either insulin. Right now, information and patience are my best allies and weapons to get Mugs well.

I thank you for your supportive words and updated the heading with the latest PMPS number.

Sally
 
I thought I just posted this, but it disappeared..

You're doing fine Sally. Just, please keep posting. We will doing everything we can to help Musgy.

Don't worry about the 510 right now. He's probably just bouncing from that 41.

Have a good night, k?
 
I too think you are doing fine. I know you have alot to deal with now, and it is tough, it's stressful. Just please keep posting. I truly believe that all of us will do whatever we can to help you, and Mugsy. It sounds like you two have a very special bond.

I do hope you have a good evening.
 
Sally...dealing with FD is stressful even when everything else in someone's world is "right"...when there's someone to help, when the kitty is easy to poke, when there is plenty of money. So I cannot even begin to imagine how difficult and stressful it is when things are the opposite and I know how hard you are trying to do what is best
for Mugsy and that you love him very, very much. I commend you for that. I know you are doing your own best and your situation is tenable. We are here for you; I only ask that you listen with an open heart....everyone here wants whats best for Mugsy, too. We are so proud of you for every test that you are able to do and for every time you post and keep the SS up. So hang in there. And sorry...I don't know anything about another post.
 
Everyone,

I have been in contact with Sally daily, so I know whats been going on with Mugsy.
Please try to advise her, but please be patient and understand her situation.
She has been doing a really good job getting the testing done.
Normally she cannot test at night, and thats just how it is.
If she feels she has to test at night because of a low number earlier, I am sure she will find a way.
She loves her kitty and will do everything she can to keep him safe.
 
Thank you Lori! Thank you for being kind and for helping her and for encouraging her.

Sally, do what you can do. The German Tight Regulation protocol DOES NOT mention how many times a day you have to test (it states "you will need to test the blood glucose levels of your cat multiple times per day"; you happen to be doing that). You're doing better than the majority of diabetic cat owners and you can do this.
 
ditto on what lori said...and i think what other folks have said here is wonderful.

and most of all...great admiration for you, sally...for hanging in here! i've said this before, and i'll say it again...you've got guts, girl...and i know how much you love the mugster! i can only hope that were i in your situation...i would have the strength and persistence you have...you are a stronger woman than i am.

And i love the idea that we are a family...and differences of opinion aside, we can just keep heading in the right direction...help for mugsy and suggestions for you!

keep on keepin on, sally!
and happy day before thanksgiving to you!

celi
mugsy...you a good-lookin' guy...and i ain't just sayin that cause we look alike
binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top