11/22 Eddie AMPS 356 +3 324 +5 135 +7 162 PMPS 418 +2 144 +3 117 +4 117 +6 234

A small note, we don't like to call it a "hypo" unless you see symptoms of a hypo. Otherwise it's just lower numbers.
 
Higher doses took him too low. You need to keep Eddie safe while at work. Should be easy explanation. Good luck.
We are at the vet who has never heard it seems of TR. He was shocked that Eddie is at 8u and that “you never told me”. Seems his feelings were hurt. I explained that so much of TR is in the moment snd I can’t call on him all the time. I printed off the SS for the last two months snd gave it to him. I can see he’s impressed that Eddie is at 8u but doesn’t know what to do with that. He agreed to look at the TR material which I’ll give him.
Eddie is having some blood work done so I’m pretty sure his BG levels will stay high enough in response to stress.
Will report on BG later today.
 
We're back from vet. Just did a test, which would be nearly +3. He's 324. I'm sure having blood drawn, etc. kept him in the high zone. I have to go out in 45 minutes but only for 1.5 hours so will be able to get back on it when I'm home again.
Phew. More on the vet...
 
We are at the vet who has never heard it seems of TR.
What!! Even the older, now retired vet who owned the clinic I went to had at least heard of the vet researcher from Queensland. And if fact mentioned it too me - at the same time as saying Caninsulin was their go to insulin. :rolleyes:

If it helps, what you are hearing from me on dosing is what I was hearing from the internal medicine vet at Colorado State University after Neko's SRT. She basically said, keep doing what you are doing, but suggested the reduction point of 70 on the human meter. She said most of the people getting SRT done are so involved in their cat's diabetes that she didn't presume to help with dosing. I liked Dr. Timian. :)
 
Now I'm back home for the rest of the day/evening. Just did a +5 135, so we are back in the blues even after being at the vet, having blood drawn and nails trimmed (and believe me, after his hypophysectomy Eddie is not a fan of the vets).

I wonder where we are going. It's like being on a bobsled run, from mountaintop to valley floor.

I think the vet was taken aback that Eddie was doing so well on 8u and the TR. He seemed really quite surprised. At the very least, he has agreed to read about TR and he has the evidence of Eddie's spreadsheet numbers to confirm the efficacy of TR. He was truly impressed, so that makes me happy so that I don't have to fight him.

What I'm hearing from you @Wendy&Neko is great and it works. That's all I know. It's often stressful but I'd prefer this rather than blindly shooting insulin with the occasional BG curve.

I'll keep posting here as I'm wanting to ensure coverage in case we go the way of last night with the big skydive drop.

Thank you, Everyone!
 
It's like being on a bobsled run, from mountaintop to valley floor.
Funny you mentioned that, had a volunteer gig at the Whistler sliding centre last weekend. Saw some interesting "road rash". Hopefully nothing you'll see in managing Eddie's blood sugar. Shooting blind after SRT is not recommended!
 
Funny you mentioned that, had a volunteer gig at the Whistler sliding centre last weekend. Saw some interesting "road rash". Hopefully nothing you'll see in managing Eddie's blood sugar. Shooting blind after SRT is not recommended!

Nothing so drastic as road rash with Eddie. Got a +7 162 so I can stop hovering for awhile. I'm just hoping that we don't have the same slide down the Matterhorn tonight. I'm pooched.
 
Ruby likes to plummet after vet visits. After the stress of being in a carrier, car, and then being handled, poked and prodded at the vet, she comes home and is like "PHEW!" and her blood sugar drops. Hopefully Eddie will be better behaved for you tonight than Ruby.
 
BTW, I'm glad your vet is impressed by Eddie's progress. Ruby's oncologist is similarly impressed with how I handle her diabetes even with the twice a day steroids, and I always say it's because of the support of the FDMB.
 
BTW, I'm glad your vet is impressed by Eddie's progress. Ruby's oncologist is similarly impressed with how I handle her diabetes even with the twice a day steroids, and I always say it's because of the support of the FDMB.
I think he’s both impressed and a little distressed as Eddie and I just turned to FDMB when it was clear we were just going to keep shooting without close scrutiny. As you probably know cats with acromegaly are diabetic as a first rule-it’s a manifestation of insulin resistance from the condition. Eddies had SRT and surgery but the vet just kept treating as if SRT wasn’t going to make a difference. In all fairness he doesn’t know acromegaly but it was hard to work around that for me.
Let’s hope Eddie snd Ruby take a night off. :cat::cat:
 
That is quite a drop. You will need to feed higher carbs to slow him down. What do you have in MC and HC?

And test again at +3.
 
Do you know the carb%?
I'm looking online for a carb calculator. I just recall being in the store and the owner telling me these were higher in carbs but I'm now concerned they aren't as high as I was led to believe!

I think the gravy is the higher of the two.

Just going to test again in a few minutes.
 
Here you go:
http://scheyderweb.com/cats/catfood.html

You'll only get a rough estimate based on Guaranteed Analysis values printed on the can. Look at Dry Matter Carb% at the very end. If you will give me the exact flavour, I can try and find the carb%



OK. What did you feed?
Ok, I fed a tsp of the gravy. Just tested again and it's 117. I think maybe a little karo added is in order? We're only @ +3. I'll check the Dry Matter%

The FAncy Feast Turkey Feast in Gravy. There's no listing for Dry Matter Carb % only Crude Protein 11%, Crude Fat 2%, Crude Fibre1.5% and Ash 2.7%
 
The Fancy Feast has wheat gluten and corn starch. I guess that's the "gravy".
Can you tell me what it says on the can? Is it Gravy Lovers, Grilled in Gravy, Medley, Florentine etc etc?

This food list has the carb% of various wet foods:
https://catinfo.org/chart/index.php

If you look at this list, you will be able to find some FF flavours you can stock up on.

MC is between 10-15% and HC is >15%
 
You should be able to find the flavour you have on the catinfo website I shared above.

I see he is flat at +4. Don't feed and let's see +5. So much for sleep!

As this is the second night of this, I am sooooooooo tired. I'm going to try to sleep a little & set alarm for +5. I did feed a little more, though. Hope that's ok.
 
Back
Top