11/21 Kit AMPS 111, +1 83, +2 52, +3 58, +4 69, +10 119, PMPS 116, +1 105, +2 67, +3 58, +4 67

Alicia & Kit cat (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday's thread

Another drop to pretty low this morning. A question - a drop to the 30s is always a reduction. Are three drops into the 40's a required reduction? An option if so chosen? She hasn't had that third drop yet, but she's on two, one yesterday, and one the day before.

She puked around 4 am, which is like an instant wake up if it's close enough to hear (at least for me). So since I was already up, I tested. So thanks for the wake up, Kit, you must have heard me say I wanted a later PM cycle test. I prefer the meows though, less gross.

I'm taking tomorrow of work since this week is Thanksgiving for those who celebrate (just the US?). Which means today is my last day of work until Monday, and I am ecstatic (well, tiredly ecstatic, but ecstatic nonetheless). I hope everyone has a good Tuesday (or Wednesday if you're already in the future), and all the kitties surf safely!
 
Hi Alicia,
I am not sure the answer on the reduction thing, but the protocol says
"There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out." when you see the drop to the 30s. So I assume that there are exception. Or maybe smidge reduction is an option too?

Yay to the last day of work for the rest of the week!
I have a bit of this and that tomorrow but light stuff. Love the holiday! Love the days off :smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin:

Have a great day, Alicia :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Kit is keeping you busy, hope she steadies out for you. Today is my last day of 'work' until Monday as well, but with the holiday and the family and all the crap that comes along, I will probably be glad to go back to work...lol! :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Kit is keeping you busy, hope she steadies out for you. Today is my last day of 'work' until Monday as well, but with the holiday and the family and all the crap that comes along, I will probably be glad to go back to work...lol! :bighug::bighug:
I have some things I'll need to cook tomorrow to be ready to go to my bf's parents' house on Thursday, but I'm pretty thankful it's lowkey otherwise. I do need to finish inputting recipes from my grandma's cookbook she kept to a digital cookbook that I'm planning to print out and give to family for Christmas, but otherwise, the plan is to do very little. I hope you're able to get some calm amongst all the busy-ness! :bighug::bighug:
 
For a long term diabetic, reductions are under 40 or one week in greens. See additional post from Marje https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/reductions.81242/ which includes another link explaining reductions and starting OTJ.
Lucky you having all those days off. Hope you and Kit enjoy them :bighug:
So based on this -
  • For kitties that tend to fail reductions, a dose can be held and the reduction not taken until the kitty's BG has dropped between 40 and 50 three times on different days on that specific dose. The reduction taken should be .25u because this is an aggressive method of earning reductions.
If she drops to the 40s again, should I take the reduction? I'm not sure if she counts as failing reductions since we've been basically going up and down between 0.5 and 1.5 since she dropped out of remission. I know I've taken a reduction based on that before on the advice of Bhooma, but wasn't sure if I should do that every time it happens.
 
For me personally with a long term diabetic, I go by the following excerpts from the Info Sticky on reductions:
  • A long term diabetic cat (dx over one year) drops below 40 once
And also this part "And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."

If she drops to the 40s again, should I take the reduction?
Ask yourself how long and how hard was it to get Kit above 50 during those cycles and let that be your guide to reducing.

I would also add that in determining when to reduce, I will look at (1)my schedule and ability to monitor - safety first; (2) how much HC and how long did it take to get her over 50 and to stay there; and (3) what are her nadirs on this dose overall.
 
For me personally with a long term diabetic, I go by the following excerpts from the Info Sticky on reductions:
  • A long term diabetic cat (dx over one year) drops below 40 once
And also this part "And while it is not addressed in the protocol, if the CG is having a cycle where they are working hard to keep numbers up, it is wise to reduce the dose regardless if numbers have not fallen below the thresholds mentioned above."


Ask yourself how long and how hard was it to get Kit above 50 during those cycles and let that be your guide to reducing.

I would also add that in determining when to reduce, I will look at (1)my schedule and ability to monitor - safety first; (2) how much HC and how long did it take to get her over 50 and to stay there; and (3) what are her nadirs on this dose overall.
That makes sense. I'll probably hold off. She came up pretty easily, honestly. I fed HC 1 time each time she dropped into the 40s, and she came up and was able to sustain on 5% and 3%. Her nadirs have been pretty good other than the two evenings she seemingly bounced from the drops. I'll also be home pretty much the next 5 days, other than a few hours at the bf's parents house on Thursday. I would like to keep her on this dose to keep the benefits of it going as long as possible. (I feel like I need that anti jinx spray because she's going to be like, hold my catnip, laydee).
 
upload_2023-11-21_13-25-4.png


;)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-11-21_13-25-4.png
    upload_2023-11-21_13-25-4.png
    211.3 KB · Views: 99
Back
Top