11/21PowderPMPS428

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy&Powder

Member Since 2010
yesterdays condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30237

WCR Personal Powder Ps in place no extra Ps so far. He seems to be in his bounce blahs. confused_cat I'm right there with boy. :roll: His appetite is good, PU and PD less so I can't complain. :smile: I anticipate more of the same today as yesterday.

? Do you have to give a dosecrease even if they earn it? I used to be excited that he was getting a dosecrease. Now it is obvious to me that Powder is no where healed enough that he benefits from one. When I do the dosecrease we only end up increasing again. Even though he's bouncing at least he has good numbers part of the day. He doesn't appear symptomatic to 30's even and his liver is still panicky so he comes up. I suspect that he puts out glucose to cover drops when I am not home and doesn't get the increased carb boost. I always leave food out when I work 'cause he is still needing to gain.
Is it flawed thinking to assume that as his pancreas heals and liver adjusts to lower sugars that his SS will be more flat if I hold the same dose? Looking back I can see that before his BG would usually be high for a while after getting into good numbers. Lately he seems to cycle through a bounce in a 24 hour period.
 
Re: 11/21Powder398

Kathy-I looked at your SS--You have used a lot of different doses on Powder.
Because you are a relatively newbie :-D , I think you need a little more consistancy of dose--A dose should be held 5-7 days. That is giving it time to adjust in cat's system.
A 30's number is an automatic dose reduction! I see he bounces a lot and the only way to remedy that is by trial & error till you find his correct dose...
How about using a fat 0.50 now? Yes a 30's number requires an automatic dose reduction..
Check with the dosing advisors as this is just my opinion! You dont want him going so low--Also the HC is necessary for really low numbers, but I use MC with Moonie, because it causes less of a bounce--
I also think the Flank shots are helping also!
Not to worry, you will find his right dose..Patience & consistancy are our mantras here!
You are doing a great job!!
 
Re: 11/21Powder398

Kathy, when they get in the 30s, you have to decrease. That number is telling you that he is getting too much insulin. If you are concerned about the decrease not holding, you could shave the reduction, but you need to decrease.

It's a good sign that the bounces are not lasting as long! Bouncing is just part of the sugar dance, it's frustrating but there really is not much you can do except grin and bear it. As he gets used to getting into the lower numbers, his liver will calm down. I wish there was an accelerated LTS, but no such luck....
 
Re: 11/21Powder398

Thanks for weighing in Roni. I mistyped ;-) I had a .50 when it was skinny.75 there hasn't been a does change since the first week or so Lantus that I haven't been told to do once I started understanding the protocol. It's funny you think I change doses frequently when I've been told I hold them too long :lol: Not arguing just trying to explain SS and changes and learn. ;-)

I do think he looks better with the flank shots but tried the scruff shots to avoid them working so well that he was getting reductions when they obviously weren't going to stick. It seems from what I have seen that barring any other co-morbid issues, the heavier kitties are more likely to come off L much quicker. Provided they eat meat only. Powder has never been heavy, ever, even though he ate kibble. So I know we are here for the long haul :smile: I have accepted that pretty much no matter what I do he's going to bounce. I have to use MC too because he is very carb sensitive. :roll:

This is his 2 month annifursary on Lantus so much of the time has been spent trying different ways to keep him from going low greens and bouncing. I wish he would stay in the blues and if I could figure out how to do it he wouldn't ever be green:lol:

I really prefer not to change dose but do understand the concept. It had been suggested to have him go low three times then earn a dosecrease. When that happened yesterday no one suggested to dosecrease I was new at the 3 strikes you win ;-) and already posted after such good luck with last suggestion to go up(thanks Libby and Sienne) that I was going to wait to change dose until it was mentioned again. When I went up he did so much better here and it wasn't my idea. :lol: This is tough because I just know that in probably a week he'll be back up here at this dose again. ohmygod_smile Powder plays basketball well :lol: I was hoping this was his dose since so far no dose seems to be :sad:

OK Laurie you got me! Just searched slang land can't find LTS :lol: BTW been shaving since 11/8 and your right no big dosecreases for him :roll: He's been sliding up and down from .50 to .75 and here we go again ;-)
 
Re: 11/21Powder398

Morning Kathy and bouncing is so frustrating so can so relate to you I cannot tell you how many times I would get so upset after seeing DL have a great day or 2 only to be followed by anywhere from 2-4 days of a bounce then you would just do it all over again. To me what Roni said is so true as as to finding that right dose for Powder its taken DL and I such a long time well he has been on lantus since March anyway hang in there this FD thing can be such a challenge for us Beans
 
Re: 11/21Powder398

Hi Lisa, good to hear from you too. Some of these kitties are just tough. I really do empathize with beans who have kitties like ours. :sad: It is frustrating. Yet I have really accepted that Powder and I are here for the long haul, all I wish for is a dose that keeps him stable. Is there a magic dose fairy we can call upon to sprinkle fairy dust :lol: Well I suppose though if they could get us stable BGs then maybe.... ;-)
 
Re: 11/21Powder398+3~252

Powder has been surfing some pretty blues today for about 6 hours it would appear. :smile: Probably going up into yellows now but with only a couple of hours left till PMPS it would be great if he stays in yellow.
I don't know if any one who usually helps is on line but if so can you weigh in on the dosecrease I should have taken last night. Do I do it tonight with Powder keeping his BG up today so far?
 
Re: 11/21Powder398+3~252

I hope that Powder will stop bouncing - I'm glad to hear that he's in blue today. 2 months on Lantus isn't a very long time, Kathy. Powder is really doing pretty well, so don't get discouraged. LTS = Liver Training School. Blackie is a perpetual student at LTS. :lol:
 
Re: 11/21PowderAMPSDose?398+7.25~166+9~199+10~365

Thanks for visiting and your encouraging words. They are appreciated. You're right it isn't all that long just a milestone. ;-) I know there will be many more. I'm really happy with the steady blues today. I was pleasantly surprised to see them. I know foe sure he'll be down again. :smile:
 
Re: 11/21PowderAMPSDose?398+7.25~166+9~199+10~365

I know it's easy to get frustrated doing this crazy sugar dance. We all get frustrated. It's natural. As the others have said though You and Powder are doing so well. LTS can be a real pain but Powder will learn his lessons soon enough I'm sure.
 
Re: 11/21PowderAMPSDose?398+7.25~166+9~199+10~365

Your right Barb about LTS and Powder thinks Curry should start a class. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top