11/20 Webster AMPS=564PMPS=223 +1.5=120 +2.5=61 +3=67

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +1=536 +2=474 PMPS=223

you can measure his food and look at how many calories he is getting per day. With ketones in the recent past and high blood sugar, he's going to need more calories than a cat that is stabilized with BGs in green numbers. the http://www.catinfo.org site has info on how to figure out how many calories a cat needs per day. You need to add significantly on to that number for Webster right now.
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +1=536 +2=474 PMPS=223

julie & punkin (ga) said:
you can measure his food and look at how many calories he is getting per day. With ketones in the recent past and high blood sugar, he's going to need more calories than a cat that is stabilized with BGs in green numbers. the http://www.catinfo.org site has info on how to figure out how many calories a cat needs per day. You need to add significantly on to that number for Webster right now.

Thank you Julie. I might be up late tonight reading this information. Gave Webster his insulin coming up on 2.5 hours ago. It was the lower dose yet his PMPS was at the lowest number that I have ever shot at so far.

He ate some dry food twice before and after the shot and just came out and ate more dry food and drank about an ounce of water.

The whole scale idea suggested by BJM was great! I Just weighed all of his food and water (created a separate water container out of Webster's reach to calculate evaporation rate of water). He came and ate, then I weighted again and subtracted the difference. I then added his dry food back on the scale one piece at a time until it added up to the difference of before and after eating. Doing this I was able to visualize how much he ate and it was a bit more than I expected. About to test. Wish me luck!
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +1=536 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120

Great job on weighing the food and checking the water to see how much he's getting.

I also use a digital scale and weigh all of Gracie's food. I have calculated how much she needs of each food to maintain her daily calories and keep them as consistent as I can. That will enable you to get extra calories into Webster during this time and then slowly taper as he's doing well and out of the woods.

Paws crossed he comes down slowly tonight.
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120 2.5=61

Hes coming down.. A bit too fast..

He just ate a dozen or so pieces of his regular dry food. Should start trying to feed him something else to slow him down or will the food kick in here in a bit? How long before his dry food starts to effect his BG? Will recheck AT +3
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120 2.5=61

The kibble takes longer to kick in than gravy or syrup and longer to wear off.

To steer the numbers and control the drop:
Feed 1-2 teaspoons of high/medium carb gravy or low carb food with drops of syrup on it. (start with medium for now; go high if below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer)
Wait 20-30 minutes.
Re-test.
Repeat as needed.

Did I mention I think he wants to go off insulin?
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120 2.5=61

The dry food isn't going to kick in fast enough. If he won't eat any higher carb wet food, try his temptations with a drop of karo. You can also try LC or MC food with a bit of karo if you don't have any HC food. Be sure you give him a good helping...at least two tsp of food and recheck in 30.
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120 2.5=61

Marje and Gracie said:
The dry food isn't going to kick in fast enough. If he won't eat any higher carb wet food, try his temptations with a drop of karo. You can also try LC or MC food with a bit of karo if you don't have any HC food. Be sure you give him a good helping...at least two tsp of food and recheck in 30.


He showed no interest in HC wet food even after heating. He went back to his bowl and started eating his dry food again. I followed up with 5 temptations dipped in Karo.

Is 5 enough? He's asking for more so nows my chance
 
Slight increase to 67 @+3 ... At least its not going down. It's only been 5 mins since the 4 treats dipped in karo. Will retest @+3.5

Should I give him more or just wait?
 
Re: 11/20 Webster AMPS=564 +2=474 PMPS=223 +1.5=120 2.5=61

BJM said:
The kibble takes longer to kick in than gravy or syrup and longer to wear off.

To steer the numbers and control the drop:
Feed 1-2 teaspoons of high/medium carb gravy or low carb food with drops of syrup on it. (start with medium for now; go high if below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer)
Wait 20-30 minutes.
Re-test.
Repeat as needed.

Did I mention I think he wants to go off insulin?

That would be fantastic! I really hope that this is a sign. However, after skipping a dose last night how would we explain the numbers in the black this morning?
 
will he eat a little LC? that would keep him from coming back down. I wouldn't give him any HC treats or karo now that he's stopped. I would recheck in 30 minutes again.

Ears doing ok?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
will he eat a little LC? that would keep him from coming back down. I wouldn't give him any HC treats or karo now that he's stopped. I would recheck in 30 minutes again.

Ears doing ok?

I've had a bowl of low carb out all day for him. (the only one that he showed much interest in) I can try to put some in front of him but I doubt he will go for it.

His ears are healing up nice. Thanks for asking. I've been coating them with neo+pain and have gotten a lot better with may aim due to using clear cap. I use a rice sock to warm up the ear, tag the tip and get a drop of blood. I then try to put pressure on it for 10 seconds if he will let me. Haven't had him flinch all day. ;-)
 
The other thing you can do with the ears is hold a wet, cold cloth to them after you poke. I bought a bunch of baby washcloths and after I poke, I hold a cool, wet cloth onto Gracie's ear to stop the bleeding and prevent bruising.

Let's see how he does without any more temptations for now. Maybe he'll think about a little more LC.
 
Surprised :shock: .. he actually went for the LC wet food when I put in on a platter and served him a late night snack while in bed. I gave him 1tbs or so and he licked it clean. I went to the kitchen and brought him back another table spoon and he's cleaning it up now!
 
Marje and Gracie said:
great!! I am hoping this will get him up to surf nice and flat for a bit.

That would be great!

BTW, What do you think about BJM's (not sure the name) comment about Webster wanting to get off the Juice? It's probably too early to tell but do you think we might be headed in that direction sometime?
 
I think you are doing all that you need to to get him into remission. But I don't usually speculate on whether a cat will go into remission until we start seeing mostly greens and reductions holding.

The first step is to get him regulated, then tightly regulated. Sometimes it's just baby steps; sometimes it takes a bit of time......Elise has been at this a year and Max is just now getting pretty tightly regulated. Hang in there.....I think you will know when he's getting close :-D
 
I think you are doing all that you need to to get him into remission. But I don't usually speculate on whether a cat will go into remission until we start seeing mostly greens and reductions holding.

The first step is to get him regulated, then tightly regulated. Sometimes it's just baby steps; sometimes it takes a bit of time......Elise has been at this a year and Max is just now getting pretty tightly regulated. Hang in there.....I think you will know when he's getting close :-D
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I think you are doing all that you need to to get him into remission. But I don't usually speculate on whether a cat will go into remission until we start seeing mostly greens and reductions holding.

The first step is to get him regulated, then tightly regulated. Sometimes it's just baby steps; sometimes it takes a bit of time......Elise has been at this a year and Max is just now getting pretty tightly regulated. Hang in there.....I think you will know when he's getting close :-D

Thanks. The idea is giving me hope and is keeping me holding on.
 
+4=95

May have eaten a little too much.. better than a drop.

And I wanted to thank you Marje for sticking around! You guys are so awesome!

Should I get in one more test and then call it a night?
 
Nice surfing tonight. :mrgreen:

How long since Webster had high carb food/treats? I usually test two hours after high carb was last given and if that test is stable or rising from the previous test, you are probably good for the night.
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Nice surfing tonight. :mrgreen:

How long since Webster had high carb food/treats? I usually test two hours after high carb was last given and if that test is stable or rising from the previous test, you are probably good for the night.

Its been just over an hr or so. He also ate a couple tbsp of low carb food. I'm getting tired. Approaching 1:30 am here.
 
I've seen cats go into remission after 2-3 years but, as I said, it's early for Webster. He's been through alot. Once he's off dry totally and eating well and the DKA is long behind him, we'll get a better idea if he can get regulated.

I agree with Wendy...I'd be sure it's been a couple hours after the last HC. You might want to lay down, set an alarm, and pop back up in a couple hours.

You're welcome, Mike. We all just pay it forward and are happy to do it.

Hope you get some rest tonight. I see I-) I-) I-) in my future :lol:
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I've seen cats go into remission after 2-3 years but, as I said, it's early for Webster. He's been through alot. Once he's off dry totally and eating well and the DKA is long behind him, we'll get a better idea if he can get regulated.

I agree with Wendy...I'd be sure it's been a couple hours after the last HC. You might want to lay down, set an alarm, and pop back up in a couple hours.

You're welcome, Mike. We all just pay it forward and are happy to do it.

Hope you get some rest tonight. I see I-) I-) I-) in my future :lol:

Thank you guys once again!
 
I find that remi will eat better if the food is put for fresh for him. So I don't put out a big bowl and leave it down I just split the amount I want him to have in one cycle over a number of hours and just put out that amount. I find he eats it straight away and so afterwards I take the bowl away clean it and then only put it down in front of him with the fresh food at his next feeding time (or of course if he is low), give him a couple of strokes as this seems to stimulate him into eating.

I don't know if you saw my other post but I mentioned about watering down the food. I wondered if doing it too much might make it a little tasteless? just a thought.
 
I would also like to suggest putting the food down fresh. I was going to mention that yesterday but I got lost in a 16hr work day. When we first brought JuJu home from the hospital we did the same thing, put down a buffet of food for him. He would nibble on each but not really eat much. I eventually (day 2 or 3) decided to give him once choice, wet food. Luckily, he started eating it like a champ. That could have been partly due to the app stim or pb, or both! I'm not really sure but my thinking was if he only had one option and he was hungry, he would go for it. Just make sure once the dry food is out of the equation you let the dose pros know because it can greatly alter Webster's BGs and insulin needs.

You're getting great guidance from the advice givers here and ECID but I just wanted to share what worked for us. Mainly because our situation was very similar to yours and very recent.

Great job shooting the drop and handling the low numbers. :smile:
 
phlika29 said:
I find that remi will eat better if the food is put for fresh for him. So I don't put out a big bowl and leave it down I just split the amount I want him to have in one cycle over a number of hours and just put out that amount. I find he eats it straight away and so afterwards I take the bowl away clean it and then only put it down in front of him with the fresh food at his next feeding time (or of course if he is low), give him a couple of strokes as this seems to stimulate him into eating.

I don't know if you saw my other post but I mentioned about watering down the food. I wondered if doing it too much might make it a little tasteless? just a thought.

I made some fresh food for him this morning and he ate some. Also, I'll give non water down food a shot in a little. Thanks for suggesting.
 
JuJu09 said:
I would also like to suggest putting the food down fresh. I was going to mention that yesterday but I got lost in a 16hr work day. When we first brought JuJu home from the hospital we did the same thing, put down a buffet of food for him. He would nibble on each but not really eat much. I eventually (day 2 or 3) decided to give him once choice, wet food. Luckily, he started eating it like a champ. That could have been partly due to the app stim or pb, or both! I'm not really sure but my thinking was if he only had one option and he was hungry, he would go for it. Just make sure once the dry food is out of the equation you let the dose pros know because it can greatly alter Webster's BGs and insulin needs.

You're getting great guidance from the advice givers here and ECID but I just wanted to share what worked for us. Mainly because our situation was very similar to yours and very recent.

Great job shooting the drop and handling the low numbers. :smile:

Thanks for sharing. Was your JuJu a grazer before discovering his diabetes?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top