11/21 Nico amps- 295, +2- 270, +4.75- 163, pmps- 181, +4- 108

Woo, yellow pre-shot!! Looks like maybe that bounce is breaking.
Thanks! I need to run to the grocery quick, as my husband has been doing it the last 3 or 4weeks and picks out inferior chicken. Which is what Nico mostly eats.😅 So I checked him at the +2 and then fed him. It was 270, which if my reading comprehension is correct, means he's going to have a typical Lantus day and it's safe to run out for the hour it will take me.:)
We live in the sticks and it takes 25min just to get to Walmart. Wendy asked mr to get a +1 when he has a below 300amps, but I forgot so will try again at the next hopefully.
Thank you so much for all your support and answering all my questions. I am trying to read as much as I can, but I still forget some and some even here, it's contradictory. And to boot, I also have a cat that was diagnosed with small cell lymphoma just after Nico was diagnosed with his diabetes, and do regular research for possible holistic and new research to help het before we toss her on chemo. :/
Oh yeah, and I'm supposed to limit my computer time due to being allergic to light. So I am trying. And SO appreciate all the time and help from you and the others.🥰
 
...my husband has been doing it the last 3 or 4weeks and picks out inferior chicken.
Literally LOL, this is so relatable. I feel this way about avocados.

This forum is such a lifeline but it's also kind of like drinking from a firehose at first. I did all the reading etc. but found it hard to apply the concepts to my specific cat. But over time it clicks more and becomes a little more intuitive. You're really doing so well, especially with everything else you have going on.
 
You’re doing great, we understand how overwhelming this is 🥰
I’m sorry to hear you’re dealing with your other kitty being sick 😘
It’s a lot to handle and you’re an amazing cat mama 💖
I believe Wendy has a lot of experience with SCL, too so she may be able to offer you suggestions with your kitty 😻
Hang in there! 💖
 
You’re doing great, we understand how overwhelming this is 🥰
I’m sorry to hear you’re dealing with your other kitty being sick 😘
It’s a lot to handle and you’re an amazing cat mama 💖
I believe Wendy has a lot of experience with SCL, too so she may be able to offer you suggestions with your kitty 😻
Hang in there! 💖
Wooh! 163! I know this still isn't an ideal #, but it sure looks good on his chart!😅
This is my 3rd with scl gi sadly.:( But Angel wasn't eating well at all, so the doc said to try the Pred first, that we couldn't give her chemo meds when she's already not eating. She said she's heard Pred alone can help sometimes. So in the meantime, I've been reading all I can on things kind different mushrooms, turmeric, and fenbendazole that so many pet patents have said worked against cancer and other tumors. But as in due everyone here knows, the papers and articles are endless.😅
Usually I only get 1 emergency at a time. This last 13 months has just been extra special. But I am always more than happy to listen and take in other people's experience. It's why I'm here. I can't wait to update my vet once we get to the right place with insulin. It'll be funny.
Sorry I babble so much. Due to my own illness, I really don't get out much.
Literally LOL, this is so relatable. I feel this way about avocados.

This forum is such a lifeline but it's also kind of like drinking from a firehose at first. I did all the reading etc. but found it hard to apply the concepts to my specific cat. But over time it clicks more and becomes a little more intuitive. You're really doing so well, especially with everything else you have going on.
Oh my gosh yes! Do you know I've read that TR that 3x, and still don't understand much of it. Hence why the questions. The biggest one I'm not sure of, no matter how many times I read it, is if my little guy had low 100's or is in the greens, do I keep at the regular dose or mess with it a little? I remember reading 'You're not dosing for the preshot numbers, you're shooting for the onset numbers'. But it's just a little confusing to me. I mean, if he (haha) ever had a preshot number of 70-90 (my pet meter's green numbers are 75-120), is it still safe to give his full dose? And thanks for always getting back and for your help. I am SO grateful for this sure and all their people.🥰
 
The biggest one I'm not sure of, no matter how many times I read it, is if my little guy had low 100's or is in the greens, do I keep at the regular dose or mess with it a little?
This is a confusing part, and in addition to being confusing it also involves being BRAVE.

The thing about Lantus is that--on the right dose--it's designed to give long, flat cycles of normal glucose ranges (green). So for us titrating their dose, the goal is to have a dose where the lowest numbers (nadirs) are green, and hope that over time the OTHER numbers, including preshot, are also green. So we increase the dose up to the point where you're consistently seeing green nadirs, then we stay there until a dose decrease is indicated. TR guides us on how and when we go about doing those increases and decreases.

BUT that also means the pre-shot numbers should gradually get lower and lower too. And eventually you get to the point where you have to shoot those lower numbers and hope that you'll get that flat, reliable cycle (and if you don't, you're able to intervene with some carbs or sugar to prevent a hypo).

Here's an example of a cycle from a few months ago where the preshot was high but the nadir at +4 was green:
1763748699221.png


And here's an example from more recently with a similar green nadir at +6 but lower preshot:
1763748830125.png


I'm still waiting on those all-green cycles. :)

Shooting those lower numbers is scary at first! So that's where we have bravery come in. Well, bravery and "data readiness." We have this page: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers and I think this is probably the one I have read and re-read the most times. It talks about how we use the numbers to know our cats and know what their cycles look like. Checking the pre-shots and +2s or nadirs, of course, but also getting spot checks at other times so you can start to see trends. And it can be hard when kitties are very bouncy, but as they start to settle it gets easier.

This is sort of a novel, so I'm not sure how helpful it will be. But maybe seeing some examples is helpful.
 
This is a confusing part, and in addition to being confusing it also involves being BRAVE.

The thing about Lantus is that--on the right dose--it's designed to give long, flat cycles of normal glucose ranges (green). So for us titrating their dose, the goal is to have a dose where the lowest numbers (nadirs) are green, and hope that over time the OTHER numbers, including preshot, are also green. So we increase the dose up to the point where you're consistently seeing green nadirs, then we stay there until a dose decrease is indicated. TR guides us on how and when we go about doing those increases and decreases.

BUT that also means the pre-shot numbers should gradually get lower and lower too. And eventually you get to the point where you have to shoot those lower numbers and hope that you'll get that flat, reliable cycle (and if you don't, you're able to intervene with some carbs or sugar to prevent a hypo).

Here's an example of a cycle from a few months ago where the preshot was high but the nadir at +4 was green:
View attachment 75117

And here's an example from more recently with a similar green nadir at +6 but lower preshot:
View attachment 75118

I'm still waiting on those all-green cycles. :)

Shooting those lower numbers is scary at first! So that's where we have bravery come in. Well, bravery and "data readiness." We have this page: Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers and I think this is probably the one I have read and re-read the most times. It talks about how we use the numbers to know our cats and know what their cycles look like. Checking the pre-shots and +2s or nadirs, of course, but also getting spot checks at other times so you can start to see trends. And it can be hard when kitties are very bouncy, but as they start to settle it gets easier.

This is sort of a novel, so I'm not sure how helpful it will be. But maybe seeing some examples is helpful.
Oh I'm definitely a visual learner, so yes they did indeed help! Thank you for that and the explanation. I'm very much looking forward to seeing sick good numbers for Nico. And how Esse sees solid green Sim too!
 
181! He had the same on the 18th pmps. So maybe it will be the same again? I guess I'll be up again for a while? But I'd rather stay up if it meant his numbers coming down.💕
 
Should I keep staying up to test? I know from previous, he'll start to by the +5.
By the way, 108 is in the greens or 'normal range' for a pet meter. I can't say how thrilled I am. 🥰
 
Should I keep staying up to test? I know from previous, he'll start to by the +5.
By the way, 108 is in the greens or 'normal range' for a pet meter. I can't say how thrilled I am. 🥰
108, that's great!!!

I have to admit, it is scary, especially at first. It seems we have the same issue tonight
 
"Issue" :cat:
There are some motos here, one being: we shoot low to stay low. And we want them to stay low as those are healing numbers.
It's scary at first, but once you get to know them, then you'll be chasing lower numbers.
 
"Issue" :cat:
There are some motos here, one being: we shoot low to stay low. And we want them to stay low as those are healing numbers.
It's scary at first, but once you get to know them, then you'll be chasing
I agree! Both of us being fairly new to this definitely get that uh-oh feeling because we don't see those number that often. Her and I are both posting about those numbers, worrying and wondering if we need to stay up with them to make sure they don't go too low. Low is great! But too low is what scares me.
 
I agree! Both of us being fairly new to this definitely get that uh-oh feeling because we don't see those number that often. Her and I are both posting about those numbers, worrying and wondering if we need to stay up with them to make sure they don't go too low. Low is great! But too low is what scares me.
I so went to bed. I think he's done this to me 2 previous times, and by watching both his am and pm numbers, I knew he'd be raising by +5.
Now he's up bouncing off the walls as usual. But he at least let me sleep in to 6:30 today! I'm sure when his numbers (hope hope!) hit below 100 at night, I'll be staying up again. 😅
 
I agree! Both of us being fairly new to this definitely get that uh-oh feeling because we don't see those number that often. Her and I are both posting about those numbers, worrying and wondering if we need to stay up with them to make sure they don't go too low. Low is great! But too low is what scares me.
I'm actually not as afraid of lows as much as I used to be. After the first week I created the hypo kit as suggested, and knowing Lantus has a less of a chance than my previous insulin (PZ), I feel better
 
Back
Top