11/21 Oberon PMBG 40/53, +12.5 81, +13 85, +13.5 61, +14 89, +14.5 106, +15 102, +16 120, +17 174

Apparently that was enough of a threat. He's dropped about 200 points in 3 hours. Getting ready for a long afternoon...
 
And he just earned a reduction... 60 at +6.5ish. Getting a bit of 15% now and I'll check him again in 30 min. New dose will be 7.75 U. He may or may not get it tonight, depending on what he does for the rest of the evening... last time he pulled this stunt it was a skip, and before that a BCS.
 
Thank goodness it’s the weekend.
I know... it's going to get complicated if this happens on one of my long teaching days. Thankfully I don't have that many left in this semester, and then nearly a month until the next semester starts. I think he's going to be keeping me busy.
 
488E6F42-754A-42D6-9260-383ABCB4996D.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 488E6F42-754A-42D6-9260-383ABCB4996D.jpeg
    488E6F42-754A-42D6-9260-383ABCB4996D.jpeg
    14.8 KB · Views: 57
Took a nap for a couple of hours so I'm ready in case it's a long night. DH checked every 30 min and gave 20% each time until +10. So far: +8 66, +8.5 66, +9 79, +9.5 77, +10 76, +10.5 78, +11 67. We'll see if he stays above 50 for PMPS.
 
40 at +11.75, which is usually when I check him for preshot. I could wait and check again in a few minutes, but based on past patterns he's not going to come up and I don't want to risk him going even lower. Giving him some HC now, and skipping tonight's shot.
 
With the skipped shot, I'm hoping he'll start coming back up at about +4 and I can get some sleep. Yeah, he's had a lot of reductions lately... he maxed out at 10 U and now we're down to 7.75. Looks like the antibodies are starting to wane, hopefully. I just hope they do it at a pace I can keep up with!
 
I didn't give him any food at +1 just to see what would happen; 61 at +1.5 (down from 85 at +1). Pretty clear the food is still propping him up. Hopefully just another few hours of this.
 
Looks like he's heading back up; 106 at +2.5. I'm thinking now about tomorrow's dose. We skipped the pm shot on 11/18. Tonight would have been cycle 6 of rebuilding the depot at 8.25 U. And he just earned another reduction (and a skipped shot) as soon as we got the depot reestablished (even under normal TR reduction rules, not my IAA threshold of 70). Makes me wonder if I should be a bit more aggressive about the reduction this time? I'd rather have the Lantus depot a little lower and supplement with R as needed. Reducing to 7.5 would also get me back on a line, so there's that. @Wendy&Neko and @Sandy and Black Kitty , what do you think?
 
Sounds like a plan, then!

102 at +3, but I didn't feed him at +2.5. Holding steady instead of dropping w/o food, so I really think he's on the upswing now. Yay, I can sleep tonight.
 
Part of my logic behind the dose was the percent of total dose. Over 5 units we go to 0.5 unit changes, at 10 units to 1 unit. So 0.75 makes sense where he is now.
 
Looks like he's heading back up; 106 at +2.5. I'm thinking now about tomorrow's dose. We skipped the pm shot on 11/18. Tonight would have been cycle 6 of rebuilding the depot at 8.25 U. And he just earned another reduction (and a skipped shot) as soon as we got the depot reestablished (even under normal TR reduction rules, not my IAA threshold of 70). Makes me wonder if I should be a bit more aggressive about the reduction this time? I'd rather have the Lantus depot a little lower and supplement with R as needed. Reducing to 7.5 would also get me back on a line, so there's that. @Wendy&Neko and @Sandy and Black Kitty , what do you think?
the Sugar Dance continues :cool:

I think 7.5 is a good call.
I agree that with a high dose IAA kitty heading down the dosing ladder, picking up momentum along the way, it’s easier to tap down the occasional ugly number with a TOR (touch of R) rather than having to struggle to prop up BG with food.

housekeeping note-
+hours track the hours that have passed since the previous shot. So the 106 is +14.5
 
Back
Top