11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, Pmps 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beth & Atlas

Member Since 2010
Oh my I was too tired last night to stay awake.

Atlas though woke me 4 times for food. Even with the timed feeder at night he is still giving me the face paw or if I don't respond to that the love nip. I got up and walked him over to the feeder, which had rotated, so there was food in it. Then he was fine. During the day he'll hear it rotate and just go running for it on his own. I had hoped this little annoying face pat thing would stop with the timed feeder. It wouldn't be so bad if he wouldn't use his claws & teeth! Pulling the covers up over your head isn't a real option because he'll keep at you until he is under the covers too. Then you get the teeth :!: Of course he is purring the whole time....

Yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=30198


Yesterday I had to run out in the evening to get test strips. I had bought a box of 100 strips the last time on 11/7 and thought I had more? Counting out the number of reading on the SS...I used quite a few. I certainly don't recall blowing 15 test strips though. That would be a lot of strips wasted by an experienced FD caregiver? I am wondering if my box was actually shorted.

On that same note I got to wondering if we're obsessive about testing?
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186

Atlas sure is persistent. And a nice blue start to the day for him.


I'm doing intensive feeder training w/Curry now. All her meals go in it. As well as snacks. She' beginning to make the connection during the day while I'm present. Night time is another thing. She's not really hungry at night...but then I'll show her the food in the feeder and she'll gobble it down.

Have a gread day and hope Atlas gets the feeder training down for the night time for you and your sanity.
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186

Morning! good amps for Atlas!
reading about Atlas made me think of Rocket this morning....the only reason why he got a test at +11 was cause he woke me up to feed him...he had the food out there the whole night but he didn't even touch it..as though to say "mommy i don't want old food please make me new food fresh from them cans!"....so i got up to test and took away the food...well needless to say....i've been up since +11 (4:30 am) cause he wouldn't leave me alone!....oh the things we do for our babies!!!! though i said a few words :-D while i got up....

hope you have a good Sunday none the less and yes we obssess with the testing...i admit it! :lol:
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, +3.5 200

Obsessive about testing? Hmmmmmm :roll: What do you mean?
I like Atlas' numbers today...very nice....
I need syringes now...and will pick up more test strips too....never ending battle keeping enough on hand....
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, +3.5 200

It seems his numbers are finally settling down. I think it has to do with having figured out his little stomach problems...

Well, off to the pet store, I just printed up my coupon for some FREE Nature's Variety Raw food. ;-)
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, +3.5 200, +6 222

Ok Atlas, c'mon you don't need to sneak up there. It's a beautiful day and if you're real good you might get to go join Mannie & Binks for some fun again. Maybe you can even take some of the rabbit with you to roast on the fire.
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, +3.5 200, +6 222, +9 277

Now I guess we're on a new part of our journey. With the IBD healing/controlled the numbers are not swinging as hard, but ...I can't seem to figure the 2.5 or 2.25 or 2.5Skinny? Or just pick-one(2.25u)!!! And realize that as his intestines heal from 9 months of damage...it will fall in place?

Edit: I guess I would just add that from his days of 8 units BID of Humilin...every healing...lead to a reduce dose...
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas AMPS 186, +3.5 200, +6 222, +9 277

for some cats it really does come down to the difference between 2.5s and 2.25. Crazy, but it happens a lot. I would pick one and try to be as consistent as you can with measuring it for several days.

Now that things are changing a bit for Atlas, I have a suggestion for next time he drops to earn a reduction. Maybe try shooting the old (higher) dose one last time the cycle after the low. That might help him cut his bounces a little shorter. Right now it looks like he is still holding onto his bounces for 2-3 days, so every little bit helps. At this point, I would still give him a full 6 cycles after a reduction before increasing again, even if it looks like the reduction didn't stick. Sometimes it seems to take him that long to get back to green again.
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas PMPs 373

Thanks Libby for the input.

I am looking at his bounces right now as a dosing issue vs. the hard bounces he used to take.

Maybe we're saying the same thing though too. The reduction doesn't stick because it is just a scouch too little making it look like an extended bounce...when it really is not.?

Ugh! Overall he is doing better and the numbers have shifted downward...plus solid poops!

So it is just a time for some more patience...and lord knows that is not my best suit.
 
Re: 11/21 Atlas PMPs 373

Blue said:
Maybe we're saying the same thing though too. The reduction doesn't stick because it is just a scouch too little making it look like an extended bounce...when it really is not.?

what I'm thinking is that the reductions might be fine, except that by reducing the dose during a bounce, it's like making him slog through mud for the first part of his race while having access to less fuel (OMG, don't ask me to explain things after my brain has already gone to sleep for the night! I'm sure you have no idea what I'm trying to say!). Use the momentum of the higher dose to break through the heavy stuff, which can give the reduction an easier place to start from in the next cycle.
 
oh, blue...we love your condo...makes us laugh and we learn stuff here too..

so great to see atlas coming into the better numbers...and i love the picture of the morning wake up...
big tough gorgeous guy who didn't stand a chance until you showed up to claim him...now he's ruling the roost with Attie love nips in the bed!

what a turnaround you made in this lucky guy's life!!

celi
Attie...we gonna paar-tay tonight, my man!
binks
 
mybuddybinks said:
oh, blue...we love your condo...makes us laugh and we learn stuff here too..

so great to see atlas coming into the better numbers...and i love the picture of the morning wake up...
big tough gorgeous guy who didn't stand a chance until you showed up to claim him...now he's ruling the roost with Attie love nips in the bed!

what a turnaround you made in this lucky guy's life!!

celi
Attie...we gonna paar-tay tonight, my man!
binks

Glads we could oblige and put a smile on your face. I was chatting with a friend last night and she noted something similar. She noted how 9 months ago I was freaked about this cat on deaths doorstep....and now I am freaked about love nips in bed...it has been an amazing year for this cat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top