11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268 +2 252 +4 224

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo...

All is well with Sooty this morning, some nicer PM+11 and AMPS #s... and we'll be holding his dose at 8u for now (until after the dental...)

Gotta run - have to try and do a day's work in half a day today! appt time is 1:30, procedure scheduled for 2pm...

Have a good Moanday, everypeeps, back later...!
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 (Dental today)

Good morning guys! Sooty you are getting your teefers cleaned today? You will feel so much better after it's all done I'm sure you'll be hanging out in the blues and greens in no time ... Have a great day guys and try not to worry to much, everything will be fine!
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 (Dental today)

good luck with the dental...

sooty...wait'll the girls see you with them pearly whites!
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 (Dental today)

Were you instructed to give Sooty his full dose and food this morning? All vets have their own way of dealing with the dentals. I am sending good vetty vines to Sooty...hope all goes well....
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 (Dental today)

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Were you instructed to give Sooty his full dose and food this morning? All vets have their own way of dealing with the dentals. I am sending good vetty vines to Sooty...hope all goes well....
She said normal dose but didn't say to not feed; so he's been fed breffis early morning - but we'll try and not feed him or minimally, until we go...
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 +3 252 (Dental today)

Good luck with the dental today. I hope everything goes smoothly and that Sooty recovers quickly.
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 +3 252 (Dental today)

Good luck Sooty! Hope your mouth feels nice and fresh when it's over.
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 +3 252 (Home from Dental)

All is well, we're home! He's fine, was as good as gold at the vets - although a bit stressed (his BG went up to 370-something). But the dental / planing etc went smoothly, he didn't need any extractions and didn't have any other "issues" apart from a little touch of Gingivitis.

He's still in the carrier (for his own safety, he still can't walk yet!) and hopefully the rest of the GA will wear off soon...

Thanks to you all for the thoughts, vines, etc! it's really great to know Sooty has so many people who care so much about him!

We'll leave him mostly alone now as best we can, until shot time at 8PM...
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 +3 252 (Dental today)

Perry:

I'm glad all went well at the vet's.

Please get an "in the door" test. Anesthesia can lower BG. You'll need to know if Sooty's numbers are rising or falling at shot time so you want a point of reference. (Some cats are totally uneffected by anesthesia but you don't want to be surprised.)

You may want to also feed in small amounts. Anesthesia also slows gastric motility and some of the drugs typically used for a dental can enhance appetite. Feed slowly or you may get scarf and barf at shot time.
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty AMPS 274 +3 252 (Dental today)

Glad everything went well. Keep an eye out for strange cycles, but I hope the dental makes him feel loads better (even if you didn't think he felt bad).
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268

Thanls Sienne & Nina - sorry Sienne I didn't get an 'in the door' test - but knowing what he measured (via IV) at the vet's, and seeing what his PMPS was at 8:15PM (268), then I think we were OK - nothing too low. (Phew!)

He's walking almost normally again now and back to his hungry, normal self (bless his cotton socks!) - he's been eating and keeping it all down just fine. The one odd thing he's been doing since we've let him be up and about, is what he used to do after being away from home for any reason the first few times after we had lost his brother, Smokey, ~ 4 years ago back in NoCal - he's been walking around the house, meowing very loudly... as if he's looking for him. I think, at times of stress, it's amazing what they DO remember....

Anyhow, a PMPS of 268 is I think, very acceptable, considering! I'll get another test or two before bedtime, see how he's doing. He's not missed any shots today and had his full 8u doses, this morning and this evening.

We do have the Rx for Levemir now too - and Cathy will pick that up mid-morning tomorrow. We'll let him have a chance to stabilize properly, though, after today, before we switch over...

Thanks a million, again, for all your good wishes, advice and support, it has really helped!! Glad this is all nearly over, today....!!
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268

The meowing may be anesthesia related, but who knows. Definitely get a couple of tests just for safety sake. I wouldn't go by the test at the vet's office -- it no doubt reflects stress.
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268

Sienne and Gabby said:
The meowing may be anesthesia related, but who knows. Definitely get a couple of tests just for safety sake. I wouldn't go by the test at the vet's office -- it no doubt reflects stress.

Yes even the vet herself said so, she laughed when I referred to it as "White Coat Syndrome" !

Promise we will keep a close eye on him tonight... thanks again for hanging with us, through all this, today!

Have a good night, I wouldn't be surprised or shocked if you were watching the final of Dancing with the Stars, of course - !!!???? (Cathy is - and I'm getting a quick peek at MNF, during the commercials!)
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268

Oh good! So glad he's out. Funny acro-cat story...when Boo and I were at CSU they measured her BGs when she came to. She was a bit high so they gave her some R....like, .25u R. I laughed and told them she was getting 2-4 u R on a regular basis. They shot her more appropriately after that. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/22/2010 Sooty PMPS 268

Boo said:
Oh good! So glad he's out. Funny acro-cat story...when Boo and I were at CSU they measured her BGs when she came to. She was a bit high so they gave her some R....like, .25u R. I laughed and told them she was getting 2-4 u R on a regular basis. They shot her more appropriately after that. :mrgreen:
Amen to that! I think I'd prefer the dosing you are on now, though..! LOL
 
I know exactly that meowing - in our case, it sounded like a distress call so I cooped 'em up a bit longer, decreased their sensory input, encouraged a bit of food and a nap.

KTS - just say no to drugs!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top