11/22 Tawny PMPS 425; + 2.5/383

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
This is higher than I would like to see but she is still eating Meow Mix Dry and S/O dry.

She did show minor interest in some chicken Friskies LC this a.m. but after about 4 bites was done w/that.

She did eat about 1/3 of her daily prescribed intake of food this a.m. Yes, the clinic actually put on her discharge pprs how much of 6 different kinds of food she should get daily, i.e., S/O I think says 1/2 cup (the ppr is upstairs, this is from memory), Meow Mix 1c., Friskies wet LC two 5.5 oz cans, etc. I thought that was pretty cool.

She is interested in food tho cuz when I shook her bowl full of Meow Mix this a.m. she came running (OK, a slow run) up the stairs to eat. A good sign.

She is drinking a lot of water plus getting a good bit syringed into her after pilling.

I got a ketone test this a.m. and it was negative. 2 sticks. 2 negatives! YAAAAAY!

Question: how to you administer insulin? Do you tent? Just poke it there, what? When Tink was first dx'd a vet showed me how to tent, then another vet eventually said I didn't have to do that, that I could just stick it in there and plunge. I asked LVRC when Tawny was discharged Sunday to show me the proper way; the tech had a syringe w/some saline in it and showed me to tent, then insert the needle, then she said she kind of "feels" to see if it is in there and then let me feel it, and then gives the injection. But when I do that it feels kind of like it is in between the skin, not under the skin, I am such a moron when it comes to these medical things, and it is so important that Tawny be getting the right amount of insulin and properly.

So what is the proper way?

Thanks for any input.

Desi
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Hi guys .. so nice to read that tawny came "running" for fuds! I know it was a slow run, but a run nonetheless right? All these little improvements make us so happy .. I can't really help with the shooting technique, I always held mocha and peter always did the shooting .. have a great day!
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

I don't tent, per se. First, Gabby is a short hair and this may make a difference because I can actually see what I'm doing. (This is important since I shoot while she's eating.) I shoot around the shoulder area. I pull up on the skin and that creates a space between the skin and muscle. I shoot into the space. I can usually feel a slight "pop" as the needle pierces the skin. I'd be concerned about not pulling up on the skin to create a pocket because otherwise, you could be shooting into the muscle. (This would be an IM - intramuscular - shot vs. a sub-q shot.)
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

KT's got very long fuzzy hair like Tawny's with a full undercoat. When I was learning to shoot, I used a wet cotton ball to move the hair away from the skin so I could see it easily. THEN I could SEE if it was in then shoot. The only drawback is that you can't feel wet if you do a fur shot...BUT if it's not one of the 'N' insulins, you can smell a furshot. I tent most of the time as it's easier for me. Now that his heavier winter undercoat is growing in, it's even harder to see the skin target so I may need to go back to the cotton ball.

Tawny baby - u iz SO bootiful!

Hugs Deanie,
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Hi Desi. First time I stabbed my finger, tenting, I found it better to pull up the skin by grabbing hair, and shooting into the skin.

It's so nice to hear that Tawny's eating, and whoopee on negative ketones. :smile:
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Barb & Sienne described the way i always shot.

and man...how great to hear she came running!
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Attie has long hair and I blow on it to see the target area. Pull up a little on the fur to tent and then shoot at the base of the tent.

So glad Tawny is starting to feel better.
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Rusty has long hair, too, and I do what Beth does. I finally learned how to avoid fur shots (anit jinx): by pulling up the hair at or near the scruff (I used to try to shoot Rusty on his side, behind the shoulder, which was where I shot Stu, who had short hair, but I could never find Rusty's skin there; his fur was too long!)

Continuing to send lots of healing and eating vines to Tawny. It's great that she's home.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Barb & Checkers said:
Hi Desi. First time I stabbed my finger, tenting, I found it better to pull up the skin by grabbing hair, and shooting into the skin.

That's it, every time I tent, I feel like I'm going to stab my finger!
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

OH, you are asking for shooting technique!

The subject line says Hooting technique. I was going to explain my hooting with the owls and how that means it's difficult to soar with the eagles the next day. ...... *cough*. ... ok, I'll go away now.
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny PMPS 425; +2.5/383

I dunno what is going on w/her #s. I have been hooting the way the vet tech at the clinic showed me, or at least I thought I was, but it doesn't seem to be working. I opened a new pen when Tawny came home and this is a fairly new box of insulin so I don't think it's the insulin. She is still eating the S/O and the Meow Mix and still "running" to me at the sound of it shaking in the bowl. She actually picked at her LC chicken Friskies a little tonight, too, then went back to the S/O.

I am beginning to think there is s/thg wrong w/the way I am tenting b/c her # should not be this high even on the dry food. So tonight I just went back to the old "just poke it in there and shoot" technique one of the local vets told me to do and look how far her BG came down in 2.5 hrs.

I am going to try this pull up on the fur and shoot into the "pocket" technique in the morning. When I tent it's like I am shooting into the layers of skin instead of under the skin.

So if I understand this correctly the shot should be administered into the "pocket" in between the skin and the muscle, not into the layers of skin or into the muscle? Is that right? What happens if it accidentally gets shot into the muscle?
 
Re: 11/22 Tawny AMPS 321 & Hooting Technique ?

Cini Mini's Mom said:
OH, you are asking for shooting technique!

The subject line says Hooting technique. I was going to explain my hooting with the owls and how that means it's difficult to soar with the eagles the next day. ...... *cough*. ... ok, I'll go away now.

LOL! Goes to show you just how old I am...I mean how much of an "oldie" I am, being unfamiliar w/what I still call "this new board" that's been around for what, now, over 2 yrs?

Guess I'm just not familiar with the "new" lingo...we always called it "hooting" way back in the old days!

I'll try to get up to speed...

ROTFLOL!

P.S. my battery on my laptop is almost dead and I left my cord at THS (that horrible store) so I may get kicked off here any minute & I'll see you all tomorrow if I do!

Desi
 
Because of his long hair, I used the "pull the fur" method for BigMac. He posed for me so I could show how I hoot. :lol: You can see his skin and that is where I poked.

shootingtechnique1.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top