11/21 Jackson +11.75 268 AMPS 303 +2 204 +5 355 +10 379 PMPS 401 +1 458 +3 327 +6 315

Skye & Jackson

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...61-1-5-117-3-81-3-5-59-5-77-6-53-7-96.270979/

After last night’s excitement, back down to 2 units today. I almost thought I was going to get a yellow preshot (in fact was weighing if and how much to decrease the usual dose in response per the SLGS guidelines), but then he jumped up above 300 by the time I had the syringe ready (15 minutes later than usual; it might have still been barely yellow if on time). According to his Libre graph, he really did stay under 300 all night, in fact he dipped a bit again around 4 am from what looks like ~275 to ~200, before resuming the climb.

Oddly he doesn’t seem that hungry this morning. He cried for his usual breakfast but only ate a little so far. I don’t know if that means he ate more kibble in the wee hours, or if his hunger pangs are settled more for the moment by having been in blues and greens so long yesterday. He seems content enough; he’s washing.

I admit that I’m gratified by the lack of wild bounce so far back up to 400 or something, like has been happening. I hope it doesn’t still happen later today. I also hope he stays in safe numbers today. Blues would be ideal of course, but I would be delighted with more yellows than magenta too, at this point. At least it would be progress. I’m evening shift today (filling in for a coworker) so I can watch him for the first 6 hours of this cycle, at least.

As for last night’s ear pricking woes and advice (thank you for the link @Bandit's Mom ) I think I’m going to start with rubbing his ears more to get him used to the heavier contact, without actually sticking him, for at least a few days. And when I do have to stick him, I’ll use a larger lancet (realized that the ones I have are 33 gauge, which are smaller even than I thought) so I only have to do it once. That’s my plan for now…
 
Last edited:
Gah… good and yet worrisome: at about +1 he’s already under 200. I hope he doesn’t keep dropping (too far, that is) for hours again… I have to work later! :confused:

At least he’s eaten some more now…
 
Last edited:
Just edited my last post; I had said +2 but was actually +1. From +2 to 2.5 so far, things look stable in low yellows. So far no sign of a bounce. Surprised but… glad. Maybe his long blue and green run yesterday helped reset something? Can only hope. Very early yet in the cycle.
 
Well… the bounce definitely came to call. I was kinda hoping it wouldn’t. It was certainly delayed. But boy when it hit, it hit…

At least he responded to his evening shot and dropped more than 100 points pretty quickly. He’s definitely not insulin resistant. It’s just the constant bounces. He spends more time in a bounce than not.

Since apparently 2.25 units is too much for him, I guess we’re just staying at 2 for a good while? I certainly hope the bouncing gets better on this dose, because staying in 300s (and occasionally higher) all the time isn’t a good place to start setting up long-term camp.
 
Last edited:
Enjoy the night off. You need to fill the sleep tank every now and then. The bouncing will reduce with time.
 
That’s the one good thing about bouncing… I don’t worry about his crashing. Just have the more niggling constant worry about him staying too high instead. Heh. But yeah at least it’s not stay-awake-alert. I can’t afford too much of that with my job. I’d just be happy to see more blues, for now. More and more blues. Blues are safely sleepable. Lol.
 
Back
Top