11/23 Boo Kitty AMPS 452 + vomiting

Adam Roberts

Member Since 2020
Morning all. BK AMPS today of 452 (typical for last few weeks), but last night's PMPS was quite high -- 11/22 PMPS 683. This is combined with new vomiting last PM and today AM. His morning AMPS have all been consistently high but PMPS been all over the place. I assume this is b/c of some combo of depot and bouncing? Thoughts on raising to 5U? I'm worried about vomiting and wondering if he needs to go in to vet as a result.

Prev thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-21-boo-kitty-amps-487-2-361-4u.238911/#post-2684204
 
Hi! I don't give dosing advice but per your spreadsheet you are following SLGS. On SLGS you hold the dose for 7 days (14 cycles) unless a reduction is earned and then do a curve to determine next steps. Since you had a skip, it looks like you are on cycle 5 of 14 (tonight will be cycle 6).

And, if/when you raise the dose, you'll raise by 0.25 (or maybe by 0.5 since you're at 4u...) - in either case, I'd ask for help from the more experienced folks before making changes.

I'm sorry about the vomiting...I do not have the experience to say if that's related to blood glucose or something else.

Do you know how to edit your title to add the "?" from the drop-down? Pick thread tools from the top of your condo and pick the "?" from the drop-down on the left. This will help people scanning the board see you have a question. Once your question is answered, you can edit and remove the "?".

I'll tag those who stopped by yesterday to see if they can stop by again - @tiffmaxee @Vyktors Mum
 
These kitties seem to be prone to pancreatitis. I would call your vet and if you do bring him in asl them to run a SpecFPL test for pancreatitis as well as whatever they suggest. The depot needs to fill after the skip. With these high numbers are you checking for ketones? Did he have DKA or ketones when diagnosed?
 
What is your feeding schedule for BK? Some cats, if they go too long between food can throw up. I noticed it's bile that you saw.

And no, he doesn't get an increase to 5 units. You have seen blue on this dose (149), which with SLGS would mean possibly holding the dose or at most increasing to 4.25 units. But I'd like to see a couple more cycles of data before any possible increase. The skip 3 night ago drained the depot, which can take six cycles to build back again - today is cycle 5 since then.
 
You definitely don’t want to raise by a whole unit to 5U, it was only a couple of days ago you got a blue number on 4U that you weren’t comfortable shooting, and that may not have been the lowest BK got to that day. The next night looks like BK my have gone lower than he’s used to as well as yesterday looks like a bounce. Next time BK is ready for an increase or a reduction it will likely be a .25U change (have you got syringes or are you using a pen?) but I’d hang on to the 4U dose for now (under either dosing method) and keep collecting data.

Can you please add some extra info to your signature too - date of dx, meter and insulin type, type of food fed (just LC wet, dry or combo is fine), SLGS if that’s what you want to follow and any other meds or medical issues. This is info we consider when giving dosing advice so it’s handy to have it all there so we don’t keep asking you the same questions over and over.
 
Back
Top