11/22, Gus, AMPS 245, +5.5 189, +9.75 239 PMPS 236, +3 283

Will you be able to get any mid-cycle tests? Looks like last night and pre-shot times he's still in the yellows...maybe daytime is better for him? I sure hope he gets a move on soon. You're still on SLGS - any chance of switching to TR for a short time, just to see if you can bump this insulin up sooner than a week...??
 
@Sue and Luci

Hi Sue, we got a blue! Yay! 189 @5.5

I’m not sure if I was talking to you but I really do like the TR protocol, it was my first choice but it makes me nervous a bit, I’ve shot low before but that was when he was on 1unit.. not 2+ units. I also worry with the holidays approaching and leaving the house (which I don’t do much these days - covid turned me into a hobbit ;) - thought maybe it wasn’t a good time to start.

With that said, we might be close-ish to the right dose and maybe we can sort it out and find that perfect dose before then…

I still need to think about it BUT how would I get started on it? As of today we’ve already completed 5 cycles on 2.5. Would we increase tomorrow’s AM shot up to 2.75? Any and all suggestions/info welcomed

I honestly need to re read the protocol before I make any decisions, I read it before but when I decided on SLGS, I’ve been focusing on that.

I think there’s a minimum of 4 tests which I’m already doing.. I’m sure there would need to be more to get to know the new dose and if he stays getting greens. Strips are not cheap up North, haha - I’ll do anything for him tho.

Just another note on testing, he’s getting a little bit antsy these last few days with it. We are in our alternate testing spot because the bathroom is currently being Reno’d - hoping that will be done in about a week.

I must get back to work but I’ll read the protocol when I get a chance and make a decision hopefully soon.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sue, we got a blue! Yay! 189 @5.5
YEAHHHHHH! He's making progress! Hopefully he'll go a tad lower today before the duration of the Lantus runs out.

I also worry with the holidays approaching and leaving the house (which I don’t do much these days - covid turned me into a hobbit ;) - thought maybe it wasn’t a good time to start.
I love the idea of starting during the holidays - if that allows you to be home a bit more you could increase as soon as you're ready.

I think there’s a minimum of 4 tests which I’m already doing.. I’m sure there would need to be more to get to know the new dose and if he stays getting greens. Strips are not cheap up North, haha - I’ll do anything for him tho.

It's not so much about doing a certain number of tests per day - it's the ability to do tests when his declining numbers indicate that more tests are needed. There are days when Luci is just loafing, so even though we're on TR, I don't usually test her for the sake of testing.

Just another note on testing, he’s getting a little bit antsy these last few days with it. We are in our alternate testing spot because the bathroom is currently being Reno’d - hoping that will be done in about a week.

Yes, I had to test Luci in the laundry room today because we had a guy repairing flooring for us - and :rolleyes: using a noisy saw to cut wood with! Luci doesn't go for loud noises! But I just brought all her supplies including her familiar testing towel and laid it out on the dryer and rested my chest on her to assure her that everything was the 'same as usual'...we managed to get through it. Just try to use as much of the same of everything as you can and assure him that it'll be ok...and hopefully the usual spot will be freed up soon :)

I must get back to work but I’ll read the protocol when I get a chance and make a decision hopefully soon.

The biggest difference in TR is 1)No dry food at all and 2)You can change the dose more frequently. As often as every 3 days.
There's more and I'm sure once you've had a chance to read through a few times you'll get it all...but the most important points to take away are the two I've mentioned.
 
YEAHHHHHH! He's making progress! Hopefully he'll go a tad lower today before the duration of the Lantus runs out.


I love the idea of starting during the holidays - if that allows you to be home a bit more you could increase as soon as you're ready.



It's not so much about doing a certain number of tests per day - it's the ability to do tests when his declining numbers indicate that more tests are needed. There are days when Luci is just loafing, so even though we're on TR, I don't usually test her for the sake of testing.



Yes, I had to test Luci in the laundry room today because we had a guy repairing flooring for us - and :rolleyes: using a noisy saw to cut wood with! Luci doesn't go for loud noises! But I just brought all her supplies including her familiar testing towel and laid it out on the dryer and rested my chest on her to assure her that everything was the 'same as usual'...we managed to get through it. Just try to use as much of the same of everything as you can and assure him that it'll be ok...and hopefully the usual spot will be freed up soon :)



The biggest difference in TR is 1)No dry food at all and 2)You can change the dose more frequently. As often as every 3 days.
There's more and I'm sure once you've had a chance to read through a few times you'll get it all...but the most important points to take away are the two I've mentioned.

Thanks Sue!

Actually the issue about the holidays is that I will be away more than I am now. I work from home atm, so im always home but come closer to the holidays I will be out of the house for a longer amounts of time during the day or into the late evening. Folks are separated which means double the amount visits.

So Gus is on a complete wet food diet… but there are some days (maybe once a week maybe not even once a week) where I need to coax him to eat his wet .. I quite literally put 4 kibbles of Dr. Elseys chicken beside his dish and for whatever reason he will grab one then eat his wet, then grab another, etc. Would that be an issue? 4 kibbles once a week (maybe)?

I’m going to have a read on TR, like I said, later today… and I’ll get back ASAP. Unfortunately we are doing Reno’s ourselves and tonight is tile grout night so I will do my best. Maybe I’ll read and ponder over grout :)
 
Congrats on being in the blues. Those low numbers will come soon as you increase and find his ideal dose but I'm not sure the ideal dose remains constant. It can change. Anyway, enjoy the success. He is making progress. At least you aren't contending with pinks or reds at the moment.
 
Congrats on being in the blues. Those low numbers will come soon as you increase and find his ideal dose but I'm not sure the ideal dose remains constant. It can change. Anyway, enjoy the success. He is making progress. At least you aren't contending with pinks or reds at the moment.

Thanks Gina. He gets the occasional blue and pink some days so far… hoping with the depot build up on this new dose, I might see a few more blues.

Your comment makes a good argument that leans towards TR protocol… which I’m currently debating if I should switch to in my head …

In my ideal world, I hoping for ‘the perfect dose’ but you might be right, depending on the cat, that just might not be a thing.
 
Last edited:
Thanks Gina. He gets the occasional blue and pink some days so far… hoping with the depot build up on this new dose, I might see a few more blues.

Your comment makes a good argument that leans towards TR protocol… which I’m currently debating if I should which to in my head …

In my ideal world, I hoping for ‘the perfect dose’ but you might be right, depending on the cat, that just might not be a thing.
I can't switch Bama Kitty to TR because he still gets kibble. Every time I think I might be able to wean him, he won't eat his Fancy Feast LC and I end up giving him more Dr. Elsey's kibble than I would like. I think his last dose reduction came too quickly on the heels of the previous one. He has been on 5u for 8 cycles and other than the first night has spent most of his time split between yellow and pink. Not good for progress. He wasn't on 5.5u long enough to get a good idea of how he would do since reducing from 6u. So, unless there is drastic change, come Thanksgiving evening or so, he gets an increase to 5.5.
 
I can't switch Bama Kitty to TR because he still gets kibble. Every time I think I might be able to wean him, he won't eat his Fancy Feast LC and I end up giving him more Dr. Elsey's kibble than I would like. I think his last dose reduction came too quickly on the heels of the previous one. He has been on 5u for 8 cycles and other than the first night has spent most of his time split between yellow and pink. Not good for progress. He wasn't on 5.5u long enough to get a good idea of how he would do since reducing from 6u. So, unless there is drastic change, come Thanksgiving evening or so, he gets an increase to 5.5.

Ugh. Kibble addicts :) I have tried to change my old girl Ruby (my civie) to all wet as well and while most of the time she is ok with it there are just some days she will put her head up high and not eat until she gets her crunchies. This is the main reason I have dr Elseys on hand.

As for Gus, he only sometimes will not want to eat wet.. maybe once a week or once every two weeks.. I end up giving him only 4 kibbles next to his dish which makes him eat his wet no problem. I’m not sure if this would be a probably with us moving to TR. it’s such a small amount and not very often.

I hope that Bama starts giving you more blues! And if not, I hope that 5.5u will give you some progress. Was he on 6u for long before you had to reduce? Maybe there’s a sweet spot in there somewhere
 
Ugh. Kibble addicts :) I have tried to change my old girl Ruby (my civie) to all wet as well and while most of the time she is ok with it there are just some days she will put her head up high and not eat until she gets her crunchies. This is the main reason I have dr Elseys on hand.

As for Gus, he only sometimes will not want to eat wet.. maybe once a week or once every two weeks.. I end up giving him only 4 kibbles next to his dish which makes him eat his wet no problem. I’m not sure if this would be a probably with us moving to TR. it’s such a small amount and not very often.

I hope that Bama starts giving you more blues! And if not, I hope that 5.5u will give you some progress. Was he on 6u for long before you had to reduce? Maybe there’s a sweet spot in there somewhere
Bama was up to 7u but I was keeping him propped up on food so he wouldn't go below 90 to earn any reductions for awhile then suddenly he had a preshot that was green so I skipped and reduced to 6.5u, then a few days later another skip, then a reduction to 6u because he dipped as low as 63. He had his best numbers on 6u, I think, but dropped to 86 mid cycle. I could have and probably should have propped him up with food but I was so enthralled with earning reductions that I let him drop and reduced him to 5u. I am enjoying my sleep but he's got to get back to better numbers.
 
Bama was up to 7u but I was keeping him propped up on food so he wouldn't go below 90 to earn any reductions for awhile then suddenly he had a preshot that was green so I skipped and reduced to 6.5u, then a few days later another skip, then a reduction to 6u because he dipped as low as 63. He had his best numbers on 6u, I think, but dropped to 86 mid cycle. I could have and probably should have propped him up with food but I was so enthralled with earning reductions that I let him drop and reduced him to 5u. I am enjoying my sleep but he's got to get back to better numbers.

Better to be safe than sorry, I think. And now you’ve had some time with those doses to prep yourself with what might come if you decide to go up.

I haven’t had to worry about sleepless nights yet, but I’m sure those are coming the higher we go. I’m a bit of a nighthawk, don’t sleep until 1am most nights and later on weekends but I do enjoy sleeping in, that’s for sure.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top