11/21 TIFIL AMPS 128, +1 222

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
Hello,
I reduced the dose without asking. Can she be having a rebound because of high dose all the time?
And does anybody now what high leukocyte in urine means? The vet said I should not care about it, but I want to :roll:
She is feeling well and bringing me present (Mr.plastic bag mouse) during the night :)
 
Hi Isil, that's great that Tifil is feeling good! I don't know about the leucocyte in the urine. You might want to put that in your subject and use the question icon to get some attention.
Liz
 
I'm not sure about the leucocytes in the urine, although since Tifil recently had a UTI they could be a remnant from that. I hope someone w/ more experience will be along soon. Nice AMPS though! Were you worried about her going to low today?
 
Hi guys .. nice start to the day for tifil .. hoping this low yellow is as high as she goes .. No idea on the leucocyte's either, but posting that in your subject line is a good idea .. have a great day!
 
Very nice start for the day for Tifil!!!! So glad to see her down from those sky high floors she was visiting the past few weeks!!!
 
Merhaba Isil,

Happy to hear Tifil is feeling well and bringing you presets :-D

below is a guideline from the protocol we use, regarding decreasing dose:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

Regarding the cause of bounces , they happen when glucose is dumped into the body as a reaction to numbers lower than the cat is used to.
A bounce can also happen when the BG falls very fast. I believe that was the case when you were using the R. Too much R caused Tifil to drop fast and bounce hard.
Then, the natural reaction to a high number was to give more R - and the roller coaster continued.

Now that Tifil is not getting R, I recommend you follow the Tight Regulation Protocol.
By following the protocol and monitoring closely, you will know if the dose needs to be reduced or increased.
If you are unsure, you can always ask here before changing the dose.
 
Hi Isil,

Don't worry about the high leucocytes reading on the strips.

I already looked this up when I used them on PInky and always got high readings.

For cats, the leucocytes readings have alot of false positives and are unreliable.

http://www.vet.uga.edu/VPP/clerk/Sine/index.php

(Scroll down.)

Hoping Tifil comes down soon for you.

Elaine and Pinky
 
Hello everyone,
Sorry that I couldn't find time to write. My computer was open but I had a bussy day and couldn't sit down to write any update. Thank you for dropping by and thank you for your concern.

I will update the ss now..

Kisses
 
I agree with Sandy about the dose. I don't know that I would have reduced it.

While the leukocytes may mean nothing, it can also be indicative of a urinary track infection.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top