11/22 Ivy Amps 212, +3 220, +6 296, +9 259, Pmps 212, +3 167 Libre

11/21/24
Amps 212 Libre

Lots of yellow and some blue on the Libre since our vet appointment on Tuesday where we reduced dose and skipped a dose. I’m hoping she’s just recalibrating and not settled on these numbers. Would love to see a little bit lower numbers.

Still waiting to hear from the vet for lab results.

Hope everyone has a good day:cat:
Hi Staci.
I hope Ivy comes down and shows you those beautiful blue and green very soon.
Come on Ivy and slide down! :cat:
Wishing you a nice day and Ivy a safe surf!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
upload_2024-11-22_15-27-21.jpeg


:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-11-22_15-27-21.jpeg
    upload_2024-11-22_15-27-21.jpeg
    36.2 KB · Views: 70
Hi Staci,

we are sending good vibes Ivy comes down gently again. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Maybe today is the famous high before the low? I hope she does it gently so you can sleep tonight without libre alarm. And I hope you get the lab results before the weekend starts. Not nice to wait.... I keep my fingers crossed for good results! :kiss:
 
Hi Staci,

we are sending good vibes Ivy comes down gently again. :bighug::bighug::bighug: Maybe today is the famous high before the low? I hope she does it gently so you can sleep tonight without libre alarm. And I hope you get the lab results before the weekend starts. Not nice to wait.... I keep my fingers crossed for good results! :kiss:
Ok Heike, we are ready for her to break a bounce. Or whatever. She needs to come on down now.
Guess we wait and see, right? :facepalm:

I did hear back from the vet this afternoon and he said the labs looked pretty good except the T4 only came down to 4.4 from 4.5 so just a tiny movement but not much. He wants to keep her on the dose and check her in another six or so weeks because he thinks clinically she’s doing OK and he thinks that maybe we just have to live with certain things because she has so many complications. He’s always asking me about her overall situation, her weight or eating or peeing or drinking. And there’s the diabetes of course so there’s a lot of factors as he sees it.
I’ll discuss this all with the nutritionist next week as well and see what she thinks.

I was hoping for a little bit better news and maybe I may just have to accept she’s just gonna be higher with the T4. I don’t know. I guess we’ll have to see again in six weeks what is thinking is then.

I’m still waiting for his office to send me a copy of the labs so I can look at everything
Thank you for asking and for your good wishes. I really appreciate it.

I hope Binie is doing well today and I hope she’s doing OK after her lows of last night :cool::D

Have a calm night. I’m sure you can use a good rest tonight after last night’s action.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I was hoping for a little bit better news and maybe I may just have to accept she’s just gonna be higher with the T4. I don’t know. I guess we’ll have to see again in six weeks what is thinking is then.
I just read about the T4 results coming down a smidge. Please try and not get too upset.
Who knows maybe when you go back in 6 weeks it might improve . :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok Heike, we are ready for her to break a bounce. Or whatever. She needs to come on down now.
Guess we wait and see, right? :facepalm:

I did hear back from the vet this afternoon and he said the labs looked pretty good except the T4 only came down to 4.4 from 4.5 so just a tiny movement but not much. He wants to keep her on the dose and check her in another six or so weeks because he thinks clinically she’s doing OK and he thinks that maybe we just have to live with certain things because she has so many complications. He’s always asking me about her overall situation, her weight or eating or peeing or drinking. And there’s the diabetes of course so there’s a lot of factors as he sees it.
I’ll discuss this all with the nutritionist next week as well and see what she thinks.

I was hoping for a little bit better news and maybe I may just have to accept she’s just gonna be higher with the T4. I don’t know. I guess we’ll have to see again in six weeks what is thinking is then.

I’m still waiting for his office to send me a copy of the labs so I can look at everything
Thank you for asking and for your good wishes. I really appreciate it.

I hope Binie is doing well today and I hope she’s doing OK after her lows of last night :cool::D

Have a calm night. I’m sure you can use a good rest tonight after last night’s action.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh ((((Staci)))), I can imagine you are disappointed about the T4 results. I also thought there would be a bigger movement in the "right" direction. I like how your vet is asking about her overall condition. My vet always says "We are treating cats - not lab results." And she is doing so well at the moment and having no clinical signs is great. And as Diane said, maybe in six weeks it is different. Or the numbers are the same but she can cope well with it. So good you are talking about it with the holistic vet. I am sure that all the care you give her with the healthy food and the supplements help her to cope with all her issues.

I don't know if I should keep my fingers crossed for a calm night or some action. Some blue and dark green numbers would be nice. Go Ivy, go! :cool::D:cool:

I think tonight it needs a bear hug.

images
 
Staci, I'm so sorry that the T4 results weren't what you had hoped for. But I like what Heike's vet said about "treating the cat, not the lab results." Ivy doesn't know or care what her T4 results are, she's just happy to be living the good life with you! And it is a very, very, very good life.

Hugs to you and skritches to sweet Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I am sorry to read that the T4 is not as much down as you were hoping, but she does not have symptoms and she's doing well, and her diabetes is regulated or almost, so I hope you do not feel too sad. Who knows where she will be in 6 weeks! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Staci you do such an amazing job with Ivy—maybe she just wants you to sleep more. In humans lab work often looks ok even if the patient is getting worse, then looks worse even as the patient is getting better—the labs can lag how the patient is doing. As said by Binie’s vet, i always tell patients im treating them and not their lab work.
I hope she’s soon exactly where she needs to be and in the meantime sends hugs and best wishes
 
Oh ((((Staci)))), I can imagine you are disappointed about the T4 results. I also thought there would be a bigger movement in the "right" direction. I like how your vet is asking about her overall condition. My vet always says "We are treating cats - not lab results." And she is doing so well at the moment and having no clinical signs is great. And as Diane said, maybe in six weeks it is different. Or the numbers are the same but she can cope well with it. So good you are talking about it with the holistic vet. I am sure that all the care you give her with the healthy food and the supplements help her to cope with all her issues.

I don't know if I should keep my fingers crossed for a calm night or some action. Some blue and dark green numbers would be nice. Go Ivy, go! :cool::D:cool:

I think tonight it needs a bear hug.

images
Thank you Heike, for everything you said. And especially for the big bear hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I want to trust the vet but I worry so much about the labs. I always feel like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop :(

I know so many of us are in the same situation and we can all relate to these overwhelming feelings and emotions.
Thank you so much for your support :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I'm so sorry that the T4 results weren't what you had hoped for. But I like what Heike's vet said about "treating the cat, not the lab results." Ivy doesn't know or care what her T4 results are, she's just happy to be living the good life with you! And it is a very, very, very good life.

Hugs to you and skritches to sweet Ivy :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Karen. We all just want to do the best we can for our very sweet babies. I know you understand. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Staci, I am sorry to read that the T4 is not as much down as you were hoping, but she does not have symptoms and she's doing well, and her diabetes is regulated or almost, so I hope you do not feel too sad. Who knows where she will be in 6 weeks! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you for all the good reminders, Cecile. You’re so sweet to offer such nice support.

We have to keep hopeful for a recheck in January. Paws crossed :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Staci you do such an amazing job with Ivy—maybe she just wants you to sleep more. In humans lab work often looks ok even if the patient is getting worse, then looks worse even as the patient is getting better—the labs can lag how the patient is doing. As said by Binie’s vet, i always tell patients im treating them and not their lab work.
I hope she’s soon exactly where she needs to be and in the meantime sends hugs and best wishes
You’re so kind, Colleen. Thank you for giving the medical perspective. It’s very helpful and I thank you.
As you especially know, we just keep trying. I think you are the most dedicated person I know giving Methos 1 million percent of your heart and soul. So I know you get it.
Sending you back those hugs and best wishes :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Just catching up, sorry to see Ivy was only marginally lower on her thyroid test. Completely understandable to be disappointed, especially knowing too how much stress is involved in you getting Miss Ivy to the vet. But as I believe I’ve said before, they are more than their numbers :bighug:
 
Just catching up, sorry to see Ivy was only marginally lower on her thyroid test. Completely understandable to be disappointed, especially knowing too how much stress is involved in you getting Miss Ivy to the vet. But as I believe I’ve said before, they are more than their numbers :bighug:
Thanks, Christie. You’re right. It’s such a huge deal to just take her in for the whole ordeal. Makes it all so much of a big thing :bighug::bighug:
 
11/21/24
Amps 212 Libre

Lots of yellow and some blue on the Libre since our vet appointment on Tuesday where we reduced dose and skipped a dose. I’m hoping she’s just recalibrating and not settled on these numbers. Would love to see a little bit lower numbers.

Still waiting to hear from the vet for lab results.

Hope everyone has a good day:cat:
Hi Staci.
I'm sorry to hear. I just read that you received Ivy's lab work results. I know how stressful and disappointed you feel about her T4 levels only coming down slightly.
Sending you hugs. Paws crossed. Keep hopeful for the recheck.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
A thought just occurred to me, and I don’t know how close you are to a major city, or how Ivy does with people she doesn’t know. But I looked into mobile vets when I was trying to find someone who would come give methos his insulin injections in the beginning because I was afraid I wasn’t doing it correctly since nothing was working. They wouldn’t come to do injections mostly because I live in a area that you have to go up a grade to get there and people just don’t drive up the grade if they don’t have to so they weren’t coming. But you should try googling mobile vets or something like that and see if there is something like that, especially since I think you ship your blood to a different doctor or maybe a I’m misremembering, but you could maybe have them come and draw her blood at your house which would at least , be a little less stressful she wouldn’t have to go in the car. You wouldn’t have to worry about taking her insulin dose down because you’d be right at home and you could just feed her— Anyway, it’s a thought
 
A thought just occurred to me, and I don’t know how close you are to a major city, or how Ivy does with people she doesn’t know. But I looked into mobile vets when I was trying to find someone who would come give methos his insulin injections in the beginning because I was afraid I wasn’t doing it correctly since nothing was working. They wouldn’t come to do injections mostly because I live in a area that you have to go up a grade to get there and people just don’t drive up the grade if they don’t have to so they weren’t coming. But you should try googling mobile vets or something like that and see if there is something like that, especially since I think you ship your blood to a different doctor or maybe a I’m misremembering, but you could maybe have them come and draw her blood at your house which would at least , be a little less stressful she wouldn’t have to go in the car. You wouldn’t have to worry about taking her insulin dose down because you’d be right at home and you could just feed her— Anyway, it’s a thought
That’s a very good thought, Colleen.
Ivy doesn’t do well with anyone handling her. She won’t even let my son who lives with us touch her.
She’s never behaved at the vet pretty much her whole life. It’s been an issue.
So I don’t think it matters whether it would be here or at the vet’s office.
*Of course, here might be a bit less stressful for her at home.

Part of the reason I reduce the dose the night before the vet visit is because I’m fasting her and I don’t want her to dive overnight and not be able to give food.

And it’s the same thing the morning of the blood draw. I’m fasting her so can’t give her any food.

A month ago I tried giving her half of a dose the morning of the vet visit and she was diving very low while I was at the vet and it was not a great situation so I’d like to try to avoid that again.

It seems with Ivy insulin with no food is not a good combination.

I did send some of the blood to Hemopet but for now we are sticking to using my vet’s regular Antech lab for regular bloodwork. (Plus the blood if drawn at home still has to be prepared for a lab).

I think for most cats home visit is awesome and it probably would be for Ivy too, but I would still have to follow the same protocols one way or the other.

Thank you for the great thoughts and it is definitely something I will keep in the back of my mind because I think it’s a really good option Colleen :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
seems with Ivy insulin with no food is not a good combination.
Not a good combination for any cat or man. Well, I hope Ivy gets her numbers back in the right place soon. I know worrying about their blood sugar while at the vet is very stressful. I have the same problem with meat those because he needs to have his blood drawn at in theory his nadir And the last time he had a stem test I essentially moved in. I had all of his food all of his testing supplies and we just camped in the office for 2 1/2 hours not good
 
Back
Top