11/21 Casey pmps-458, +3-231, +6-110

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Bear with me guys modem on pc is down (satellite and ice storm atm) So can't link back to previous condo.

So short recap. Casey is a brand new foster, tips the scales at 27.6lbs just switched to low carb canned after being fed M/D dry. Was on 11u Levemir

Since I have no useful test data I elected to reboot him at 1u this morning. I'll work him up from there but after limited sleep last night I'm being conservative.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn, Casey and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160

Welcome Casey! I scanned his other condo - wow!!! Casey, you are in good hands now!!! I can't wait to see his progress.

I hope you're systems are back up soon...yikes on the storm. Have a great day, guys!!
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160

welcome, Casey!

Mel, since you decided to restart at 1u, my advice is to spend the next few days collecting a lot of data so you can fast-track up the dosing scale aggressively if necessary. Today's number is nice, but he is also still working off of his 11u depot. Also test for ketones religiously. Not knowing Casey's history puts you at a big disadvantage, so you have to do the best you can. My concerns, especially since he is a large cat, are HL, DKA, and the possibility that he could be acro and actually need a higher dose. You'll need to get up to speed quickly. Good luck!
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160

Hey Libby. he's been tested and isn't Acro or IAA. And yep he's learning pokey poke dance as quick as I can. Not easy testing a cat the size of a small toddler. Planning on +3, +6, & +9 today then filling in the gaps as we go.

Mel
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160

If that's a bounce off the 49, I'd take it :-). Wonder how long it'll take for the depot-effect to go away...
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160

Mel --

I wasn't even thinking about acro/IAA at this point. Actually, I was thinking that while rare in cats, maybe hypothyroid was a possibility. I think you'll have a sense of whether anything needs to be investigated further if Casey doesn't start to lose weight once you get him started on "Kitty Craig."
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291

I can live with that yellow between a skipped shot, stress and more than likely a bounce off the 49 coupled with the late onset of Levemir.

Right now I'm no better for him than him being at the vet's office. He's so stressed, confused and scared. But he's catching on fast to testing, now to find a reward he likes, so far he's a big guy that only likes canned cat food...who knew? lol

Mel
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291

The blimp with cat feet

Mel
 

Attachments

  • 13850412968701.jpg
    13850412968701.jpg
    87.5 KB · Views: 406
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291

Cross posting...funny. I just asked for a pic in your other condo! ...lol.

Yep, that's a tummy! Have you tried boiled chicken for a reward/treat? That's easy and lo-cal.

Poor baby. Hope he realizes soon that he scored and he is safe. I am sure he is also not used to so many other kitties. Can't believe yours accept a newbie so readily.

Can't wait to hear about his progress.
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291

Lol the Fur Gang have seen so many fosters come and go over the years they just wander over greet the new kid and go right back to whatever they were doing.

Now just last weekend we added a skin and bones 8 week old baby girl that DH's coworkers first rescued out of a construction dumpster only to have her escape in the equipment garage, then be refound after riding 75 miles to the job site and back in the glove box of their work truck.

Life is never boring. lol

Mel
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291

I agree with Lyresa. He's WAY better off with you and he will figure that out very quickly. :-D :-D :-D He's going to look like a different cat in the next few weeks.
Liz
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291, +6-299, +9-379 Game Plan?

Okay here's what I see and at least looks to me like the logical course on action to get this guy on the right path and keep my sanity.

On 11u his true cycle is about 24-36 hours, so if I cut that and shoot half that tonight say either 5 or 5.5u that should in theory shorten it to half what it is now? At least once he settles on it.

Then be ready to do a quick step with his dose as diet and weight changes kick in ?

Have I missed anything? Thoughts? Opinions?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn, Casey and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291, +6-299, +9-379 Game Plan?

i don't know what you mean by his true cycle on lev being that long. i don't think it works the way you're thinking. i don't use Lev, so maybe i'm off base on it.

just doublechecking - in your sig line there's a ss for "KC" - is that the same as "Casey?"

the numbers you're getting today are a bounce from the green numbers you got last night. they don't reflect the dose being too large or too small - just that he hit a lower range than he's used to.

the Lev cycle is longer than the Lantus cycle, about 16 hrs (I believe, but could be wrong.) several people have commented that their cats hit the nadir around +12, which is a bit unnerving to always be shooting the low number. from the "New to the Group" sticky:
An active Levemir cycle will have an onset at approximately +4 and a nadir around +8 - +10. However, please keep in mind every cat is different (ECID). Data collection will offer you a better picture of YOUR cat's response to either of these insulins.

Here's a video on it:http://www.novonordisk.com/images/diabetes/levemir_mode_of_action/levimir_movie.html

what you don't want to do is mess too often with the dose without letting it settle. he got 11u yesterday morning, skipped last night and got 1u this morning, so whatever you give tonight, i'd think it would be best to stick with it and test often to see what it does.

several people use Lev and can give better advice about it than i can. i have a Lantus "mindset" and from folks who have switched, i understand that it's like learning everything all over. with your experience with Lantus, you might find that as well.
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291, +6-299, +9-379 Game Plan?

Julie

Casey is my 5th diabetic, 3 of which were/are Levemir cats, no offense since I don't post over here often but I know Levemir. Casey is just a different case in that he's been overdosed rather than either under dosed or not treated at all. Plus he needs to also lose weight not gain like I'm use to when I first get them.

By true cycle I mean that he basically hit nadir at +14 and might have gone lower if I hadn't started feeding up on the. 49

Plus I'm sure if it is or isn't a bounce as he's been a diabetic for at least 6 months and being shot blind I've only had him since 4:00 p.m. yesterday. So I have no back data to know what is body has been seeing. But I suspect he's been diving and bouncing for awhile and the fact that he's been on a dry diet has been the only thing keeping him alive.

Mel
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291, +6-299, +9-379 Game Plan?

sorry mel, i didn't mean to offend you. i only knew of you using lantus and posting on the relaxed forum. sounds like you already have lots of experience with lev.
 
Re: 11/21 Casey amps-160,+3-291, +6-299, +9-379 Game Plan?

Julie I wasn't offended at all and realized you didn't know me from Eve. Which is why I gave a brief experience history and tried to explain exactly what I'm questioning about the best way to get this guy the help he needs.

That's the beauty of this board being peer review, even those of us that have worn out several pairs of dancing shoes can always learn a new trick or two. :-D

Mel
 
Re: 11/21 Casey pmps-458 Game Plan?

Mel,
I agree that if he's been on that high a dose, he's probably been bouncing from the floor to the ceiling quite rapidly and very often. And yeah, the dry food is probable what's kept him alive (or he's got a really great liver to protect him).

Given that you have basically no data to go on, and given that his depot is probably the size of Lake Michigan, I think that it's going to take a while to make any sense at all out of the numbers. At least until the depot drains and catches up with the "current dose". So no matter what dose you pick, I'd agree with sticking with it until you see some sort of data that make logical sense. As long as you can stay on top of ketones, and he's eating well, I'd probably err on the low side than the high side, dosage-wise. It's easier to react to the numbers by increasing the dose as needed than it is to try to guess how low you need to reduce, if that makes any sense to you like it does to me?
 
Re: 11/21 Casey pmps-458, +3-231 Game Plan?

Shot 5u tonight, would like to see if I can ease him down in dose and still at least keep him under renal. Alarm set to catch a +6 now to see if I actually hear it and get up. Dog tired after last night.

Mel
.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top