11/22 Cole PMPS 124/+1 133/+2 119

No bump from food this morning - Cole is 94 at +1. Definitely hungry so more LC food and we'll see what +2 looks like :D

Snowing here - too soon!
 
A quick slide into bright green at +2 with Cole at 52. Yikes!

Some HC food and 1 tsp corn syrup - I guess he heard me talking about a dose increase! Earned a reduction tonight to 1.25u.

More monitoring underway - poor ears :(

AMPS 112 * fed LC breaskfast * shot 1.5u cycle 14 - holding til post grooming
+1 93 * no bump from breakfast * fed 1 tbs LC
+2 52 * fed 1 tbs HC and 1 tsp syrup
+3 149 * fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC
 
Last edited:
It has been a week since he pulled this stunt. He must want to make sure you are still on your toes. :smuggrin: Nice catch! How is he doing? All good?
Seems he did not want an increase at all. Congrats on the reduction.
 
Nice catch! How is he doing? All good?
Thanks Lyla - he is good. I never see any real sign that he has dropped into those bright greens. Still walking ok, following me and letting me know that he LOVES corn syrup o_O He's hungry but Cole has always been a hungry cat or at least never turned down any food unlike our other 2.

When I think about how completely stressed I was the first time this happened, I feel so much better these days knowing I have the right food and know what to do now (thank you again for your support :bighug:)
 
Just wanted to make sure he is okay. It was quite the drop. I'm glad he is eating well for you.
That first time was only three weeks ago! Hard to believe. You've become expert in dealing with his lows since then.:bighug:
 
Yowsa, Cole :eek:

Just coming to see if you guys were okay :cat: Play nice, Cole - get back to safe numbers please :) Have you grabbed another test? Looks like it's maybe been 20 minutes from food? I'm sure you're getting one but I'd do 20 minutes until he's above 68 (then maybe move to 30 minutes till he's above 80).
 
Have you grabbed another test? Looks like it's maybe been 20 minutes from food? I'm sure you're getting one but I'd do 20 minutes until he's above 68 (then maybe move to 30 minutes till he's above 80).

Probably should have got one at the 30 minute mark - but at +3, he's back into blue at 149.

Wanted more food, so fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC

Should I still increase testing?
 
Probably should have got one at the 30 minute mark - but at +3, he's back into blue at 149.

Wanted more food, so fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC

Should I still increase testing?
Since he's in safe #s and you fed HC, test in 1 hour (+4) and try to withhold food - then assuming he's still flat or rising, test in another hour (+5). If he's flat or rising, you should be good till PMPS but I'd grab a mid-afternoon test depending on his #s.

And as long as he's >80 or so, I'd stick to LC unless you need to be out or can't test.

And, yes - next time he's <68 grab that 20 min or 30 min one to make sure he's rising :bighug:

You're doing great!
 
Probably should have got one at the 30 minute mark - but at +3, he's back into blue at 149.

Wanted more food, so fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC

Should I still increase testing?
I personally would've held off on feeding when he is 149, and checked again in an hour. That HC and syrup @ +2 sent him quite high. No need for more HC at +3. Ideally you want to keep him surfing in the safe green numbers as much as possible.
 
Still learning so thank you. Yes he didn't need that additional food with the HC mixed in. Now up again.

No food this time, will test again in an hour and then hopefully give him a break ... argh to the roller coaster :facepalm:

+4 167* no food
 
Wow I really pushed him up too far - next time hc and no syrup at greater than 50 and test in 30 minutes, and then after that if he's greater that 80 - LC only

AMPS 112 * fed LC breaskfast * shot 1.5u cycle 14 - holding til post grooming
+1 93 * no bump from breakfast * fed 1 tbs LC
+2 52 * fed 1 tbs HC and 1 tsp syrup
+3 149 * fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC
+4 167* no food
+6.5 185 * no food
+ 7.5 164 * no food

Hope Cole stays blue and doesn't keep going! :eek:
 
Last edited:
Looks like Cole is sliding down - yay :) I was just thinking you may want to glance at the low number sticky again - it's in human #s but it's the basic idea (just replace 50s for 68 on your AT2). You're doing great Elizabeth - congrats on the reduction too :D

If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
 
you may want to glance at the low number sticky again
Thanks Susanne - every time I read the stickies I learn something - so appreciate you reminding me and also calling out the difference with the AT readings. I only seem to retain a certain amount of information - made myself some more notes on testing frequency when numbers are low. :)

:bookworm: :bookworm: :bookworm: :bookworm:
 
Cole is determined to have an 'interesting' day - down to 124 at PMPS with a slowish slide all afternoon after the HC food.

Shot new reduction of 1.25u tonight

Let's see how the evening goes :eek:
 
Testing tonight - let's see if Cole wants to go back into green

AMPS 112 * fed LC breaskfast * shot 1.5u cycle 14 - holding til post grooming
+1 93 * no bump from breakfast * fed 1 tbs LC
+2 52 * fed 1 tbs HC and 1 tsp syrup
+3 149 * fed 1 tbs LC and 1 tsp HC
+4 167* no food
+6.5 185 * no food
+ 7.5 164 * no food
+9.5 no test * LC snack
PMPS 124 * fed LC * shot 1.25u - cycle 1 of dose reduction
+1 133* no food
 
Quite possibly, Elizabeth.

Will the lockdown cancel Cole's grooming session?
I'm not sure actually - we haven't been allowed in the vet office since March - only once when they showed me how to test his blood. I really hope it doesn't get cancelled. :cat:
 
Back
Top