11/23 Gumung amps 113, +2 74, +5 86, +8 99, pmps 95, +2 84, +5 93

so crazy... when you click on your spreadsheet, all those blacks, reds, and pinks at the top.

Then you scroll down through this year of perfect greens and blues. It's beautiful! :D:cool::cool::D

You either got an easier cat than the rest of us, or just really good at managing it, or both! LOL Whatever it is, nice work! :)
 
Like Jason/Kona, I am also extremely impressed. I would love to be able to shoot at such low numbers but I am terrified of hypo. I have very recently started getting a little more aggressive … otherwise we’ll stay in the yellows forever.

The drastic changes scare me. I see places where Gunung drops by 200 and even 250 within a few hours. How do you shoot at numbers close to 100 or even 80?? Why does it not seem to drop with these big swings like it does at the higher pre-shot numbers? I am getting some courage from you and what the data shows. I don’t understand why it doesn’t swing down as much with low pre-shot numbers but the data is the data and I need to stop reducing the dose when Minner actually is showing good lower numbers. Thank you!!
 
so crazy... when you click on your spreadsheet, all those blacks, reds, and pinks at the top.

Then you scroll down through this year of perfect greens and blues. It's beautiful! :D:cool::cool::D

You either got an easier cat than the rest of us, or just really good at managing it, or both! LOL Whatever it is, nice work! :)

Thank you Jason, I am still learning to control Gumung’s diabetes. If you look at the 2022 spread sheet, it looks more crazy with so high numbers for long time.
He was controlled and OTJ for about a year and 4 month but somehow ( I believe i know now, I was out of town and I believe he ate some high calorie food from other cat (sister) :banghead:
From then, he was on insulin again. I am no good at managing but I believe I am lucky to have very chill cat :D:D
Your works on her spread sheet is amazing too! How many times do you feed her? When you test, I see you test +2, +4,+6 +8 so on, do you feed her after the test?
 
Last edited:
Like Jason/Kona, I am also extremely impressed. I would love to be able to shoot at such low numbers but I am terrified of hypo. I have very recently started getting a little more aggressive … otherwise we’ll stay in the yellows forever.

The drastic changes scare me. I see places where Gunung drops by 200 and even 250 within a few hours. How do you shoot at numbers close to 100 or even 80?? Why does it not seem to drop with these big swings like it does at the higher pre-shot numbers? I am getting some courage from you and what the data shows. I don’t understand why it doesn’t swing down as much with low pre-shot numbers but the data is the data and I need to stop reducing the dose when Minner actually is showing good lower numbers. Thank you!!

me too, i was so scared to shoot at such a low number around 2022 when he was right before remission. But whole forum community helped me through. Gumung couldn’t be at this point without this forum. Before I found this community, i went to 3 other bets and they couldn’t make his diabetes in control. When I showed this method TR, they straight told me not to follow. :facepalm::facepalm:
but anyway, your spreadsheet looking good too! Minner’s number is showing more blues!!!
Ps. Minner’s belly is sooo cute!
 
me too, i was so scared to shoot at such a low number around 2022 when he was right before remission. But whole forum community helped me through. Gumung couldn’t be at this point without this forum. Before I found this community, i went to 3 other bets and they couldn’t make his diabetes in control. When I showed this method TR, they straight told me not to follow. :facepalm::facepalm:
but anyway, your spreadsheet looking good too! Minner’s number is showing more blues!!!
Ps. Minner’s belly is sooo cute!
Your story is inspirational. Yes agree on this forum. So much helpful information and caring smart people. Plus, access to a platform to interact with others working to manage their kitty’s diabetes.

My vet also does not seem versed on TR and frankly has never used Lantus with any of his patients. He doesn’t think it works, but he supports me and this journey. He told me 5 months ago when Minner was diagnosed, that this is a marathon, not a sprint. I have been concerned that he may be right about Lantus because Minner has this high flat curve for months (high meaning yellow here). But then I see how it has worked for GuMung and what you went through to get him to such a well managed place. :D
I also want to know Jason’s feeding routine for Kona. I free feed Minner multiple bowls of fancy feast classics pate. She does most of her eating right after I put out the new food, usually at +2. Then she will nibble at the bowls once or twice later in the cycle. She does get an Applaws tuna loin right after her shot and a fancy feast chicken treat after each blood glucose ear prick check (i also use relion meter). It looks like you feed GuMung at time you shoot and then a snack an hour later? I will do that too if I can get Minner to lower numbers like GuMung. I feed at +2 to hopefully smooth her BG level since Lantus takes that initial time to absorb.

Do you inject GuMung in same area all the time? I am curious if you rotate areas.

I’ll keep following and learning!
 
Your story is inspirational. Yes agree on this forum. So much helpful information and caring smart people. Plus, access to a platform to interact with others working to manage their kitty’s diabetes.

My vet also does not seem versed on TR and frankly has never used Lantus with any of his patients. He doesn’t think it works, but he supports me and this journey. He told me 5 months ago when Minner was diagnosed, that this is a marathon, not a sprint. I have been concerned that he may be right about Lantus because Minner has this high flat curve for months (high meaning yellow here). But then I see how it has worked for GuMung and what you went through to get him to such a well managed place. :D
I also want to know Jason’s feeding routine for Kona. I free feed Minner multiple bowls of fancy feast classics pate. She does most of her eating right after I put out the new food, usually at +2. Then she will nibble at the bowls once or twice later in the cycle. She does get an Applaws tuna loin right after her shot and a fancy feast chicken treat after each blood glucose ear prick check (i also use relion meter). It looks like you feed GuMung at time you shoot and then a snack an hour later? I will do that too if I can get Minner to lower numbers like GuMung. I feed at +2 to hopefully smooth her BG level since Lantus takes that initial time to absorb.

Do you inject GuMung in same area all the time? I am curious if you rotate areas.

I’ll keep following and learning!

Wow I wish I could free feed Gumung. If I do that he will just eat everything at once. I feed him after each test.
For the shot spots, I tried go around neck area but he runs away if i try new place other than neck. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm:
 
@MinnerPip @Dkshin89

Kona is fed twice a day, with the shot... anywhere from 3-5 ounces of food.

I only give snacks when she get's low 60s or when it's getting late and I want to see her go up quicker so I can go to bed.

I have like 10 different types of foods Kona likes to eat and I will use varying carb'd foods based on how much I want to increase.

Automatic feeders are crucial for managing Kona. She has a spare bedroom where I have the automatic feeders, a litterbox and a web cam where I monitor her just like a baby.

I try to note that in my spreadsheet, so I can try to predict what works or not in future cycles.

upload_2024-11-25_19-54-59.png



Overall, sometimes it works... and sometimes, she does her own thing and I'm just along for the ride. ha ha
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-25_19-54-59.png
    upload_2024-11-25_19-54-59.png
    20.9 KB · Views: 106
@MinnerPip @Dkshin89

Kona is fed twice a day, with the shot... anywhere from 3-5 ounces of food.

I only give snacks when she get's low 60s or when it's getting late and I want to see her go up quicker so I can go to bed.

I have like 10 different types of foods Kona likes to eat and I will use varying carb'd foods based on how much I want to increase.

Automatic feeders are crucial for managing Kona. She has a spare bedroom where I have the automatic feeders, a litterbox and a web cam where I monitor her just like a baby.

I try to note that in my spreadsheet, so I can try to predict what works or not in future cycles.

View attachment 71548


Overall, sometimes it works... and sometimes, she does her own thing and I'm just along for the ride. ha ha
This is great info and insight. I am also in awe at the comfort with green. I panic and then feed some 12% FF b/c I’m scared to shoot below 140 or so and it gets really hard to manage if we have to delay a dose and don’t stay on 12 hour schedule. I’m leaning in a little at a time. Minner was a dry food junkie until a month ago. It took a long 4 months to convert her.
 
@MinnerPip @Dkshin89

Kona is fed twice a day, with the shot... anywhere from 3-5 ounces of food.

I only give snacks when she get's low 60s or when it's getting late and I want to see her go up quicker so I can go to bed.

I have like 10 different types of foods Kona likes to eat and I will use varying carb'd foods based on how much I want to increase.

Automatic feeders are crucial for managing Kona. She has a spare bedroom where I have the automatic feeders, a litterbox and a web cam where I monitor her just like a baby.

I try to note that in my spreadsheet, so I can try to predict what works or not in future cycles.

View attachment 71548


Overall, sometimes it works... and sometimes, she does her own thing and I'm just along for the ride. ha ha

Separate room with automatic feeder and monitor is a great idea! I recently changed my automatic feeder so it’s more accurate on timing and if he leaves some food, then it closes so he doesn’t eat from +8 until amps. He hates it and scratches all morning.
:facepalm:
I am very surprised that she only feed twice. She doesn’t beg for food during the day? Gumung gets to 8 times through out the day, except 3 o clock in the morning with auto
feeder.
Even with 8 times of feeding he is hungry for more :)
 
Back
Top