11/23 Jude | AMPS 127; +3 84; PMPS 136

Mary & Jude

Member Since 2024
yesterday's condo

Jude had a rocky night last night. I ended up syringe feeding him to get some food into him and give him his shot. He also gets his Clavamox dose at the same time, so I gave him that. His bg ended up dropping and he surfed quite low, and I had to administer honey to keep him from going too low in the first half of the cycle. I was finally able to coax him to eat some Dr. Elsey's kibble on his own. He is supposed to continue on his Clavamox for another week, but I decided not to give him any this morning since I think this might be causing his inappetence/stomach upset.

This morning was a repeat of last night, so I syringe fed him, and then got him to eat some Dr. Elsey's kibble on his own. I decided to give him 2 units of insulin because I wasn't able to get much food into him, and I didn't want a repeat of last night.

Three hours later, he is currently at his food bowl eating a little bit of his LC wet food, so it's possible the affects of the antibiotic are waning (last night was the last dose), if that is what is causing his inappetence.

I will note that Jude has taken Clavamox before, but has never experienced any issues other than some diarrhea and that was remedied with s.boulardii.

Now a new "symptom" has popped up. Jude is drinking water. Jude NEVER drinks water (I put a lot of water in his wet food). In fact, I think the only time I've ever seen him drink water is when he first was diagnosed with diabetes. He's not drinking a lot, but, again, he's not a water drinker. Could this be dehydration from the kibble?? I don't normally ever feed him kibble, but I had to get something into him in order to give him his shot and to keep him from going too low.

I'm very worried about P-itis, which he hasn't had.

Any thoughts are welcome.
 
Last edited:
Interesting common observation w/ Minner. She drank water regularly pre-diabetes when she ate mostly dry food. Then tons of water when diabetes diagnosis being determined. Then literally NO water after I got her converted to all wet food … just like Jude it appears. But I have noticed her lapping water a few times here and there in last month or so. I am assuming its from getting more into yellow and passing that renal threshold. Also sometimes maybe from giving her more dried chicken. ????

Jude’s numbers are all blue/green. No renal threshold potential for 5+ days. If he’s been eating way less and that’s where he gets most of his water, then his thirst drive could be kicking in? The big scary for me is when an overweight cat stops eating and hepatic lipidosis enters picture. This can take a few days of not eating to kick-in, but once it does it is hard to manage and reverse. So it’s good that Jude is getting some caloric intake. Even 50% of daily caloric requirement will keep hepatic lipidosis away (comment made to me by a vet).

Are you still giving him Mirataz?

Also, I wonder if there is injectable antibiotic you could use that does not have the gastro side effects. Baytril? It’s a question that may be worth asking if you want to stay on antibiotic longer and gain more certainty that you are eliminating any potential infection. Then there’s the big gun stuff — marbofloxacin. We used this with Minner’s mom to resolve aspiration pneumonia ( a concern when medicating with liquids or syringe feeding altho we think she got it from being under anesthesia after diagnostic scans). Also used for upper respiratory crap with her. Last resort drug. All of this is commentary based on my personal experience, I’m not qualified to diagnose or recommend meds!

Cmon Jude! Let’s eat some yummy.
 
Interesting common observation w/ Minner. She drank water regularly pre-diabetes when she ate mostly dry food. Then tons of water when diabetes diagnosis being determined. Then literally NO water after I got her converted to all wet food … just like Jude it appears. But I have noticed her lapping water a few times here and there in last month or so. I am assuming its from getting more into yellow and passing that renal threshold. Also sometimes maybe from giving her more dried chicken. ????

Jude’s numbers are all blue/green. No renal threshold potential for 5+ days. If he’s been eating way less and that’s where he gets most of his water, then his thirst drive could be kicking in? The big scary for me is when an overweight cat stops eating and hepatic lipidosis enters picture. This can take a few days of not eating to kick-in, but once it does it is hard to manage and reverse. So it’s good that Jude is getting some caloric intake. Even 50% of daily caloric requirement will keep hepatic lipidosis away (comment made to me by a vet).

Are you still giving him Mirataz?

Also, I wonder if there is injectable antibiotic you could use that does not have the gastro side effects. Baytril? It’s a question that may be worth asking if you want to stay on antibiotic longer and gain more certainty that you are eliminating any potential infection. Then there’s the big gun stuff — marbofloxacin. We used this with Minner’s mom to resolve aspiration pneumonia ( a concern when medicating with liquids or syringe feeding altho we think she got it from being under anesthesia after diagnostic scans). Also used for upper respiratory crap with her. Last resort drug. All of this is commentary based on my personal experience, I’m not qualified to diagnose or recommend meds!

Cmon Jude! Let’s eat some yummy.
Thanks for this input, Laura. Since posting above, Jude has eaten quite a bit more food--almost 3/4 of a 3 oz. tin. He did get up and walk over to the water bowl and sat and stared for a while, but then walked over to the food bowl and ate. I think he's still nauseous, hence the sitting and staring. He is eating at this very moment.

The last dose of Ondanestron and Mirataz was about 11 p.m. last night. I'm going to skip the dose this morning, since he's eating now.

I'm will check with the vet tomorrow about alternatives to Clavamox. I'm hoping that once he gets the Clavamox out of his system, things will return to normal.

Since typing this, Jude has eaten an entire 3 oz. tin.
 
HI Mary,
I'm sorry Jude wasn't eating and surfing low. Luckily you're there to look after him and get him through this. He's a lucky boy to have a mama like you 🥰❤️

Glad he's doing better now. As for his water intake I wouldn't be completely surprised if it had something to do with the kibble. Both my boys used to drink water when they ate the kibble (pre-diagnosis). But now that they both eat soft food the only water they drink is the one I add to their meals. I'm curious to see what other memebers think.

🤗❤️🥰🐱🐾😍✨
 
Hmmm, i'd guess that the drinking is maybe due to the kibble if no other symptoms or increases in BG (his numbers are looking good). Xander's stopping of drinking perfectly coincided with his switch to all wet food.

I'm wondering if his improvement with antibiotics could be due to anti-inflammatory properties of the antibiotics? I'm definitely not a doctor/pharmacist who understands how those drugs work, but from past research when I had some urinary issues going on, I found a lot of anecdotal evidence of people with negative cultures sometimes temporarily improving after using antibiotics.
 
Hmmm, i'd guess that the drinking is maybe due to the kibble if no other symptoms or increases in BG (his numbers are looking good). Xander's stopping of drinking perfectly coincided with his switch to all wet food.

I'm wondering if his improvement with antibiotics could be due to anti-inflammatory properties of the antibiotics? I'm definitely not a doctor/pharmacist who understands how those drugs work, but from past research when I had some urinary issues going on, I found a lot of anecdotal evidence of people with negative cultures sometimes temporarily improving after using antibiotics.
I've read that the anti-inflammatory properties of abs could have an affect on why his bg improves when he's on them, so, yes, that's definitely a possibility. Thanks for mentioning this, Albert.
 
Hi Mary, I’m so sorry you had a rough time with Jude not eating. It’s so tricky to give insulin when they don't feel well.

I’m glad he ate for you today and hope he continues to improve now that the AB is done.
Wishing you much calmer night ahead. Sending vines for a good appetite and a calm night 🍃🍃🍃🍃🍃💖💖💖:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top